Cheater, Cheater

It’s Thursday, again. Suze here, broadcasting from deep inside the Writer’s Cave.

Sorry I can’t tell you where my secret lair is. I can tell you it’s not full of high-tech gadgets, cannisters of brightly colored knockout gas (so useful!), not even a really cool car. It’s just me, my cat, and my trusty HP laptop. Occasionally my manservant (husband) will bring me a cup of excellent coffee, but he absolutely refuses to wear the apron and black-rimmed glasses I’ve provided for him, nor will he feather-dust my bust of Shakespeare. Good help is so difficult to find. Sigh.

So what am I writing? By now most of you probably know about National Novel Writing Month, which is always in November. (If not, check out www.nanowrimo.org). Fifty thousand words in a month is doable–I’ve done it–but it’s a stretch for me. Six to eight hundred words a day is more comfortable. This year I got the brilliant idea to cheat! My devious brain told me that if I started on October 1 and wrote 800 words a day, I could complete my work-in-progress by November 30. So far, I’m on track, and it feels great.

I’m also experimenting with working on two projects at once. That contemporary romance novel I wrote for NaNo two Novembers ago? Well, it needs quite a bit of help. A lot is salvageable though, and once I broke down and asked for plotting help from my friends, I figured out just how to fix it. So I’m alternating between the two WIPs–I can read four or five novels simultaneously and keep the stories straight. Theoretically, I should be able to do the same with writing. I’ll report back on the results in a couple of months.

So, are you a cheater? A Loner, Dottie? A Rebel? Or do you follow the rules?

6 thoughts on “Cheater, Cheater”

  1. Suze, why didn’t someone give me the November NaNo rules? Guess my head was in the sand. I am not sure it would have mattered. I am so bent on learning how to write, that writing eludes me. Just write seems to be what all my writer friends whisper, just write. The writer whisperers. So one of the courses I am taking, the instructor gives prompts, we have ten minutes to write to the prompt. No problem, I am doing it, then we all read back what we have written, aloud. AND, we must write the old-fashioned way, with a writing instrument called a . . . I’m thinking, I’m thinking, a pen/pencil. That’s 140 words, in ten minutes. Ummm. Interesting. Great post.

  2. I have a hard time working on more than 1 project at a time. So hats off to those of you who can do it. I’ve done NaNo for 3 years and I’ve completed 50,000 words each year. But that also puts the pressure on to complete EVERY year! Still, I love it. And LOL, I write ALL my rough drafts in pen/pencil! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

