2012 is 25% Done, Are You?

Hidey-Ho Scribblers.  J Monkeys here.  Well, well, well.  It’s March 30th.  The end of the 3rd month of the year.  That means 2012 is 25% of the way complete.  How about you?  Are you 25% of the way through your goals for the year?  Let’s see how I stack up.

Before the year began, I thought long and hard about what I wanted to accomplish this year and how I was going to measure my success.  Here’s my secret report card:

  1. Publish 6 books this year.  Well, so far I’ve worked out the template for my personal organizer and my family history cookbook.  Both templates will be available for sale soon.  The 3rd book in my Dixie and Taco kindergarten series is with the illustrator.  My novella is nearly finished; I’m just waiting for my cover artist to graduate from college (in 5 weeks!) and then it’ll be available.  DIY Publishing ~ Cheap & Easy is more than 2/3 written.  And the first book in my 1st Grade reader series, Brook the Fish, is in the queue for the illustrator, too.  I’m on track to have all six of these available before the summer is over and I plan to spend the second half of the year writing.  So I’ll judge goal #1 to be ahead of schedule.
  2. Sell books.  I really haven’t made any progress (or even effort) on this goal yet.  I do have plans in the hopper…so at least that’s something.  But I’m way behind schedule on goal #2.
  3. Lose 51 pounds before the year is over.  Sigh.  This is a perennial failure for me.  So far, I’ve made 10% progress rather than 25%, but at least it’s something.  I’m behind, but not horrifically.
  4. Improve my family’s credit score.  I’m happy with my progress to date on this goal.  I’ve run credit reports and found out our starting point.  I’ve organized our bills and gotten things on track.  And I’ve developed a system to keep on track. I’m happy with my progress here.
  5. Keep up my hair color.  This may seem silly, but I’ve gone gray very young and I have young children.  I’m pretty sick of folks telling me how cute my grandchildren are.  I must say, I’m doing well on this goal, too.  I’ve found a salon I like and my hair looks FABulous!  :)
  6. Scrapbook 5 pages a week.  This is an important goal, because it reminds me to take a little bit of time for myself every week and do something fun.   That whole “All work and no play” thing.  While I haven’t actually done as much scrapbooking as I’d like, I have done some crafting, some catching up on TV shows & books, and I’m taking a fun class.  All in all, I’m calling this one “on target”.

As it balances out, I’m horribly behind on one goal, far ahead on another and on target with the rest.  I feel good.

Today’s question: how are you progressing toward your goals?

 

8 thoughts on “2012 is 25% Done, Are You?”

  1. Oh, boy, J. Today is not a good day for me to ask this question. Or maybe It’s the perfect day. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and coming down hard on myself for not being more organized and on task as of late. It might be a good time to step back and reassess. Thanks for the reminder to take time for fun. I could definitely use a break.

    Congrats on the goals met and even for being organized enough to keep track. You’re already ahead of the game on that front. Great job!

    1. Thanks! Taking time for myself is absolutely something that I’ve not done enough of in the last few years. I truly think it’s very important. Not just for me, but for my kids too, to learn how to be flexible, how to take care of themselves and how to balance their time. Don’t forget Paula in the midst of PJ Sharon! :)

  2. Hi J,
    First goal on my 2012 list was to get published this year. Happy to say that one is fulfilled twice over. The second goal is to lose weight. I’m on a diet and walking daily and it appears to be working. Not as quickly as I would like, but the numbers are moving in the right direction. My plan also included writing another novel, and although I started it I was not happy with it at all and scrapped it. Started over. Hope to have that finished by summer. All in all, things are moving along positively. I am also going to start a scrap book for my granddaughter. We will start that after the baby shower in June. So much happening. 2012 is a shaping up to be a wonderful year. Now let’s just hope the Mians were wrong!

    1. Good for you Gerri! I’m nearly positive they were wrong, but in the event that running some kind of distance becomes necessary while carrying 45 pounds of little boy, I’m in training! It’s good motivation! :)

  3. J, you’re going a great job! I’m not as far along on my goals as I would like, nowhere near 25% in fact. But some opportunities that I hadn’t counted on have presented themselves, so I’ve had to readjust some of the goals. BTW, your hair does, in fact, look fab! I’m getting mine done this week :)

    1. It does look good these days, doesn’t it?! :) Being flexible enough to adjust the plan when new information comes along is wicked important. And even if you get off to a slow start, keeping the goals in mind and the clock ticking can be motivating. But you don’t want to fixate on the clock, just let it motivate you.

  4. Way to go, J!
    Thanks for putting our goal schedule in perspective. I’d been beating myself up lately about writing progress, but I’ve definitely moved forward at least 25%. I’ve final-edited about 90 pages of a 300 page book, I’ve written three more chapters of book 2 and completed its synopsis. I’ve written a synopsis for a third book and am currently outlining by chapters/scenes, and I’ve brainstormed and created a premise for a fourth book. I believe that once my outlining is complete for book 2 and 3 they will write quite easily (or at least compared to book 1 which I pantsed the whole way!).

    Keep with it, everyone!

    1. That sounds like a TON of work accomplished – be proud! It seems like we all fall into the trap of not celebrating the small successes. Writing is a marathon and we need to take a moment to pat ourselves on the back with every mile, or even every step of the journey. Wow, I sound awfully wise today, don’t I? ;) I need to take my own advice a bit more often!

Leave a Reply

