Writing a Prequel By Lisa Kessler

Happy Friday everyone. Casey here. I am so thrilled to welcome back Lisa Kessler as our guest to discuss prequels. I know I’m excited to get my hands on this story. If you haven’t checked out Lisa’s paranormal romance novel, Night Walker, now is a great time to explore her world!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi everyone –

Thanks so much to Casey for inviting me to visit with the 7 scribes today!

I’m really excited because my new release, Night Thief, is now available! It’s a prequel to Night Walker, and writing it was an interesting experience.

The main characters, Kane and Rita, play a major role in Night Demon (Book 2) which was already written and turned into my publisher. So when I started writing this prequel novella, I had a few plot points I knew I had to hit.

Based on the timeline of the other book, I knew they met in 1840 in Paris. I also knew how the relationship needed to conclude. Without giving away any spoilers, this was where the writing of the prequel got interesting.

As I got closer to the end of the novella, my heroine was not excited about becoming immortal. Not at all in fact. My palms started to sweat that I wasn’t going to be able to make it all come together! LOL

I’m happy to report that she finally came around, but it took rewriting a chunk of the novella and adding a few thousand words. Shew!  Now I understand how tough it must have been for George Lucas to get those Star Wars prequels to gel with his first three movies.

So I thought I’d ask you…  Have you ever written a prequel after the other novels were already complete?  What was the experience like for you?

Thanks again for having me on the blog, Casey!

Lisa

Twitter

Facebook

Lisa’s Blog

Lisa’s Lair website

Here’s the blurb for Night Thief…

After the fall of the Mayan civilization, Kane, an immortal Night Walker, has taken refuge in France for over 800 years. The modern world holds little interest for him until the night he meets the Golden Thief and is robbed of much more than his pocket watch.

Marguerite Rousseau is living a double life. By day she is the assistant to an eccentric French artist, Antoine Berjon, and by night she dons elegant evening gowns to woo French dignitaries before lifting their wallets.

Sparks ignite when Kane captures the thief, but Marguerite harbors a dark secret that could ruin them both.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Night-Thief-Novella-ebook/dp/B009J7PC4O/

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/night-thief-lisa-kessler/1113064536?ean=2940015511499

Thanks for being our guest Lisa! If you have questions for Lisa, please ask.

Scribes fans, anyone considering writing a prequel or a novella?

12 thoughts on “Writing a Prequel By Lisa Kessler”

  1. A timely post, Lisa. I just released WANING MOON, the first book in a trilogy. When I was asked to write a creepy short story for the WG2E October Anthology, I decided to write the prequel to the trilogy. I was in edits for WM when I began working on the prequel, so I was lucky to have the opportunity to do them in tandem, which made it much easier to go back and infuse details needed to have the stories gel. I did have to re-write quite a bit of the prequel (SOUL REDEMPTION) after i had changed the first three chapters of WM. Tricky business those prequels:-) Thanks for visiting with us today..

    1. Hi PJ!

      I’m glad i”m not the only one who had to tweak to make the prequel work out and fit in with the rest of the series! LOL It was actually a really cool exercise, but tougher than I realized it would be…

      Thanks for commenting!

      Lisa :)

  2. Your books sound great, Lisa! I’ve not had need/desire to write a prequel — but I imagine it’s pretty challenging to keep everything straight, but not give away too much in case people read your books out of the order they were written. You’ve got some skills!

    1. Aww thanks Susannah!!! :) As writers we often dream up a backstory for characters, but you don’t usually get the chance to write it all out. It was actually fun! :) Tricky, but fun… LOL

      THanks for commenting!

      Lisa :)

  3. I loved NIGHT WALKER, and can’t wait to read your prequel NIGHT THIEF. It sounds fascinating. It’s on my TBR list and if I can hurry up and get past my review obligations, I’ll be able to start NIGHT THIEF.
    Wishing you much success with your books.

    1. Hi Casey!

      Thanks for having me back on the 7 scribes! :)

      Since I had already written, Night Demon, and Kane & Rita play a pretty big side role in the book, I knew lots of the plot points of their backstory. I knew they were “married”, she had a tattoo of a rose around her ring finger, I knew both of their spirit animals, etc.

      But when I wrote the novella, and saw them falling in love and got to know Rita before she was a Night Walker, it got tricky because she did NOT want to cooperate! LOL Luckily is all came together in the end… Shew! :)

      Lisa :)

  4. I have a prequel in mind for my Agents of the Crown trilogy and the good thing about having it in mind as I write the three books is that I’m leaving clues everywhere that will all be tied up in the prequel. The prequel will be the story of the parents of the last two heroes in the trilogy…a French pirate’s daughter in the late 18th century and a British privateer called the Golden Eagle. It would be much more difficult coming up with the prequel after all three books were written and I’d said nothing that gave a hint about the earlier romance.

    Regan
    Author of Racing With The Wind
    http://www.reganwalkerauthor.com

    1. The earlier romance was mentioned in Night Demon, but actually writing it out, my heroine had some real conflict with the future I had planned for her! LOL I’m glad it all worked out in the end… :)

      Good luck with your prequel Regan!!! I hope it goes smoothly for you…

      Thanks for commenting!

      Lisa :)

Leave a Reply

