Waiting Sux

Hi Guys,

Jennifer, the Wednesday Scribe, here.  Those of you who know me, know I’m type A all the way..and like any impatient type A, waiting sucks. On Aug 19, I turned my book into my agent and although he liked what he’d read so far (whew) I still don’t have a plan. I have no idea when my book will be submitted or to whom.  For a type A like me, this is worse than hearing nails down a chalkboard and more painful than pulling your face off one layer of skin at a time.

To pass the time, I jumped outside my comfort zone and thought about what else I could do instead of waiting.  I investigated knitting. That looked too complicated.  I thought about starting a new story, but quite frankly, I’m not ready yet.  I tried drinking.  All that left me with was a headache.

So, what’s a highly stressed, goal oriented, type A to do?

I started my own business.  So please allow me to introduce you to “Market or Die Author Services, LLC.” http://www.marketordie.net/services.html

I blended my two lives, marketing and writing, a few years ago when I wrote Market or Die. While the intention of the three books was to educate writers about marketing, I found that many writers still didn’t feel comfortable enough with marketing to do it for themselves.  So, forming Market or Die Author Services (MODAS) seemed like the logical next step to evolve my non-fiction career.

I’ve partnered with a few people I know and trust.  Some I’ve trained myself. Others are marketing professionals and together we’re taking MODAS off the ground. We provide services such as branding, website/blog critique, brand advocacy and marketing plan assistance…all customized for the writer.

I’m proud to say we’re working with three authors right now, with a fourth on the way.

Considering nothing moves fast in publishing, if you guys know an author looking for marketing help, I’d appreciate it if you passed our name along.  And, if you don’t, how about leaving me with a comment of what you do while you’re waiting?  Because if my little LLC goes bust, I’m going to need all the help I can get to find something else to do.

13 thoughts on “Waiting Sux”

  1. I wrote. While I was going through the soul sucking process of querying I wrote an whole other book. And while I was waiting for the book to sell. I started another book, added 15,000 words to another and went on vaction. Everything take sooooooooooo long. It’s best to keep busy and try not to think about it.

  2. I’m laughing, Jennifer, because I am at the opposite end of the waiting curve. As an indie-pubbed author, i’m the boss–of EVERYTHING! This has an upside and a downside. Being a type-A myself, I set hard and fast deadlines so that I can create structure for myself. My problem is always getting other people to work to those deadlines. I’m at that point in the business where I hire out certain tasks such as editing, cover design, and setting up blog tours. It’s like being a contractor for construction–all the pieces need to fit together and happen on schedule or I won’t meet the deadline I set. Convincing others in the industry (who are all as busy as I am) to keep to my schedule is a little…um…frustrating. I keep thinking that I would be an agent and editors dream client with my work ethic and sense of responsibility to keeping to set deadlines, but so far, I’m the only one who seems to notice:-)

    As my son would say, “Keep your hair on.” Accept that waiting is part of the business, and work on setting up your own structure to keep you satisfied that you are still in control of some things. Doing it yourself/starting your own business will keep you plenty busy enough.

  3. Hi Jennifer,
    Like Jamie, I write while I’m waiting. This insures that I have a steady stream of submissions for my publisher so that hopefully I will have a book release every 6 months or so. I do have to say, knnowing you … Ms Type A … there is NO WAY IN HELL that your little venture will go bust! You are a make it happen person. Congrats on the new venture.

  4. Best of luck with your new venture, Jennifer. I think it is a much needed commodity.

    As far as waiting…blah. Get used to it! Whether it be short fiction or longer, agents or editors, waiting is the name of the game, no matter what genre you are in. I used to be a horrible waiter. I would not be able to do ANYTHING while waiting for an editor to get back to me. Now, several years into it, I write, submit, and that story is basically out of my mind for at least three months, usually. Sometimes I keep so busy that I actually forget that I sent a story to a particular editor, and when I hear back, it’s like a total surprise. I don’t recommend being that flaky, but I think keeping busy and always moving forward is the key. I work under the assumption that the story will be rejected, even when my sales are good. This way I just don’t have to worry so much. As far as waiting for other people when the ball is actually rolling, well, what can I say? I’m a type B. I try to use some strategic ways of not letting the other person forget me, but when there is nothing I can do about a situation, there’s nothing I can do. ;)

    Good luck!!

  5. I think MOD Author Services fills a huge need for indies and traditionally published people alike. I predict it will be a resounding success!

  6. I love how you “investigated” knitting! I can just picture you holding up the needles and studying them to figure out how you will get a ball of yarn to look like a sweater with just two sticks. :)

    Your business sounds awesome!!! And much needed. Glad you chose that over the needles.

  7. Age . . . and life . . . and experience . . . that’s what it takes to modify the type A, my appointment in life. Stick-to-it, Jen. it is no small feat to do a start up company, LLC and all. It takes at least two years to get it off the ground and another, ummm, seven to see it productive, you know, having a good net gain, that is, after the bills are paid. You are in a fortunate position having produced a great business book series, and lots of folks who respect your opinion. Frankly, I thought you had already developed a company. Having a full-time job would never deter a type A. You go girl, no problem, you will have it humming in no time.

  8. Congratulations on turning in your book AND on starting your marketing business! I am going to keep you in mind for when/if I need a marketing professional (i.e. when I have a book out).

    By the way, did you ask about your time line? My first time around I just waited and waited and then, finally, asked. I felt so much better afterward. Like you, I like to have a time line and I like to prioritize. Knowing when to expect revisions (or if there wouldn’t be any more revisions and we would just go on submission) helped me plan my next steps – and helped me know if I needed to clear the decks for an upcoming surge of work. I’m sure your agent will understand you wanting to prioritize, especially if it means you’ll be working on something else in the meantime, and available for revisions, etc. when he’s ready for you to be.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

