I get by with a little help from my friends…

Hidey-Ho!  J Monkeys here.  So the other day I was having some food with writer friends and the BEST thing happened…we talked plot and worked out some kinks in each other’s stories.  Let me lay it out for you.

Suz Hardy has a story she’s been working on for a while, but she had hit a snag and wasn’t sure were to take the story.  She had some ideas but wasn’t sure if it worked and thought it needed a bit of something but she wasn’t sure what.  She told us the basic premise, and the changes from the parts of it we’ve read previously.  Casey Wyatt, Katy Lee and I threw ideas at her as fast as she could write them down in a very nice purple notebook.  She was thrilled and said the next day that she was rejuvenated and had thought up a bunch more ideas on the way home.

Since it worked so well for Suz, I told the group about the villain problems I’m having in my WIP.  Just talking about the situation aloud, with friends, brought me the solution to a major issue I was having.  I’m pretty sure this major issue is the main reason why I’ve been stuck at 7500 words for more than two months.  I didn’t understand the fundamentals of this story well enough to write it.

And another GREAT thing came out of our coffee klatch.  Casey totally called me on my recent slacker-ness.  Yes, I have every excuse in the book for why I haven’t been writing.  Some of them are good ones, many are bothersome issues going on in my life (the word “issues” seems too dramatic – I’m blessed with a charmed life these days and have no business complaining, but like everyone, I’ve got irritants.) and Casey called it like she saw it.  “Stop worrying about all that crap and write.  Move the laptop, go to the library or come to my house if there are too many distractions at home, but just do it!”

She’s absolutely right!  In the immortal words of Nike, I need to just do it.  So that’s what I’ll be doing next week – writing, finalizing those pesky edits that have been hanging over my head like a guillotine, and working with my new illustrator. 

Today’s Secret: Find yourself a network of like-minded folks and support each other.  It really helps!

Today’s Question: What do you do when you are stuck?

7 thoughts on “I get by with a little help from my friends…”

  1. That session was truly awesome. Thanks, everybody! Readers, it took approximately 5 minutes total to solve a plot problem that has been festering in me for months. This was just the shot in the arm that I needed to get moving again. No writer is an island, friends!

  2. Brainstorming is an invaluable part of the process. When I attended the RT Convention in Chicago with Katy Lee last March, she was instrumental in helping me wok out several plot points for Waning Moon that had me hung up for a while. Then, just last weekend at the CTRWA writer’s retreat, an hour with the brilliant Suz, garnered me much success in planning out Book Two of the trilogy. It is so important to get a fresh set of eyes on a project to help us see the forest through the trees. Great topic, J.

  3. I had a good time with all you awesome people. The food was good, too! :)
    Looking for help from your friends can be a good idea. Depends on what you are looking for and who you ask! Nice post!

Leave a Reply

