Victoria and the Ghost by Guest Author, Janet K. Brown

Welcome! Katy Lee here with inspirational author, Janet K. Brown. Janet has a new book out called, Victoria and the Ghost, so I wanted to invite her today to hear all about it as well as a little about her writing life.

We at the Scribes love to hear how writers battle the Doubt Monster? And, Janet, you are no different, so spill it! How do you deal with the nagging feeling while writing, your prose is terrible, your plot is silly, your characters are insipid and no-one in their right mind would read this drivel, let alone buy it?

Janet: First, I write without reading. I don’t think about it. I just get the words on the paper. When I read through the manuscript and start editing, I remind myself, “If God brought me to it, He’ll get me through it.” Then, I edit and keep going.

Have you thought about writing something that is completely different for you? Perhaps writing in a new genre or just taking a story someplace that you haven’t done before.

Janet: Been there, did that. Ha! For several years, I’ve written inspirational romance and women’s fiction. Then, my one and only YA sold first. I also wrote one non-fiction. It’s a 365 daily devotion book for compulsive overeaters. A publisher requested the full manuscript on that last week. Maybe changing genres helped tone my writing.

What is the most surprising thing that has happened in your writing career?

Janet: All the sweet writers willing to sacrifice time and effort to help me. I am humbled, and pray I can and will reciprocate.

What would you do if you couldn’t be a writer any longer?

Janet: Travel. Relax. Pray for peace, because not writing would cause me lots of anxiety.

They say that every author has a partially completed, quite-possibly-terrible half a story shoved in a drawer somewhere. What is yours? What is it about? What makes it terrible? Would you ever consider picking it up and finishing it?

Janet: I completed seven contemporary novels before I sold the first one. I started one historical based on the story of my ancestor who helped found Nashville, Tennessee. The research drove me crazy, so I stopped. I doubt I’d work on it anymore, but who knows. Never say never.

How do you come up with your shtick?  By shtick, I mean your voice. That thing that identifies the story as belonging to only you? Perhaps an element to your stories like small towns or a thread of equestrian-life or medieval dialogue….something that says these are the type stories that are your brand.

Janet: My tagline is writing with God’s hope. Every story has some addiction or compulsion in it that only God can heal. My voice remained unclear until a writing friend advised me, “Relax, have fun with writing.” That brought out the real me.

You have an inspirational young adult coming out this month. Tell me something about it.

Janet: The title is Victoria and the Ghost.

At fifteen, Victoria, a city girl, loses her mother’s love and copes with country isolation, no friends and no one who cares, until she meets a ghost.

When her mother leaves the family to become a Dallas trophy wife, Victoria’s dad moves her and her sister to a North Texas farm to herd cattle and raise chickens. Refusing to believe this is more than a temporary set-back, Victoria tries to make new friends which isn’t an easy task. The first one stabs her in the back with gossip and a sharp tongue. Meanwhile, her new stepsister takes Victoria’s place in her mother’s heart. Rejection and anger stalk Victoria like a rattlesnake in the cemetery. Good thing she makes friends with a ghost and through him, a good-looking teenaged cowboy.

Victoria and the Ghost can be preordered at:

       http://tinyurl.com/4RVStore

Later this month, you can order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and find it in bookstores around the nation.

My publisher is 4RV Publishing. They don’t publish exclusively Christian, but all genres are consistent with Christian values. Vivian Zabel used her years of experience in publishing and writing to begin her own publishing company a few years ago. Her authors have brought her company much recognition and awards. I’m honored to be their newest challenge.

I love to hear from readers. Here’s how.

Website: http://www.janetkbrown.com

Group blog: http://www.bookstowriteby.blogspot.com

Facebook author page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/AuthorJanet-K-Brown/143915285641707

Twitter: https://twitter.com/janetkbrowntx

e-mail: Janet.hope@att.net

Thanks, Katy, for allowing me to be a guest on your blog.

And thank you for stopping by to tell us about VICTORIA AND THE GHOST! I am intrigued to read more about!

READERS: Please chime in and say hi to Janet. And Janet, we wish you many blessings with your writing!

 

7 thoughts on “Victoria and the Ghost by Guest Author, Janet K. Brown”

  1. Welcome Janet. I love how you said, “If God brought me to it, God will bring me through it.” isn’t that the truth? Your story sounds intriguing. I started out with several adult romances before I found that my voice was suited for YA. I would love to go back and resurrect some of those old stories, but the thought of building a whole new brand under a different name to keep them separate sounds even more daunting than the editing would be. Besides, I have more than enough YA stories to keep me busy for a long time:-) Thanks for being with us today.

  2. Thanks. I sure understand. I have teenage characters and adults talking in my head. The romance I’m working on has a teen and a pre-teen in it. Can’t quite get away from the honesty of youth. I enjoyed visiting with you.

  3. Janet! I am so proud of you and I know you will never have any trouble helping and encouraging other writers. In fact, it’s one of the things you do best. Looking for to reading “Victoria and the Ghost” and having you visit my blog. Hope to see you in person someday soon.

  4. Hi Janet, I also love your remark and if I may parrot PJ, “If God brought me to it, God will bring me through it.” Something to give deep thought to. A few years ago, God spoke to me audibly, “Be Still and Know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10 is always in back of my mind. If He gave me those words, I must pay heed. So again your remark is truth. Best blessings to you and all your hearts desires. Thanks for visiting Katy’s blog.

Leave a Reply

