Workin’ for the Weekend

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had one heck of a week since the last time we met here at the Scribes blog.

I’ve been super busy getting ready for this weekend, as in day after tomorrow. Our RWA chapter (CTRWA) is hosting a writer’s conference on Saturday. We’ve got 135 attendees, 15 workshops, and 15 editors and agents ready to take pitches. This year I’m involved in the planning and execution phase of the conference, and let me tell you, unless you’ve seen it firsthand, you would not bee-leeve the amount of work that goes into preparation for a conference of this size and scope. Others have worked far, far harder than I (you know who you are), so I’m not looking for sympathy here! The next time you attend a conference — even if it turns out to be not everything you’d hoped for — take the time to thank the organizers, who are probably volunteers. You could also buy them a drink, just sayin’.

Dream it and Achieve it, Baby!
In the midst of the preconference frenzy, I’ve been putting final touches on my manuscript and practicing my pitch for the agents and editors I’ve targeted as likely to want my story. Consequently, I’m going to keep this post short and sweet. Very sweet. Here’s one of my family’s favorite cookie recipes. Hope you enjoy it! And if you decide to make it, could you drop a few off at my house? I just don’t have time to make my own right now!

ORANGE DREAM COOKIES

  • 2-1/4 c. flour
  • 3/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 c. butter
  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T. finely grated orange peel (orange part only, not the bitter pith)
  • 2 cups (or one package) white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup orange flavored dried cranberries (such as Craisins) – optional, but I like the way they “tart up” these quite sweet cookies and intensify the orange flavor
Stir together the flour, baking soda and salt. In a larger, separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the egg and orange peel and mix well. Stir in the dry ingredients, then the white chocolate chips and cranberries.
Drop by rounded teaspoonsful onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment or silicone baking mat, and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, or until just set and very lightly browned. Don’t overbake these cookies, as the chips tend to get grainy and the cranberries get too dry.
Enjoy!  And if you’re pitching this weekend, Good Luck! I’d love to hear how you’ve prepared yourself.
9 thoughts on “Workin’ for the Weekend”

  1. You . . . are a cool lady. I do know what it takes to do what you do, I have done it many times with ASID, (American Society of Interior Designers) and leadership. Volunteering is a world of its own. Coo dos to you for putting yourself in that situation. It brings much work, but great satisfaction. Thanks for the delicious looking cookie recipe. Have a great writer’s conference, see you there.

    Now, it’s my turn to write my blog. This week, 5 old-world-style American palaces. What we call today, and are no longer building, “The McMansion.”

    1. Hi, Gail! Thanks, but honestly all awe and gratitude should go to the driving forces behind this conference: the Prez and Vice Prez of CTRWA, who’ve been working their tails off for months! I’m just the help, and someone who wishes she’d been able to do more. See you Saturday, and I can’t wait to read that blog about the McMansions!

  2. Suze – yet another example of how we think alike (cookie recipes! – see Cal’s double chocolate cherry cookies tomorrow). These sound delish! See you all Saturday.

    1. We are just going to have to learn to accept this freaky mind-meld thing, aren’t we? Double chocolate cherry cookies??? Sign me up!

  3. Orange Dream Cookies…YUMMM! Must try those!

    I know how hard you all are working and it’s going to be an awesome conference. Thanks for all you do, Suze!

    1. Truly I’m not looking for props here! I’m just amazed at how much work there is putting something like this together. Readers, PJ is putting on a workshop on fight scenes — she is going to kick some serious conference butt! Can’t wait!

  4. I’m excited for the conference as well … I know there are a few stressed out board members who have been working their fingers to the bone … and they have done a wonderful job in making this event come off with out a hitch. See you on Saturday, good luck with the pitching and thanks for the cookie recipe … it sounds yummy.

  5. You guys! I’m on a diet!! :) Oh, well, I guess I’ll start again next week…just like I said last week…and the week before that.

    Seriously, I can’t wait to try these cookies. My favorite float is orange soda/vanilla ice cream, so these are right up my alley.

    And Jane, I sooo do appreciate all you are doing for the chapter and the event this weekend!

Leave a Reply

