I love it when a plan comes together…

Hi there Scribblers - J Monkeys here.  Happy Saturday to you and yours.  I’ve got a short and sweet blog for you today.

In the inestimable words of John Hannibal Smith, don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?  I grew up in the 1980’s and watching the A Team was a fixture in my week.  If you didn’t see it, or fancy a trip back to the 80’s, you can see episodes online here.  So much so, that even though I couldn’t possibly imagine Liam Neeson in George Peppard’s shoes, I rented the new film.  It was surprisingly good – get it if you were a fan and haven’t seen it.

But I digress.  As you may know, I’ve been working on characters for a new books.  I’ve finally got them clear in my mind.  I think I know what makes them tick, how they’d act in certain situations, things like that.  Just to round out the character sketches of each main character, I decided to look up the astrological sign and corresponding personality for each of the characters birth dates. 

What do you know?  The somewhat random birth dates I selected give the characters signs in direct correlation with their personalities.  I’ve got a young girl who is independent beyond her years, but often doesn’t look before she leaps.  She’s an Aries.  Those qualities and many others she sports are in direct keeping with a ram.  I’ve got a woman who’s been burned by betrayal in the past to the extent that she doesn’t trust people – doesn’t let them in but she’s fiercely independent and driven.  She’s interested in the paranormal and at the same time, a control freak.  Guess what?  She’s a Scorpio

So I say it again…Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?

Today’s secret: If you need a quick reference to some personality traits in keeping with your character, check out their sign.  If nothing else, it might tell you to move their birthday.

Today’s question: How do you create your characters?

5 thoughts on “I love it when a plan comes together…”

  1. Great post, and timely as always, J. I’m in the midst of going deeper with my character sketches and haven’t addressed the zodiac personality traits. I think it’s a fine idea! Thanks for the tip! Oh, and i loved “Face Man” Dirk Benedict. I mean, who didn’t?

  2. Although I am growing my story from true history, I had to develop my characters beyond what I read about them. It has been quite a journey. How much can you possible get from history books? So I am having great fun giving them personalities . . . should I make him caring and compassionate? Should I make her sweet and soft? Or other? They are getting molded based on my story.

Leave a Reply

