Bending the Space Time Continuum

Casey here! Another Friday has arrived and that has me thinking about the space/time continuum and the movie My Cousin Vinny.

Anyone remember that movie? It starred Joe Pesci and Marisa Tomei and was about a  lawyer whose nephew had been arrested in a podunk town on murder charges.During the trial, there’s a memorable cross-examination that went like this (from IMDB):

Vinny Gambini: How could it take you five minutes to cook your grits when it takes the entire grit-eating world 20 minutes?
Mr. Tipton: Um… I’m a fast cook, I guess.
Vinny Gambini: [across beside the jury] What? I’m sorry I was over there. Did you just say you were a fast cook? Are we to believe that boiling water soaks into a grit faster in your kitchen than any place on the face of the earth?
Mr. Tipton: I don’t know.
Vinny Gambini: Perhaps the laws of physics cease to exist on your stove. Were these magic grits? Did you buy them from the same guy who sold Jack his beanstalk beans?

I’ve always loved this scene, especially the mention about the laws of physics and magic grits. Which leads me to these thoughts about how the space/time continuum works in my life. These are my observations. Individual results may vary.

Things that take forever:

  • work
  • grocery shopping
  • laundry
  • the first 30,000 words of my latest book
  • writing blogs, queries, back cover blurbs, taglines, and synopses
  • appointments of any kind
  • errands

Things that seem like they take five minutes but really eat up hours:

  • Social media – especially Facebook
  • watching television
  • finding pictures to go on the aforementioned blogs
  • crafting/gaming
  • daydreaming
  • reading books or magazines
  • drawing or painting
  • writing after 30,000 words
  • answering e-mails

It’s funny how we all get the same 24 hour day, but the way we perceive the passage of time affects our enjoyment and/or stress level. They say time flies when you’re having fun and “they” aren’t kidding!

How about you? What would be on your list of space/time bending activities?

22 thoughts on “Bending the Space Time Continuum”

  1. The last two hours of work seem to drag on FOREVER!!!!! But when I’m off I look at the clock and half the day is gone before I know it.

  2. Funny post, Casey, and so true. Three days of editing felt like an eternity, but the entire time I was thinking I only have three days! My Grampa used to say, “Time is relative to which side of the bathroom door you’re standing on.” That puts it all into perspective:-)

    1. That is so true! It seems like I’m always standing on the wrong side of the bathroom door in my house. Kind of like my cat. A closed door is like a challenged to him, so most of the time I don’t bother closing doors if I don’t have to.

  3. The older you get, the faster time passes. I remember summer days that lasted forever. Now they speed past so fast summer is a blur. (And I sound like an old crotchety person now. Back in my day…)

    Time really is relative.

    1. I read a study that shows time actually does go faster as we age. How can this be when it is all relative? I’m so confused.

  4. The weekend goes by in a blink. The morning time before work–I swear it’s 30 seconds long.

    Things that take forever–the red lights I always hit on my way to work. Especially when I’m late!
    Soccer practice. Yucky work meetings!

Leave a Reply

