Anita Clenney – Embrace the Highland Warrior

Happy Friday everyone! Casey Wyatt here. I’m thrilled to welcome NY Times and USA Today best-selling author Anita Clenney! Not one, but two lucky commenter will win a copy of her latest release –  Embrace the Highland Warrior. You’lll have read to the end of the post to find out how!

1. How do you battle the Doubt Monster? Doubt Monster: the nagging feeling while writing that your prose is terrible, your plot is silly, your characters are insipid and no-one in their right mind would read this drivel, let alone buy it.

After listening to him whine for a while, I flick him on the nose and say, “Be gone, Doubt Monster. I have emails proving that people like my stories.” And I also remind myself that all writers suffer the Doubt Monster.

2. Have you thought about writing something that is completely different for you? Perhaps writing in a new genre or just taking a story someplace that you haven’t done before.

I love mystery and romance and I think every story I write will have a lot of both. In addition to my highland warrior series, I’m writing a paranormal relic hunter series which will be even heavier on the mystery. I also have a cozy mystery that’s partially started.

3. What story haven’t you told yet that you want to tell? What is holding you back?

I think I’m lucky enough that I’m able to write the stories that I love for now.

4. What is the most surprising thing that has happened in your writing career?

I was shocked to hit the big bestseller lists so quickly. NY Times and USA Today bestseller lists, and also Amazon’s bestseller lists. This was a very pleasant shock.

5. What would you do if you couldn’t be a writer any longer?

I have lots of interests besides writing, but I can’t imagine not writing. Even if I didn’t write stories to sell, I would probably write for myself.

6. They say that every author has a partially completed, quite-possibly-terrible half a story shoved in a drawer somewhere. What is yours? What is it about? What makes it terrible? Would you ever consider picking it up and finishing it?

I was actually very lucky. My first two manuscripts were Awaken the Highland Warrior and Embrace the Highland Warrior. However, I do have a few partials I started later that I haven’t had time to finish, and probably won’t have time to do anything with. They were romantic suspense.

7. Author Jane Haddam says that anyone who seriously annoys her gets bumped off in her next book. How do you incorporate your real-life experiences into your stories? And where did you find the wonderful name Faelan?

That’s one way to deal with frustrating people. I find pieces of myself in my characters, and I think my experiences probably reflect in my writing, but I don’t have any definite parallels. I found Faelan’s name when I was researching names. The King of Leinster, a Province of Ireland, who died in the year 666 was named Faelan. I fell in love with the name, and even though Faelan is a Scot, it works perfectly for the story because his mother was Irish and she chose his name.

8. We hear you recently attended a book signing with Nora Roberts and other wonderful authors. Please tell us about that event. And how can we get a highlander book thong?

This was my second signing with Nora and it was fantastic; just a great group of authors and readers. So many people came to see Nora, of course, but the rest of us authors had readers there as well. I had one lovely woman tell me that Awaken was one of the books that helped her get through the grief of losing her husband. And it’s always amazing just being in the presence of Nora. In fact I blogged about the experience if anyone wants to go back and read it. www.mysteriesandmargaritasblogspot.com  Check the December 6th blog.

As for the book thong, (aren’t they cute!) here’s the link.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/76322340/awaken-the-highland-warrior-faelan-hand

9. Please tell us about your latest release – Embrace the Highland Warrior. Any sneak peeks at what Unleash the Highland Warrior is about?

Cody and Shay make a great couple, but they meet unexpectedly after years separated by betrayal and pain. That makes for some explosive emotions…and passions. I’m hearing from readers and reviewers that it’s even better than Awaken. Unleash will be shocking and so much fun. That’s all I’ll say for now. Here’s a blurb from Embrace:

Cody McBain and his family spent years protecting the identity of a powerful female warrior who was targeted by an ancient demon, keeping the secret from even her. When she found out her entire life had been a lie, she abandoned Cody and her clan. Now, vampires and demons have discovered she’s alive and are in a race to find her and the clan’s sacred Book of Battles. Cody will have to break all the rules to save the woman who shattered his heart.

When the powerful demon who left Shay for dead discovers her empty grave, he comes seeking retribution, believing she possesses an ancient book he has sought for centuries. But the vampires also want the book, and they want her. Knowing she can’t fight this evil alone, Shay returns to her clan and the Scottish Warrior who betrayed her…the only man she’s ever loved, where she discovers that betrayal isn’t always what it seems. Sometimes it’s far worse.

When they realize that half the underworld is after Shay, Cody calls in the rest of the Connor Clan. Meet my warriors.

