Chocolate Cupcakes of Doom

Happy Friday everyone! Casey Wyatt here.

Let’s talk temptation. We’re all tempted by something. My particular culinary weakness is cupcakes. Throw in chocolate and peanut butter and my will power is toast.

These are chocolate cupcakes filled with peanut butter cup filling, topped with homemade chocolate icing. Mmmmm. I made these for a party. It was tough to give them away.

Yeah, you know you want one.

It doesn’t matter how many “points” the cupcake may be (for all you Weight Watchers folks, you know what I mean). Put cupcakes in front of me…ahh one won’t hurt right? Stay tuned at the end of the post for the recipe for these bad boys.

Temptation is a requirement in romance novels. No one wants to read a story where the hero walks into a room and sweeps away the heroine away at first contact (the book would be over in one chapter).

No, first they have to suffer. They have to pine. To squirm.

Like the evil cupcakes, the hero and heroine have to want each other first, but can’t act on their desires immediately. They’ll each have different reasons why they can’t be together. They must travel the road of trial and tribulation before their happily ever after is a reality.

Kind of like I’m making you wait for the cupcake recipe. But, seriously, while it seems counterintuitive, readers want your characters to have to climb mountains to be together. Temptation makes a page turner. The push, the pull. And if you notice, even if/when they consummate the relationship, the situation grows worse!

Just when it seem impossible for them to be together, there will be a breakthrough and happily ever after will be in sight.

Yay!

What is your temptation? Do you fight it? And what makes a good romance novel (or any story) for you?  As promised, the cupcake recipe is here.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes of Doom”

  1. Hi Casey, First, thanks for making my mouth water so early in the morning. I’ll have to make these for my family – they sound delish! Weaknesses – homemade cookies. I cringe every time my mom (who lives with us) bakes them, as I know I will cave and my diet will be shot.

    As for the story it’s got to have characters that I can fall for, root for and who are strong willed and won’t give up their beliefs and dreams to meet someone else’s expectations of who they should be.

    Now, I’m going to work and try not to think of peanut butter filled chocolate cupcakes…sigh. Thanks for sharing the recipe and the great post.

    1. My pleasure! I know what you mean about will power. I have none when it comes to cupcakes (and sweets in general). Working from home all day doesn’t help, so it’s best to not have it around.

  2. Chocolate and romance novels. I crave both. Already salvating over those sinful looking cupcakes.

    Placing tension between your h/h adds excitment for the reader. I don’t want wham bam thank you ma’am. I want tenderness, emotions and a relationship based on love. That to me is the secret to a winning romance novel.

  3. I love chocolate and you had me up until you mentioned peanut butter (allergic). I agree with you in that the hero and heroine have to have temptation. Not only that, have you ever read a novel where the couple meets in chapter one and they are madly in love by chapter two? I want to see them fall in love … I want see him romance her. And then once they are madly in love, then I want to see them finally get together. Let’s face it … don’t we all want that love that would make the other person climb a mountain for us? Of course we do.

    1. Are you allergic to tree nuts, Gerri? Maybe you could sub another kind of candy and Nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread) or almond butter for the PB in the filling. I think it would be a shame not to be able to eat these in some form!

      1. You could always try chocolate mousse (or however that is spelled) filling. And I’ve also used vanilla filling to make them let Hostess Snack Cakes. Or there is chocolate rasberry. The possibilities are endless. Pardon me, while I go wipe off the drool.

  4. When an author achieves the perfect balance of temptation, want, need, love, conflict, impossibility, and finally completion, the results, like these Cupcakes of Doom, are so much greater than the sum of the parts. Now I want a peanut butter cup.

      1. I’m the ML for our area for nano…I’m thinking cupcakes at the kick off party…I nominate you to bake them! :)

  5. I left a comment this am–must have left it on the recipe page. Temptations…anything with dark chocolate and coconut. My favorite pick me up lately is Mounds and Red Bull. I know! Very unhealthy.

  6. I’m allergic to peanuts too!!!!! Sob! I wasn’t until two years ago and I found out the hard way when I was eating them and my tongue puffed up, my throat closed and my head started pounding. I really want those cupcakes. They are my weakness too. Red velvet, double chocolate brownie and oreo cupcakes are my favs.

    1. No! Not you too! How about leaving out the PB and using Hershey bars or Dove bars? Problem solved, and you can never have too much chocolate in a recipe :)

      1. Exactly. See comment above to Gerri’s post. There are all kinds of fillings. And you can change the cake to vanilla and fill the middle with lemon curd or whatever fruit filling floats your boat.

    1. Excellent! I hope you enjoy them. They really are pretty simple. Notice, I use box mix (I’m not Martha!). The frosting takes the most time for me because of the all the measuring, etc. I have a stand mixer (best thing I ever bought) so I let it do all the heavy lifting. My hand held electric can’t handle the work like the big mixer can.

      Please stop by and tell us how they came out.

Leave a Reply

