DEATHSCAPE by Dana Marton–a must read!

Hi All,

Happy Wednesday.  Jennifer the Scribe, here.  I’m not sure if you guys heard my raving on Facebook about a book I’ve recently fallen in love with.  The title?  DeathScape.  The author?  Dana Marton.

I loved it so much that I asked her to spend some time with us today sharing her experience with her first indie pubbed book.  Being a multi-published and award winning author, I knew Dana could write.  So, there was no hesitation when I downloaded this baby for my Kindle.  Well, enough about me…join me in welcoming Dana Marton to the Scribes today (insert round of applause here!)

Dana, can you tell us what the birthing process for DEATHSCAPE was like?

D.M. You know how in the romantic comedy Hitch, Will Smith’s character accidentally kicks his date in the head and nearly drowns her and says, “Oops. That’s not how I pictured that happening?” The release of DEATHSCAPE, my romantic suspense novel, was like that.

This summer I set the publishing date of the book for November 1st, and started advertising it, building buzz. I had plenty of room in the schedule to have the book ready to rock by that date. Heck, I had time to spare. I even signed up to go the NY City for a four-day writers’ conference just before the release.

Then my editor had to take a personal trip and the edits were late. So late, that I didn’t have them yet when I left for the conference, just a few days before release date! I did get them while I was in New York, but I had no time to work on the book, because I had workshops from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. every day.

In case that wasn’t enough to give me a heart attack, I got an email to let me know that marketing didn’t like my cover.

Three days before release, I had no book, no cover, and just found out that the hurricane would not be heading out to sea as previously hoped, but heading straight for us, so we’d be likely losing power, for who knows how long. This was definitely not how I’d pictured my much-anticipated release!

Then I found out that the person sitting next to me in a workshop was a cover design magician. She kindly agreed to take pity on me. So, holding my breath, I went home to Southeastern PA a day early and got to work. I updated the book with lights flickering, wind howling, during the hurricane. Then, praying we’ll have power a little longer, my hubby converted it to Kindle. Oh, and the cover artist designed me a cover on her way home on the airplane and emailed it to me! So, praying for some more time, I rushed to upload everything to Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/Deathscape-ebook/dp/B009YMJ2AO I ended up with the book up actually early!

The winds didn’t blow any of our trees down, we had no damage to the house, and the book was published. I wish everyone was so lucky. The pictures of devastation in NY City just break my heart, as well as the Jersey Shore that has given us so many summer memories. I’ve already donated to the American Red Cross, and I’m going to use proceeds from this book to donate again. If you’d like to join me, you can do it right here: https://forgood.yahoo.com/donate/53/news

 Jennifer says, “Wow!  So let’s hear a little more about DEATHSCAPE!!”

Recovery can be a long and painful process. Ashley Price, the heroine of DEATHSCAPE is recovering. Since her near-death experience, an accident where a child had been killed, she’s been compelled to paint visions of the dead, and fears she’s gone crazy. Then she paints a man buried alive and, recognizing the surroundings, she rushes to save him.

But instead of being grateful to her for rescuing him, Detective Jack Sullivan accuses her of being in league with a serial killer. He swears he will put her behind bars. Except, the more time he spends with her, the more he falls under her spell. Can he trust her, or is he walking into another deadly trap?

The story deals with two deeply-scarred characters, each at the point where their worlds are falling apart. They both have amazing fortitude, despite their circumstances, and I’m truly humbled that readers responded to these characters as emotionally as they had. The reviews have been absolutely amazing so far.

I even received a review from NY Times bestselling author, Susan Mallery, which made my day big time! “Deathscape… sucked me in from the beginning and kept me guessing until the end. I like stories where the characters are real people–with histories and motivations and interesting quirks. Ashley and Jack were that for me. Add a scary killer, some romance and you have a perfect read!” I’m printing that and framing it for my wall!

If you read the book, I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Wishing you a great week. May everything turn out just as you planned!

5 thoughts on “DEATHSCAPE by Dana Marton–a must read!”

  1. Wow, Dana! Way to persevere! The book sounds awesome. Right up my alley. Now I just have to find time to read…uggh! NaNo has cut my reading time to nil. Hopefully, I can catch up during the holidays:-) Good luck with sales!

  2. Let’s see if this works. My morning comments were deleted, and in the p.m. the page wouldn’t even let me type in a comment…

    Sharon–I hope you get some reading time! I’m way behind, too. But as soon as the current ms is submitted, I’m locking myself in a room with my stash of books :-)

    Gail–I still can’t believe I found the cover designer at the last second. That one was major luck. Should have bought a lottery ticket that day.

    Katy–Thank you! My troubles are not even worth mentioning compared the the people who got flooded. I couldn’t believe the online photos. Very scary.

Leave a Reply

