What I didn’t learn in English Class…

I’m on a deadline so today’s post will be short and sweet.

My editor likes to edit the old school way, with paper and pen. Okay, so when I first saw my 350 page manuscript I thought WTF! I was used to working in track changes in WORD or getting comments in those neat little balloons.

Instead I got odd-looking little, alien-like symbols all over my book. I knew they must mean something but apparently they didn’t teach grammar at my high school(Ask me how Shakespeare I’ve read. Grumble. Grumble.) And while I could figure out what most of the symbols were I got majorly stuck when I saw the word STET.

I had to go to my trusty friend The Internet and look it up. STET is a latin term for LET IT STAND, which means ignore the previous marks.

So just in case you ever run into the same situation I thought I would include a little chart to help you navigate your editing process.

What about you? Do you know all your editing and proofreading symbols?

6 thoughts on “What I didn’t learn in English Class…”

  1. Nifty chart! I had to figure the symbols out on my own when a line editor did the same thing for me. This would have come in handy. Thanks for the cool post, Jamie. And good luck with the edits!

  2. I was a freelance proofreader eons ago in NYC, so I’m much more comfortable with these symbols, Jamie, than with the little balloons. Go, figure! Generations apart, it seems. Think of it this way: you’re expanding your knowledge base. Now if I could only learn the meanings of those little balloons!

  3. I saw that list last year when my nephew got his paper back on his first essay in college. I too had to look everything up. Thanks for the list, it will help when I do my first read through. And Jamie, good luck with your edits.

  4. I don’t know most of those either, but I did have a boss ask me (less than 10 years ago) if I could take dictation in shorthand. Um ~ no because I have no secretarial skills to speak of and those couple I do have were developed in mid the 1990’s, not the mid 1960’s. Good luck with your edits!

Leave a Reply

