How are Ice skating and writing connected?

These seemingly very different endeavors actually have much in common. I spent eight years skating competetively as a kid, and then twenty-five years teaching, and most of what I learned serves my writng life quite well. Here are the TOP TEN things I learned from skating that have helped me become a writer.

PJ skating

1) You can be taught to skate (write), but the passion to pursue it comes from within.

2) If you want to excel, you have to practice–a lot!

3) Learn from others who have gone before you.

4) Listening is the first step to understanding.

5) Do your best and you have nothing to apologize for.

6) Expect rejection. Judgement is subjective and sometimes harsh, but it is a reality we cannot escape if we want to compete.

7) Learn from your mistakes

8) Self-dsicipline is required to master any skill.

9) Creativity and artistry comes from the soul.

10) Nurture your soul, and the sky is the limit.

What unexpected lessons have you learned about writing?

7 thoughts on “How are Ice skating and writing connected?”

  1. Nice picture! Nice form. I give you a TEN! :)
    As for the writing, I keep on learning more and more each day. And I found writing my second story came easier because of it. After I finished my second, I was able to go back to my first and see where I was going wrong and fix it. It is true. You get better all the time…as long as you are practicing.

  2. I have ALWAYS wanted to learn how to ice skate! Now I know where to go. Then again, I can’t walk out onto a porch without incurring serious injury, so…

    Nice blog, Paula! Hope you’re having fun on vacation!

  3. I think it’s a great analogy. With anything hard, like learning a new writing skill or mastering a new jump, you have to be unafraid to fall down, or you’ll never get it right. Excellent post, Paula.

  4. Great post Paula. I think that there are a lot of things in life that can be analogous to the writing life. My favorite two things you have highlighted here are regarding “practice” and “expecting rejection.” In terms of practice,, physical activity and writing , I, too, have likened writing to “muscle memory” or procedural memory: one does an act repeatedly and eventually it can be performed with less effort or with more confidence and skill. The second is really about developing a thick, tough skin so that rejection either hurts less, or doesn’t cause paralysis. Excellent post.
    Debralee Mede

Leave a Reply

