I’ve Read Every Book By…

My TBR list.

Been a busy girl lately. My edits are due to my editor by October 29. My second book was due today and I still need to write another book before April.

Sigh… I love being this kind of busy. And I love deadlines because I work surprisingly well under pressure but, with my head stuck in writing land I haven’t had time to think of any juicy blog topics. All week I have been wondering what the hell I was going to write about. But yesterday inspiration struck me right in the middle of Walmart. I saw JK Rowling’s A CASUAL VACANCY. It’s one of the many, many books in my TO BE READ pile. I ordered it not knowing much of what it’s about simply because I have read everything else Ms. Rowling has written.

As writers I think we all hope that we will someday have those types of readers, the ones who MUST read everything we have written. That got me thinking about other authors who books I have devoured. There aren’t many of them, but there is something about these ladies that cause me to buy all their books no matter what.

1. Susan Elizabeth Phillips. She was the author of first contemporary romance I had ever read. This Heart of Mine. Molly and Kevin… sigh. Over ten years later and that love story still moves me. The day I finished that book I went to my local BN and bought every book they had by SEP and now I as soon as I hear that she’s got another book coming out I preorder it.

2. Sherry Thomas. A friend of mine actually gave me Sherry’s first book. Private Arrangements. It was different. It was amazing. I was pulled so deep in that world I lost all track of time and when I finished that book I went right to Amazon to order more of her books only to find that it was Ms. Thomas’ first and that I would have to wait in order to read another. I survived the wait and now have every book Sherry Thomas has written gracing my over crowded book shelves. (Next one comes out on Tuesday!!!)

3. Elizabeth Hoyt.  Another historical writer, another author I have been with since the start of her career. Can hardly wait for the next book in the Maiden Lane series to come out.

4. Mary Balogh. Again I blame my friend Stephanie for getting me hooked on her. She gave me More Than a Mistress and No Man’s Mistress and I was hooked. I have read all five of the Huxtable Books. All four of the Simply books and all six of the slightly books, plus everything else that is still in print. I’m like a junkie with her books, just passing the time until my next fix. Check out her website and you’ll see how bad my problem really is.

There are other authors whose writing can almost claim this honor. I love Rachel Gibson, Eloisa James, Jennifer Ashley, Lisa Kleypas and Christina Dodd. To me these women are like rock stars and I will gladly keep reading their books.

Your turn! What about you? Whose books can’t you get enough of.

 

19 thoughts on “I’ve Read Every Book By…”

  1. SEP definately tops my list too. As does Rachel Gibson. My other two must reads are Jill Shalvis and Kristan Higgins.

    1. I’ve only read Jill’s Lucky Harbor books but I too think she’s great. Love K Higgs books too. They make writing Rom Com seem effortless.

  2. Jamie, I totally get what you’re saying here. I’ve got a few that hooked me with word one. They have prominent places on my bookshelves. So I’ll start at the top with the grand dame herself, Nora Roberts. I love them all. The contemporaries, the mysteries, the paranormals and of course, her futuristic cop drama under J.D. Robb.

    Right behind her is Kerri Aurthur and Sherrilyn Kenyon. They both have some of the most tortured heroes who simply pull at my heartstrings.

    Others are: Jessica Andersen, love her Nightkeeper series, one of the few I’ll read category for and can’t wait to see what comes next. Kristan Higgins, always makes me laugh, cry and feel good. As well, as Jill Shalvis and Susan Andersen. And Christina Dodd, for when I want to take it to a steamier, edgier read.There’s also, Kim Harrison. I love her Rachel Morgan series, but haven’t had time to check out her other lines. Someday, when there’s enough time, I’ll get to them too.

    Oh, and I’ve heard about this new author, Sugar Jamison. Can’t wait to read her stories!

  3. Hi Jamie,
    Like you, I have read all of the Harry Potter series and I’m anxioius to read Ms. Rowling’s new book. Actually, I will be going out to get it today. There are several authors I like (too numerous to mention) and I’m always waiting for the next release. And like you, I hope one day to have avid fans who simply can’t wait for my next release. I look forward to reading the work of Sugar Jamison. I especially LOVE the title of her first book.

  4. Jamie, looks like you love the writings that my hubby loves. He is my scout, if he says read that one, I do. I still feel like I don’t read enough, but after your blog, I realized I have read more than I realized. I have read most of the authors you mentioned, and am in love, love, love with Sherry Thomas’ writing. We can’t wait for Tuesday for her new book.

  5. Lynn Kurland, and the J’s: Julia Quinn, Julie Garwood, Judith McNaught, Johanna Lindsay, Jude Deveraux are my favs. Some because they started me on this journey of writing romance and some because they are so damn good I hope to write like them someday! :)

  6. Kristan Higgins, of course tops my list…oh, and Diana Gabaldon. Although waiting three years between releases for the next Outlander installment is killing me.

  7. Jamie- great topic! Before I discovered romance novels I read every one of Patrick O’Brian’s books about Captain Aubrey- 22 in all! I just read my frist Eloisa James and I’m a fan now. Debbie Macomber, Kristan Higgins- I’ve read all or ,most of their books too. And I love Jennifer Crusie’s writing- I can still see some of the scenes from her books in my minds eye.:-)

    1. Sigh Jennifer Crusie… She wrote my all time fav book Bet Me. And we have the same publisher which makes it even more cool.

  8. Neil Gaiman, Robin McKinley, Jeannie Lin, Marguerite Kaye, Michelle Willingham, Julia Quinn, Eloisa James. LOL I was going to respond to this saying, “Gee, I’m not sure I’ve actually done this…” but after looking at my shelf and thinking about it, I really HAVE read an obscene number of books!

    Let us know what you think of Rowling’s latest! Hearing lots of mixed reviews.

    1. I have been hearing mixed things too. I’m wondering if ppl are expecting to be transported to a magical place like they were in Harry Potter. But I just don’t think it’s possible.

  9. Clearly I’m from another genre, LOL. I’ve never heard of most of the authors mentioned here today. I read and write mystery mostly. So Ruth Rendell, P.D. James, Walter Moseley, Ian Rankin, Henning Mankell, Denise Mina, Josephine Tey, Dorothy L. Sayers, even Agatha Christie’s 100+ books, and of course all of A. Conan Doyle’s. I’ve also read all but the veggie book of Barbara Kingsolver’s.

    1. Yeah, we’re all romance writers. What can I say… A book is not a book for me unless there is a little love in it.

Leave a Reply

