Are you likeable?

Happy Hump Day…Jennifer the Scribe here!

Occasionally my boss gets a wild hair and assigns the marketing team at my day job a book to read. This year, the assigned book was, “Likeable Social Media,” by Dave Kerpen. While meant for business to business or business to consumer marketing, there’s some good information here that is valuable for writers.  Specifically, this blog article is focused on chapter 4 of the book, “Inviting customers to be your fans.” It is focused on the “like” function on Facebook.

So let me break it down for you and save you the $20.00, incase you were interested in getting a copy for yourself.

Tip # 1  When you like something on Facebook, you are essentially doing two things: a.) you are subscribing to a company’s (or author’s) updates and b.) you are endorsing the brand to every one of your friends.

Being mindful of the above, the book states that getting more “likes” on Facebook is better than having an actual website to generate sales. (Personally, I don’t agree. You still need a website to act as your “home base” to advertise your brand and your work. But, it’s also important to maintain a fanpage and work on increasing your number of likes.)

Tip #2 The more “likes” content receives, the more often it will be viewed and the number of people seeing this information will grow overtime. (totally agree!)

Tip #3 The book listed the top 10 reasons why people like fan pages on Facebook. The reasons include: to receive discounts or promos, to show support, to get a freebie, to stay informed, for updates on future projects, for updates on upcoming sales, just for fun, for access to exclusive content, to learn more, or for educational purposes. (Yep, makes sense!)

Tip #4 The book lists all of the places you should tell people to “Like” you on Facebook.  These places include: your website, on every email you send out, you business card, packaging (in our world this would be your bookcover or jacket copy) and lastly, on any in-location singage.

Tip # 5 You can, at no cost to you, run a “text to like” campaign.  You can increase the number of likes on your Facebook pages simply by telling people to:

Simply type: like SevenScribes and send to 32665 (FBOOK). (Hey, thanks for the like!)

So, how do you get started being likeable…the book offers some action items, and I’ve tweaked them to serve the writing community.  If you want to boost your number of likes on your Facebook fanpage, start by answering the questions below:

Write in the comments why should your readers like you on Facebook. What’s in it for them?  Then, brainstorm how you can integrate your answer into your current marketing activities.

I’m here to  help, so let the “liking” begin…

17 thoughts on “Are you likeable?”

  1. What a fun blog today! Let’s see in the past when I tried to get people to ‘like’ my page I offered a prize. I did a handmade freshwater pearl necklace for one random fan who liked my page during the contest. Seemed to help drum up some new people!

    1. Great idea, Lindsay. Freshwater pearls, holy cow. Now, let’s think of something else you can offer as a prize without breaking your bank…shall we?

  2. Jen, thanks for the great post. I had no idea about the “likes.” It is kinda embarrassing to ask folks to like you. But I see that everyone does it. Strange. I guess you do not have to like someone, but it seems to be the thing to do if someone asks you to do it. So, will you please like me on my blog? You are my first ask. http://www.gailingis.com/wordpress. Wait a minute, where should the like go, blog or Facebook? http://www.facebook.com/gail.ingis. Thank you.

  3. What I did when I first signed up for Facebook was go out to all my loops and asked for likes. I told them my goal that weekend was to achieve fifty likes. Well, I got one hundred plus likes just by asking. I brought the book when you first suggested it Jen, but haven’t had the time to read it, so thank your for pointing out the meat of the book.

    1. Marian, I thought chapters 1-5 in the book were very valuable. Past chapter 5, it’s a bit repetitive. Enjoy it!

  4. What I started blogging and learning about marketing four or five years ago, Facebook wasn’t the juggernaut it is now, so we were encouraged to build a (mailing) list. We were supposed to trade newsletters, freebies (usually white papers) and hold contests in exchange for that valuable contact info. Sound familiar? ;) Do you think Facebook Likes are becoming more valuable than a List?

    1. In my opinion, I think the most valuable function of the Facebook “like” is it’s endorsement factor. I might be on the fence about a certain author’s page or books or a type of clothing, but if I see Rhonda Lane liked it, I’m more likely to give it a chance.

      Also, the likes give you more of a long-term connection to engage in conversation where as a newsletter is a one-way push of information.

      1. True. Connection and conversation are expected now. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. ;) Besides, without conversation, we couldn’t enjoy such fun and useful tools as crowdsourcing.

  5. Thanks for the great post, Jennifer. I do like the occasional contest idea, but I’m afraid all my peeps are getting all contested out with all the giveaways and “announcements/requests”. I’ve done Goodreads giveaways, weekly contests on my YA Beyond blog (requiring a FB “like” as well as a comment to enter), but that is “likes” for that blog in particular.

    As part of Authors Network, Marketing for Romance Writers, and YaYa, all writers yahoo groups I belong to, I have access to other writers who will, on certain predetermined days (FB Fridays), “like” my FB fan page, and “like” and “tag” my books or author page on Amazon. It means that I have to spend a good chunk of time reciprocating, but well worth it to increase my network. I find it takes time to build an audience on FB, just like it takes time to build an audience of readers. I just keep plugging along, always happy when someone “likes” me:-)

    1. Gerri, WIth your book coming out next week, it’s important that right now, you are very, very loud in social media, not only with a message push, but in conversation, too. I’d carry a heavy social media presence for about the next 4 weeks. Then, gradually taper off…and go back to work.

      Every marketing plan should ramp up…launch…stay active through post launch…then let it sail. Good luck.

  6. Oh, wow. Let’s see. They can “Like” me to find out about my new releases and where I’m guesting. They can also like me to support indie authors, and budding authors. :) And it’s good karma. ;) Boring I know but there it is. :) Oh, and thanks for the link, PJ.

Leave a Reply

