Once Upon a Time

Hello Scribblers!  Happy Saturday to you and yours.  J here.  This may come as a surprise to some of you, but I love a good story.  Romance stories are my favorite.  And who doesn’t love a princess?  Given all this, it stands to reason that my new favorite story is Once Upon a Time, told in a weekly serial on this newfangled thing…the TV.

I know, I know…you’re about to revolt – saying “But J, this is a blog about writing…whatcha talkin’ ’bout TV for?”  Hang with me here, ’cause if you like a good story done well, you just might want to check this one out. 

Once Upon a Time is one of ABC’s new shows this year.  As a parent with young children, if mine stayed up as late as 8:00pm, I would let them watch this show.   It started in October and has had only 10 episodes so far.   It’s not to late for you to jump on the train!  Wikipedia has a nice episode guide to catch you up and you can find episodes on ABC.com or other places online.  But let me give you a brief overview:

Evil Queen

The action starts with the Evil Queen cursing Snow White and her prince at their wedding, swearing to take away everything they hold dear.  It takes the Evil Queen some time to make the curse work and in the meanwhile, Rumpelstiltskin prophecies that Snow’s baby will be the only one able to save them.  Gepetto builds a magic wardrobe for a very pregnant Snow to use to escape the fairy tale lands but the curse comes to fruition and Snow gives birth before the wardrobe is finished.  The Prince manages to place the newborn infant in the wardrobe an instant before the curse wipes all their memories clean and moves them to our world.   Storybrooke, Maine to be exact. 

Lest you get the idea that this show is all period-drama, fantasy nonsense, let me tell you that half of each hour-long episode focuses on the characters in their Storybrooke persona.  Snow White is a lonely elementary school teacher, Red Riding Hood is a waitress named Ruby at a breakfast shop called Granny’s and Jiminy Cricket is a shrink named Doc Hopper (no reference to The Muppet Movie here).  The Evil Queen is Storybrooke’s mayor, and the only one who knows about the curse, for sure.  Her adopted son suspects though, and is trying to break it.  

The only other character who I think knows what is going on, is the pawn shop owner, Mr. Gold aka Rumpelstiltskin.  Actor Robert Carlyle (best know to me for his role in The Full Monty) is wonderfully creepy and crazy as the less obvious, but probably more dangerous, bad guy. 

In fact, all the actors do a great job and the writers do, too.  Writer-Producer Jane Espenson (Buffy, Game of Thrones) is involved in developing this show, as are two of the writers from Lost – kings of flashbacks, and inventors of the flashforward, so you know it’s going to be good.  There are lots of clever bits of fairy tale lore woven in here and there.  And don’t worry, I haven’t told you anything more than you would have seen in the pilot episode. 

Today’s secret: This is a great show, and if you haven’t got anything else scheduled for 8:00 Sunday nights, you should give it a whirl.

Today’s question: Anything new caught your eye lately?

17 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time”

  1. I haven’t seen this show yet, or Grimm. I’ve been reluctant to get myself hooked on another show, but I’m pretty sure I’d like this one. Now that Chuck has ended, I guess I can make room for another series in my life!

    1. I know how you feel! I am bummed about Chuck too. At least they got to end it on their own terms. Not like what ABC did to Pushing Daises! I loved that show. I haven’t watched anything on ABC since. That could be why I haven’t checked out Once Upon a Time. I will get hooked, then they will can it!

    2. I watched the pilot of Grimm and it’s a similar idea (of course!) but more of a police drama type thing instead of a family drama…and I don’t have time for both. I liked OUAT better so I’ve gone with that one…

  2. I love this show, too! In fact, I love Once Upon a Time so much I blogged about it a few weeks ago.

    It’s great to find that someone else out there also appreciates this gem, created by the producers of LOST. I love the acting, the creative twists to fairy tale classics, and the way the story hops between fairy tale realm and present-day Storybrooke, ME. The appearance of a hunky writer looking for inspiration ratcheted up the excitement for this romance author.

    I agree with Seven Scribes. Let’s get on the HEA train. I believe it’s gonna be a great romantic ride, with plenty of thrills and chills for those who like their adventure a bit on the wild side. Josh Dallas and cast are easy on the eyes, too. :)

  3. I am thoroughly enjoying both Once Upon a Time and Grimm. The new show in the paranormal genre that I am really enjoying is Lost Girl. The program deals with the Fae and has two females as the main characters. This is well worth checking out.

      1. It’s on the SciFi Channel. Several of the shows that Kathi and I are addicted to are on that channel. Also, you won’t believe the show that I’ve gotten caught up in now, The Lying Game one ABC Family channel.

  4. You will get hooked……I luv it and anxiously await from week to week to see the next…..me & my coworker discuss it, disect it, etc……luv it, luv it….luv the twists it gives to fairytales….absolutely luv it…..& im in luv with the mad hatter…..totally…..my fav

Leave a Reply

