True Confession: I Write Smut In Public

Hey – Vivienne here.  I haven’t talked much about my slightly stalled Work In Progress.  It’s a very adult story tentatively entitled The Good Ship Lollipop.  I will likely have to change the title to avoid a lawsuit by Shirley Temple’s family, but I’ll let the eventual publisher worry about that.

TGSL is an erotic novel, set on a cruise ship where college kids (over 21!) and other folks get up to all kinds of hijinks that aren’t suitable for detail on this G-rated blog.  But what I wanted to blog about today is the fact that I’ve written this steamy story while out in public.  And to make matters worse, I had to do some research on various…items…through Google Images while in public.

Why, you ask?  The answer is pretty easy – that’s where I happened to be when inspiration struck.  I started writing TGSL during Nanowrimo to boost my word count.  I was working on a different story which had a complicated plot and I was struggling to pull the story out of my head.   My word count was suffering. 

For the uninitiated, Nanowrimo is a contest/writing exercise where you write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  To stay on track, you need to write 1667 words per day.  I was agonizing my way to 1000 words a day on the more complicated story, so I boosted my word count by writing this more straightforward story.  Sure, I might have been technically cheating, but I like to think of it as creative winning.  The prize is the satisfaction of having accomplished something so crazy, so I wasn’t cheating anybody else. 

Anyway, I found the act of writing smut in public to be quite freeing.  I had previously been too embarrassed to write those kinds of words down, let alone put a story like that together.  Sure, I did my share of strategic laptop placement, and if anyone walked behind me, I was very quick to change the image on my screen to something more appropriate.  And I probably blushed a lot, but I didn’t get caught even once!  :)

Today’s Secret: Sometimes you might get further if you leave your comfort zone behind.  Write something different or do it in a different place to jump-start the creative juices.

Today’s Question: What is the silliest place you go to write?

18 thoughts on “True Confession: I Write Smut In Public”

  1. I hope to read The Good Ship Lollipop! And I’m pretty sure a title can’t be copyrighted so go for it! I don’t really have a silly place to write. Pretty much all my writing happens at my dining room table. I can’t write with others (the temptation to chat is too great!). I’m lucky, my kids are teenagers and really could care less about what I’m typing or researching. Though, there have been moments, when I’ve had to change screens because I didn’t want to get accused of writing “a dirty sex book”.

    1. Yeah – the title is less concerning than the names of the bars etc on the cruise ship. The Hershey Bar is a bar. Mounds is a beauty salon and Almond Joy is the barber shop…cause you know, Almond Joy has nuts and Mounds don’t. It’s pretty funny, but trademarked, so I’ll have to take them out…

      My kids are little, so I’m lucky if they don’t sit down and just start typing. If you read a manuscript of mine with s;akdogihtbe in the middle, you know why!

      1. I think we should have a brainstorming session with chocolate for inspiration. I’ll speak for Suz along with me – we’d love to “help” you sample chocolate and candy for the cause of better writing and to come up with new names.

        And as far as distractions – someday- you will be able to type without – shfoiuwernl- in the middle of your manuscript!

  2. Before I had an office, I would occasionally take a chair into the pantry, because it had the all-important “door” feature. Plus, the chocolate chips were stored in there, so it was a win-win.

  3. I write at the dining room table too. Usually my own, but sometimes V and I get together at the public library, her house, or the Barnes and Noble Cafe, which has the added advantage of, uh, creativity-boosting brain food in the form of pastry. We chat quite a bit, but we usually manage to get some work done. I do find that changing up the environment, and going somewhere for the specific purpose of writing (where there’s no laundry or dusting or meal planning or teenagers to distract me), does help the creative process.

    1. Yeah – I agree. Those chores that I haven’t done yet (and there are a lot of them) lurk in my brain and suck the creativity out. I’ve had some of my best plotting sessions at Panera or the library. And I’ve written half of my wip at Friendly’s. Ice cream is a good motivator!

  4. Hi Vivienne,
    I wrote steamy scenes while traveling on a train 4 hours per day to and from work. You have to do what you have to do. I have the ability to shut everything around me out so it’s sort of like a mental door. I would much rather work in privacy because my thoughts flow cleaner, but for a first draft, it worked.

  5. Hi Vivienne
    I Love this thread its too funny! Sometime I have spent time writing steamy stuff in the computer lab at my college… Hoping no one was paying attention to what was on my monitor!!! Yes i love to go to Book stores too and write. Most of the time I write at home but its fun when its in a odd place where someone might just catch you writing. You just have to be quick with switching to a web page on something that Looks academic! LOL Oh I love the title Good Ship Lollipop! Lollipop’s are one of my favorite things in life and in stories.

  6. Being a former PT Assistant, I’m embarrassed to say that I work from my couch in the living room. I have an office (a tiny closet of a room upstairs that doubles for a storage room) but rather than isolate myself in a cubbyhole, I prop up pillows, have a foot rest and a lap desk, and perch on the couch, and that does me just fine. But my favorite place to write is sitting on my front porch in my Adirondack chair with my dog at my feet and the hummingbirds at the flower pots. Aaaahhh, bliss!

  7. Ha! I write on my TREADMILL!!! So bring on that bag of chocolate chips! I can work them off while writing! (*cue maniacal laugh*)

    @Vivienne, The Good Ship Lollipop? I can’t even write the title without blushing, wow! I am very impressed that you were not only able to write such a thing, but in public??? You are a ROCKSTAR. ROCKSTAR!

    LOVE the post!

  8. I wrote a literoctica piece with another blogger and I usually wrote while in the bath. Not really strange but kinda scary considering the laptop could have fallen in.

Leave a Reply

