One Month From Now….

Happy Friday everyone! Casey Wyatt here.

One quick note - unpublished writers - it’s not too late to enter CTRWA’s The Write Stuff Contest. The deadline is December 5th. In addition to receiving feedback from experienced contest judges, this contest awards cash prizes to the winners!

And fans of the Scribes – we need your help. If you enjoy our blog, please nominate us for The 6th Annual Top 10 Blogs for Writers Contest - here. Please leave a comment and our link (otherwise your vote doesn’t count!). Thank you for your support.

Yup, I sold this book!

Last year around this time, I completed my first NaNo novel. It clocked in at around 80,000 words. Little did I know then, that the book would be sold and slated for publication by January 2012.

If future me got into a time machine, came back and told 2010 me, I know I wouldn’t have believed it. (I’d probably yell at my future self not to mess up the space-time continuum!).

I still kinda of don’t believe it!

Why?

There are several reasons, the biggest is that I’ve heard “no thanks” so many times, that when I got a big fat YES, I thought the editor must have made a mistake. And it seemed too good to be true.

I can’t blame my little buddy the Doubt Monster for that reaction. Disbelief is vintage me.  When I made the decision to sell the book to Soul Mate Publishing (after I did my research and some soul-searching), in the end, I still kept the sale a secret for several weeks.

Why didn’t I shout it from the roof tops? This is what I’d been working toward. Right?

Because I’m really cautious about good news. Over the years, I’ve developed a bit of a paranoia – that for every piece of good news, bad things will follow. Sadly, this was the case. Two weeks after the offer,  my beloved Oreo died (the third pet death in my house in less than a year). “See?” The paranoid side of my brain said, “I was right!

Last week, I learned my release date. First reaction? You guessed it. Keep it a secret. Then I remembered publishing is a business. I wasn’t doing myself any favors holding back. So last week on my blog, I revealed the date.

So far, lightning hasn’t struck my house (geesh, why did I say that??).

I participated in NaNo this year. Like last year, I walked away with another completed novel. I also finished a book in July (did Suze’s double dog dare). Two books in one year isn’t too shabby.  And I will be seeking publication for both of them.

Here’s my promise to you – When I make another sale, I will be sure to share it with you all this time! No more paranoia!

So one month from now, Mystic Ink will be available for purchase. Don’t worry, I’ll remind you!

Bottom line here – Celebrate success! Accept that bad things will happen to you (in life – no escapes unscathed). Don’t let anything stop you from pursuing your goals.

Where were you a year ago? Imagine your success – Where would like to be a year from today?

28 thoughts on “One Month From Now….”

  1. I’m so glad to see you taking on your challenges, Casey. it’s so important to move beyond our fears.

    A year ago, I was telling Kristan Higgins that I wasn’t sure the writing life was for me. I was a bit discouraged by the thirty or so rejections I’d recieved and i wondered if I had what it took to survive in this business. Ironically, I was worried I couldn’t write fast enough to meet the two books a year demand of the industry. I had my doubts about working with a publisher or scrounging for an agent. I was frustrated! A year later, I’m indie publishing my second YA novel. It goes to show you that you never know…

    Can’t wait for Mystic Ink!

    1. Thanks PJ! I am grateful for all the Scribes’ support. Seriously, I’ve had the same doubts as you. There are days I wonder what the heck I’m doing. But thanks to all the encouragement and enthusiam from my friends, I keep going. So Thank You!

  2. PJ, please tell me I was incredibly supportive and encouraging!

    Last year at this time, we did an Adopt a Family/Operation Santa Claus with McIrish’s fire department. I put in my application to be Mrs. Claus for this year. Some of the kids whose parents hadn’t requested gifts came running up to the fire trucks and said, “Where’s my present?” and it was so sad! I said so to my daughter, and she said, “Well, next year you’ll be a New York Times bestselling author AND Mrs. Claus, so you can buy presents for all those kids.” And you know what? She was right on all counts! Mrs. C will be ridiing with Santa on 12/17, and she cannot wait! The shopping begins today.

    1. Kristan – fantastic! I hope you and the kids have a great time. And congratulations on all your success. I know I’m so happy to have met you and all the wonderful folks in CTRWA.

    2. Kristan, I know you’ve been nothing but supportive and encouraging to me, so I can’t imagine you were anything less to PJ! Your daughter is eerily prescient! You gotta love that kind of confidence. Mrs. Claus? Other than Gail Ingis, who is the real Mrs. Claus, you will make the best pretend Mrs. Claus ever! Have fun shopping.

  3. Casey, I say shout it, although, I tend to be reserved too when it comes to making sure things are on the up-and-up. I don’t look good with egg on my face. :)

    WOW, One month to go! This is wonderful! Can’t wait to read it!

    1. Exactly!! I doubt I’m going to have a complete personality reversal (I’m still the skeptical type), but it’s nice to share good news. Sure beats the bad news.

      And let’s not forget – Real Virtue will be joining Mystic Ink in 2012. I can’t wait to read your book too. Yipee!

  4. Congrats to you, Casey. A year ago my step-dad passed away. During my mourning period, I was just dipping my toes into the world of writing. I can’t say I’m completely finished, but I will say that I am learning a lot of what not to do. That’s a start. I hope next year this time I will have surprised myself with some exciting news or publications.

  5. One year ago I was pretty much where I am today. I am such a creature (not really, I hope) of habit. I do what I did and, really, I love it. If I write, great! If I don’t, I don’t beat myself up. There’s always tomorrow. This is probably not the most productive attitude, but it works for me. However, I do need to be a little more focused and do something writerly — other than critique and judge contests. I seem to do a lot of that. I feel a New Years Resolution coming on. I’ll check in next year to see if there’s a change. Write on!!!
    Kathye

  6. Casey, congratulations on all your successes. But I don’t know about the Mrs. Claus part, I thought that was my job since my name is Gail Ingis Claus. I am married to Mr. Claus.

    Best of everything!!!

  7. Being proud of yourself is something to nurture, Casey. Bragging is completely different. When something wonderful happens to you (like your first release!), you really SHOULD shout it out to the world. It encourages other people who have the same goals and lets your friends share in your happiness. Don’t be so shy, kid!

  8. Where was I a year ago? Entering the Write Stuff competition which led me to Kristan Higgins, which led me to J Monkeys, which led me to my favorite people in the world, the Scribes.

  9. Oh Casey, you are just like me! Or should I say I’m just like you? When I received my contract for my novella I didn’t tell anyone. Ok, just one person and I swore her to secrecy. Then another member of my chapter received a contract two weeks later and I still hadn’t said anything. Then I felt like I just should stay quiet. I’m trying to get better at it. Success feels very different, but I’ve discovered the more I talk about it, the more it feels real. So keep talking about it!!!

  10. i just heard about NaNo the other day on NPR and now you said that is how you wrote your book:
    http://www.npr.org/2011/12/02/143048102/the-marvels-and-messes-of-a-month-of-writing

    what a great way to write. I wish I had that ability.
    Anyway you should definitely shout about it – you will never have a first book again and it must be quite a feeling. Bad stuff happens in life and it will happen regardless of whether you celebrated the good times. And sometimes it helps to look back at the happy times.
    by the way I lost my Winnie cat shortly a couple of weeks after you lost Oreo. 19 years old, she had a good long life. miss her a lot though.

    1. Carol – I’m so sorry to hear about Winnie. I am so bummed for you. I feel your pain. Ollie almost made it to 19. We put up the Christmas tree today and when I put out the tree skirt, Maddie and Pepito both spent time sniffing it. We realized they must be smelling for Ollie since he always laid under the tree.

Leave a Reply