There’s Faelan, the only warrior who’s ever been assigned two ancient demons. Born in the 19th century, Faelan was most powerful warrior of his time. He was trapped in a time vault and slept for 150 years, waking to a strange world filled with modern technology and even stranger…modern females. For God’s sakes, they’re even warriors, now. What will they do next, he ponders, send children into battle? Then there’s Ronan, 6’3 inches of raw, sexy warrior, better than Robin Hood with his bow, and equally at home with a sword or a bonny lass. Cody, the only other warrior who’s been assigned an ancient demon, might have pretended to be the tough boy next door, and he’s good at hiding secrets, but his world will never be the same when he finds out what’s been hidden from him. Shane is quiet but the fastest with a sword, and Niall is a one-man army, with legs like tree trunks. Tomas is a clan medic and Brodie’s the prankster of the bunch, always getting into trouble. Duncan is brooding and frustrated, and Sorcha likes flirting almost as much as killing demons. Anna, a stunning beauty, has chosen to remain a warrior forever, but destiny has some surprises in store. And my heroines are more than just mates to these sexy warriors. They have talents that will shock even them.

10. What was your biggest misstep in your writing career so far?

I wish I had learned to manage my time better and write faster.

11. Do you have a word related pet peeve?

A couple of years ago, I realized I had too many repeats or echoed words in my story. I started focusing on them so much it nearly destroyed my writing. I felt like quitting. Thank goodness I didn’t.

12. What is your junk food of choice?

Give me a Diet Coke or Diet Pepsi and a Krispy Kreme and I’m in a very happy place.

13. What’s the most dangerous or risky thing that you’ve done?

I’m not a very risky person when it comes to things like skydiving, but I can think of a few idiotic things I’d rather not mention.

14. What is your guilty pleasure? {Remember: this is a ‘G’ rated blog! :) }

That’s easy…shopping for bargains. It drives my husband insane.

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Anita Clenney grew up an avid reader, devouring Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books before moving on to mysteries and romance. After working as a secretary, a Realtor, teacher’s assistant, booking agent for Aztec Fire Dancers, and a brief stint in a pickle factory (picture Lucy and Ethel–lasted half a day)…she realized she’d missed the fork in the road that led to her destiny. Now she spends her days writing mysteries and paranormal romantic suspense about Secret Warriors, Ancient Evil and Destined Love. Anita lives in suburban Virginia, outside Washington DC, with her husband and two kids.

You can find out more about Anita and her books at:

http://www.anitaclenney.com

http://www.facebook.com/anitaclenneyAUTHOR

http://www.twitter.com/anitaclenney

http://www.mysteriesandmargaritasblogspot.com

http://www.goodreads.com/anitaclenney

http://www.redroom.com/anitaclenney

Some of the places Embrace can be purchased:

http://www.amazon.com/Embrace-Highland-Warrior-Anita-Clenney/dp/1402251262

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/embrace-the-highland-warrior-anita-clenney/1100076266

http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Embrace-Highland-Warrior/Anita-Clenney/9781402251269

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/embrace-the-highland-warrior/id468777516?mt=11


Click here to read an excerpt from Embrace the Highland Warrior

My publisher will give away two copies of Embrace the Highland Warrior to commenters, US and Canada only, please. Since we’re approaching Christmas, my question is, which romance hero would you most like to see reclining next to your tree on Christmas morning? :)

**************************************************

Anita – Thank you so much!! Remember Scribes’ fans – leave a comment and you might win!

35 thoughts on “Anita Clenney – Embrace the Highland Warrior”

  1. I actually won this book on another site – so no need to enter me in this giveaway, best to let someone else have a chance – but I loved this book! It was full of action and suspense, with very tasteful romance scenes.

  2. Thank you for the great interview and an introduction to this author! I am fascinated by her books now and have them on my list of “to-reads!”

    As for the question: What romance hero would I want to find reclining on my couch on Christmas morning? Since I am very partial to Arthurian legend (and my own book is based in it), I would have to choose Gareth, King Arthur’s nephew. He’s sweet and loyal and, in my brain, handsome as the day is long.

    Of course, my husband might have a thing or two to say if HE found Gareth on our couch on Christmas morning…

    1. Revrosevan, thanks so much. Your book sounds intriguing, too. Gareth sounds like a good choice, but you’re right, our husbands might just kick these heroes to the curb. I know mine would. :)

  3. Anita you are on fire. I love hearing how well your books are doing. I don’t have a favorite hero, but for any who don’t know Anita, she’s a wonderfully given person. In the middle of hurricane Irene she made time to help me with a scene. More than a great author she’s a cool person. If I had to pick a scene it would be the bathtub scene in “Awaken” it was different.

