All You Need to Know About Valentine’s Day — With a Giveaway!

Happy Valentine’s Day, my lovelies! I hope this day, no matter how you celebrate or who you celebrate with, is wonderful. Read through to the end, because there will be a special gift for one lucky commenter.

TRUE-LOVE-Sweethearts[1]I’m going to let you in on a little secret (we just love those things around here!). Everything you need to know about Valentine’s Day — or love in general — can be learned from a box of Sweethearts (f/k/a Tiny Conversation Hearts). As far as candy goes, these are pretty bland, even a bit chalky. And they have a sad and conspicuous lack of chocolate.

But they come in pretty pastel colors, and each has a pithy little motto: Be Mine. Hot Stuff. True Love. Hug Me. Kiss Me. Even Boogie. Now that you mention it, I do feel like dancing.Thanks! The Necco candy people clearly understand romance and the art of keeping it simple. What more do we really need?

IMG_20130214_060434Leave me a comment about Valentine’s Day, love, conversation hearts, keeping it simple, the new Bridget Jones book coming out in the fall, Joe Manganiello, or anything else that strikes your fancy, and you’ll be entered in a random drawing for a fabulous prize package: a hardcover copy of Pride and Prejudice, a lovely Celtic Heart bookmark, a box of Sweethearts, and a dark chocolate raspberry Godiva chocolate bar. Contest ends at midnight Sunday, February 17th, and I’ll announce the winner next Thursday. Good luck, and Game On!

28 thoughts on “All You Need to Know About Valentine’s Day — With a Giveaway!”

  1. Suze, thanks for the reminder about Sweethearts candies. I did not remember they had all those itsy bitsy love sayings. I do remember them pretty and fun to plop into my mouth. They seemed harmless years gone by. But today i guess sucking on sugar is known to cause cavities. They are worth a taste or two in the name of LOVE. Aren’t they? Happy Valentine’s Day to you. Here’s to love that lasts forever.

  2. Nothing says Valentine’s to me like candy hearts. I love them even though they aren’t chocolate. And they have to be the ones made by NECCO (the New England Confectionary Company) otherwise they don’t taste right to me. Did you know the NECCO company is the oldest continuously operating candy manufacturer in the US? They started making wafers in 1847 (years before Milton Hershey would make his famous candy bars). If anyone is interested in reading books about candy, I suggest – Candy Freak by Steve Almond and The Emporers of Chocolate by Joel Glenn Brenner (and an interesting insight into the Hershey vs. Mars rivalry).

  3. Hi Suze, Happy Valentine’s Day. I’m surprised there are not Valentine’s Day Peeps! I’m a chocoholic so for me … it HAS to be chocolate. I love holidays and any chance to celebrate life and share the joy of living it with those I love (especially my little Granddaughter). You are showing several items in your picture that are dear to my heart, though. Pride and Prejudice – Mr. Darcy (~le sigh~ I love him, I love him, I love him); chocolate; and the Celtic heart (I am Irish, and St. Patrick’s Day IS coming). Thanks for sharing.

  4. You crack me up, Suze! I, too, find the candy hearts “sadly and conspicuously lacking chocolate.”

    You are so sweet to think of giving such a lovely prize for our readers. Happy Valentine’s Day to all:-)

  5. My husband remembered to pack a v card for our florida trip. We celebrated v day last nigh with friends. Gil and my friend’s husband penciled in moles under their eyes like my hero, Victor, has in Green Fire. What a hoot. Do i get the prize.

  6. When I was a child my parents would put a box of them on each of our (brothers and sister) breakfast plates on Valentine’s Day. We all looked so forward to it. A great way to start the day. We were even allowed to eat some before breakfast. My sweetie gave me a cystal heart. Nice surprise! Happy Valentine’s Day everyone.

  7. Valentine’s Day isn’t too much fun this year. I was in a car accident yesterday so I’m laid up in bed, but my husband has done nothing but pamper me all day with breakfast in bed and lots of books. This might be the best V-day and I haven’t even left the house.

    1. Pride and Prejudice is probably one of the best books I have ever read. Love the bookmark too and of course chocolate (no explanation needed on that one). The candy hearts were what the first boy ever gave me in grade school for a Valentines so they have a special place in my heart.

  8. Hi Suze! My hubbie modge podged me Jane Austen heels! He took a pair of old bridesmaids shoes I had and bought a copy of Jane Austen and cut strips out of them and is covering them over the shoes. So I’ve got heels for Nationals! Whoo!

  9. God is Love…. A Friend loveth at all times… Love covers a multitude of sin…
    We got some conversational hearts and swiss rolls as treats for yesterday and
    I made a nice supper. We also had strawberry, banana , cream cheese smoothies…smile
    I hope you had a wonderful day Katie, I thiink of you often.
    Love in Jesus
    Linda Finn
    faithfulacres7@gmail.com

  10. This post caused me to ponder holidays in general. I became painfully aware that there are some significant special days which offer us no candy treats at all. As St. Patricks Day nears, I will mourn the lack of chocolate shamrocks and be forced to drown my sorrows in green beer. There are no dead presidents on a stick waiting for me on Monday…it’s ok…I have to work anyway.

Leave a Reply

