An Apple A Day

Happy Thursday, loves. Suze here. Guess what? This is our 500th post! Who knew we all had so much to say? Thanks for joining us here today, loyal Scribelings.

I’ve begun submitting my manuscript in earnest to agents/editors, and I’ve had several nibbles. Everybody seems to want something different in terms of formatting, length of submission, length of synopsis, etc., so I’ve been working hard to do everyone’s bidding, LOL!

So, like a good synopsis (something that still eludes me, but it’s far better than it was thanks to the assistance of some awesome friends/colleagues), today’s post will be short and sweet. How about a recipe?

Image courtesy of Petr Kratochvil http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=3421&picture=apples-and-pears
It’s fall here in New England, and that means it’s apple season, but you can enjoy this all year round. Here’s my recipe for super easy homemade applesauce:

SUZE’S APPLESAUCE

*6 flavorful apples, peeled, cored, roughly chopped, and placed in a saucepan (Empire, Cortland, Pink Lady, Granny Smith, and Macouns are my favorites, but MacIntoshes will do in a pinch. No Red Delicious, please! The flavor is too bland and the texture is too mealy to work in this recipe). Add the following to the pot:

*1/2 cup of apple cider, apple or orange juice, or plain water

*1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

*a few grates of freshly ground nutmeg (or a pinch of the kind out of a jar — don’t overdo this spice. It’s powerful)

*1/2 cup packed brown sugar (dark or light doesn’t matter)

Bring to a quick boil, then give everything a stir to make sure it isn’t sticking/burning (add more liquid if necessary). Continue to cook until apples are soft, about 20-25 minutes.

For a smooth-textured applesauce, allow the mixture to cool a bit, then whizz it up in a food processor (don’t overprocess, or you’ll end up with baby food). For a chunkier texture, which is how my family likes it, use a potato masher right in the pan until you get the consistency you like. Taste to see if you need to mix in a bit more brown sugar — apples have different degrees of tartness.

Serve warm or at room temperature with pork chops or pork tenderloin, chicken, or pierogies, or as a topping for vanilla ice cream.

**Note: You can also make this with pears! Just use a ripe, juicy, flavorful pear like a Bartlett or Anjou. The recipe is exactly the same.

Now for you. What’s your favorite fall meal? I could use some menu planning suggestions right about now!

 

14 thoughts on “An Apple A Day”

    1. The applesauce is also good swirled into a bowl of steel-cut oatmeal. Can you believe there’ve been 500 posts? It’s crazy!

    1. Thanks, Joy! I’ve just started submitting seriously, and the feedback is pretty positive at this point. Congrats to you on your contract, btw! You are on a serious roll.

  1. Congrats on the 500th post! Nice recipe too. I love everything about autumn … it’s my favorite season. Time for football, tailgate parties, stews, soups, chili and fresh baked goods … YUM!!

    1. Thanks, Gerri! I love autumn best too. It always feels like a relief to me, since I don’t care for summer’s sweltering heat. And I love pumpkins!

    1. I feel like we should celebrate somehow. That’s a LOT of words we’ve put out into cyberspace in the last year and a half.

  2. Thanks Suze, I always love a new recipe. Congratulations on your 500th post. I am looking forward to writing my synopsis, silly me, but I have good cause. Although I do have an outline, writing my synopsis will give me the opportunity to summarize my story. Sort of like an outline on a storyboard. Right?

    1. Hi, Gail. I had a lot of trouble with the synopsis, and honestly it’s still not that great. But I just needed to call it quits and start sending it out like I meant business. Thanks for the congratulations! I just love being part of the Scribes.

  3. WOW! That sounds like an awesome recipe for Auntie-Sauce as we call it here in Casa de Monkey. I’m the auntie and I make applesauce, a lot. Although I don’t put anywhere near the love into it that you do. I quarter a bunch of apples, like 12ish and dump them into a stock pot with 1/2 cup of water or so, then bring them to a boil and let them simmer until they are mushy. Then I dump the whole concoction into my antique Foley Food Mill and crank away. It remove the stems, seeds, cores and peels. I usually use Macs, Romes or Empires (cause that’s what I buy). Then I sprinkle in some cinnamon and voila ~ auntie sauce is served. Hot sometimes. But I’m gonna try your recipe (still without all that peeling & coring…)

  4. Thankfully I have never had to submit a synopsis. I thought my editor was going to ask me for one at some point but it never happened. I suck at them. Here’s hoping that you don’t have to write too many.

Leave a Reply