    Thanks Anita and Casey for having her as a guest.

    Mary George w/a Cora Blu

    1. Thank you, Mary. Wow, what a sweet thing to say. I was happy to help even a little. I wish you lots of luck with your book.

      That bathtub scene in Awaken was kind of different. LOL. It was fun to write. I enjoy unusual scenes.

    1. Casey, if the women in your neighborhood got word that the BDB was there, they might invade your house and kidnap them. There are a lot of BDB fans out there! Thanks for throwing Faelan into the mix. He would make a very nice Christmas present, too.

  4. The romantic hero I want under my tree? I can’t say that I have a favorite one but I like those heroes that don’t consider themselves one. The ones when they love someone, love them with their whole heart. Happy Holidays everyone!

    1. Romance Reader Enthusiast, I agree with you. There’s something great about a guy who’s a hero but doesn’t see himself as one. The heroes in my stories are big tough warriors, but I’ve always believed there’s a hero inside all men, especially our husbands. After all, we married them for a reason. Sometimes we just have to look beyond the ordinary, and even dig a little to find the hidden hero.

  5. Wow, these sound great. I’m in love with anything Scottish and have read many Highland stories, but these have an element I’ve never seen. Can’t wait to read them! And thanks for visiting the Scribes!

    1. Hi Katy Lee. Thanks so much. I’m thrilled to be here. My stories are rather different that most highland stories. They’re modern, for one thing, but the warriors still have that old world sense of protection and strength. And they do love their kilts. :)

  6. Thanks for the post, Anita. Love your books. Santa promised to bring me my Viking warrior, Leifr. The hunk will be waiting under my tree by midnight. Christmas Eve will bring me lots of cheer. :)

    1. Thanks, Callie. I have so much fun with this series, and I’m enjoying the new paranormal series I’m writing. I was stunned to find out I’d hit the NY Times list that quickly. What a thrill.

  7. Thanks for being here today, Anita, my fellow RWA Kiss of Death member. I loved AWAKEN THE HIGHLAND WARRIOR and can’t wait to read EMBRACE. Best wishes for many more successes. As for which romance hero I’d like to have under my Christmas tree, I would have to go with a classic choice and say Mr. Darcy (he must look like Colin Firth). Although I wouldn’t say no to ripping the wrapping paper off Joe Morelli or Ranger, either. :)

    1. Hi Susannah! Thanks for stopping by. I’m so glad you liked Awaken and hope if you get a chance to read Embrace, that it will be just as good. Most readers have told me it’s better. Mr. Darcy is a good choice, but I might have to go with Ranger. I love Ranger. He’s one of those larger than life characters for me.

  8. Hi Anita,
    I can’t wait to read Embrace. I adore anything to do with the Highlands and by your brief blurp, I’m hooked! Sounds wonderful. I think I have to agree with Susannah … Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth).

    1. Hi Gerri! I hope you like Embrace if you get a chance to read it. Awaken is the first in the series. They can stand alone but would make a little more sense reading Awaken first. Oh, another Mr. Darcy fan. You girls might have to draw straws.

    1. Hi Julia. I don’t scuba dive either. I have this thing about sharks, and water, and suffocating. :) Seriously, I am a bit paranoid about “dangerous” things, but yet I could drive through a gang infested street and not blink an eye. I’m strange! But I do think scuba diving, seeing the world that exists underwater, would be fantastic.

  9. Hi Anita, What a great interview — thanks for sharing a slice of your writer life and congrats on the bestseller lists! To answer your question…in an alternate universe where I’m single , I’d love to see Nikolai Wroth from Kresley Cole’s “The Warlord Wants Forever” or Rhage from J.R. Ward’s “Lover Eternal” reclining next to my Xmas tree. Yes, I’d like a vampire for Xmas. :)

  10. What a great interview! Congrats on your success. Lucky (and talented) girl!

    As far as romance heroes go, I’d like Karen Moning’s Dageus MacKelter from The Dark Highlander, please. I always liked my boys a little dark and in kilts. I also like them breathing, but that’s just me. (I like vampires, too, don’t get me wrong. I just prefer the men who recline on my sofa to have… uh… a pulse.)

    But I must say, I like men in kilts so much I even tried to convince husband to wear a kilt to our wedding. He refused. We’re probably all better off that he did. :)

    Can’t wait to read these books!

Leave a Reply

