Interview with Romance Author Robin Covington

Happy August!!  Jennifer the Scribe, here.  I’m so happy to have my friend Robin Covington with us to talk about her new release, “A Night of Southern Comfort.” 

1.  What was the hardest thing about marketing your very first sale? 

Juggling the time it takes to do it all.  I had plenty of time to set setup my FB, twitter and Goodreads accounts prior to selling but actually using them, blogging, tweeting – that was crazy busy.

2. What social media platforms do you use?  Which one has been the most beneficial?

I use Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads and my own blog.  I think FB has been the most beneficial to instantly connect with people and it has been the easiest for me to use. My blog is the least effective and that is my fault since I don’t use it as I should.

 

3. Who or what has been most helpful in marketing your first sale?  For a total newbie, Laura Kaye has been a boon for me.  Luckily, I know her and I can ask her questions but she also has written amazing articles on marketing for Savvy Authors which everyone should read. She is a genius at it.  I also read Kristen Lamb’s “We Are Not Alone” and it helped get my head in the right place to market as a whole.

4. Is there anything you would have done differently? Oh – I would have set up my blog tour earlier.  I was still setting stuff up after the book was released and it was a little crazy. Luckily, Entangled gave me a publicist and she was a life-saver.  Love you Heather!

5. Describe what’s next on the horizon for Robin Covington.

Writing, Writing. Writing.  I have back-to-back books due for the next year.  I have a Christmas novella out for Entangled later this year, and then the sequels to “A Night of Southern Comfort” are scheduled for Spring, Summer and Fall 2013. I will also have a couple of other projects out next year – busy girl!!!

A busy girl indeed!! Thank you so much for spending a little time with the Scribes today.  If any one has any questions for Robin…let ‘em rip….

One night of passion… 

Detective Jackson Cantrell never imagined that one night with an irresistible stranger would turn his life upside down. He’s spent years living in the shadows, but Dr. Michaela Roarke awakened a passion inside him he’d buried years ago.

He never expected the woman would turn out to be the governor’s daughter…and his next assignment. The governor blackmails Jackson to secretly watch over Michaela and protect her from a stalker, or kiss his dream job at the FBI good-bye. Swearing to keep things strictly professional, Jackson moves in with Michaela. Too bad his heart can’t keep the same promise.

But when the stalker’s attacks quickly escalate beyond mere photographs to bodily harm, Jackson must race to save Michaela’s life. And he’ll have to figure out how to keep her once she discovers his lie.

17 thoughts on “Interview with Romance Author Robin Covington”

  1. Nice to hear there are so many of us in the same marketing/promoting boat. it’s definitely about rowing together to keep afloat. I love Kristen Lamb’s book. (WANA). I’m one of the original WANA minions from her oline workshop a few years ago. I love my WANA peeps!

    I’ve learned so much from the gracious folks in the business who are so willing to share their experience, wisdom and time. Writers are awesome. Ironically, it’s the ones who are busiest who always seem to be there to lend a helping hand. Thanks for sharing your experience, Robin.

    How did you come to be involved with Entangled? They seem like a really great publisher to work with.

    1. PJ – Good to meet you! I’m starting to dip my toes in WANA – everyone is so awesome.

      Entangled came to my attention because of Lori WIlde. We had become friendly after meeting at a conference last year and she let me know that she was now the Editorial Director for their new category line (she has since stepped down because she is so busy with her fab writing). I had been submitting to HQ – who was the only game in town for category – and I submitted my story to them and prepared to wait. I was shocked when they wanted to buy my book a week later. It has been a wonderful, nurturing place for a newbie and everyone is so professional. I couldn’t ask for a better group.

      1. I’m so glad there’s another publisher in category! I’m reading an Entangled book right now and it’s easily one of the best category romances I’ve read all year. It’s even holding it’s own against the Olympics :-) I love their covers, too!

  2. Marketing my book has been more difficult than I first anticipated. From facebooking to tweeting to blogging to Goodreads – My reviews are great but I’m still not sure I’m hitting everywhere I need to. It’s comforting to know I’m not all alone in my little boat of “what the heck do I do next?” Great post! Continued luck with your books!

  3. Kirsten Lamb is coming here in Sept to speak to SARA. I’ve read her book and joined her WANA group, although I’m guilty of not spending much time there – yet. But I’m making a list of questions and looking forward to hearing what she has to say.

  4. Robin, great post. You said you didn’t use your blog right, for your marketing? In marketing, how is the blog beneficial. How should you have used it? Thanks for sharing, and continued luck with your books.

    1. Gail – Great question. I blog plenty – just not at my own site. I’m on the Indulgence authors bog, the Waterworld Mermaids, the HEA blog at USAToday, and on Romance University. People get to hear plenty from my big mouth.

      But, I know that my own blog is another tool for me and that it does pay me back. For example, in February, I did a month long feature where I featured a love song a day and gave away an iTunes gift card. I got tons of traffic and my Twitter and FB followers also increased. So, I know it works. I just need to do it.

    1. Jennifer – thank you for stoping by. Laura has been a huge help to me and her advice is so practical. You’re no slouch in the marketing department either! ; ) I hope you enjoy the book!

  5. Hi Robin and Jennifer!
    Jennifer, I was at your workshop in Anaheim last week and loved every second of it. Thank you! And Robin, you’re my new inspiration for what to do when my own book comes out. {;o) I’ve loved the way you come up with fresh insights and info for your audience everywhere you go. Hubster got to read ANOSC before me and loved it. My turn next!

    1. Barbara – Isn’t Jennifer fab?

      And, for me I just think of what I would want to talk about if they were sitting in front of me and then it is easier. And, I go for topics I love. That way it is easier. I’m glad your hubby enjoyed the book!

  6. I’m staring into the social media abyss now with my August indulgence release and am really hoping my Entangled publicist will be holding my hand!
    Egads – I just joined twitter!!!!!
    My head is spinning….

Leave a Reply

