Affirmations and Good Things to Come

IMAG0025It’s March, (click here to find out what I’m up to this month), and one step closer to spring…and not a moment too soon for me! It’s been a cold and cloudy winter, leaving many of us with a case of the doldrums, myself included. PJ here, and I’m going to share one of my best secrets for chasing away the blues. I’m sure you’ve all heard of the practice of saying AFFIRMATIONS. An affirmation, according to my Sage dictionary, is “a statement asserting the existence or the truth of something.” When you say an affirmation, you say it as if it has already come to pass and is the truth or reality of the situation. So instead of saying, “I’m going to lose weight,” you should say, “I am in my healthiest body ever.”

I can see you rolling your eyes…stop that! Speaking your reality into existence is the surest way to find success. Your brain doesn’t know the difference between a lie and the truth. It is only processing the information that you feed it, and verbal and audio cues are powerful bits of information. Most of us have lots of “old tapes” playing in our heads from as far back as childhood telling us that we aren’t good enough, pretty enough, smart enough…whatever. Of course, this is all garbage that our brains have stored and processed and that our subconscious mind believes to be true. If you look in the mirror and say, “I hate how fat I am, I’m so ugly, or how could anyone love someone like me,” you are convincing yourself that all of that crap is true. And guess what? Your brain will have you believing it to the point of making it your reality.

So let’s turn that around right now! The only way to erase those old tapes and negative thinking is to re-program how you think and speak about yourself. It takes consistency and practice, but you can completely change your mind and transform your life by doing this. If every day feels like a struggle to you and you have self-defeating thoughts, saying positive affirmations is the cure.

Here are a few of the affirmations I say often, some on a daily basis:

“You are beautiful, I love you, and I’m going to take really good care of you today.” (If you look at a picture of yourself as a child as you say this, over time you will experience a very powerful healing.)

“I attract wealth and good health.”

“I attract healthy and happy people into my life.”

“I have all the money I need.”

“I am a money magnet!” (Don’t forget to add the “thank you, thank you, thank you” to express your gratitude to the Universe for providing for you).

And my favorite, “I am an excellent writer, I am a bestselling author.”

Always use present tense and positive words to give your intention impact.

It feels silly when you first begin doing this, and the critical you will immediately want to negate what you’ve just said as being contrary to your previous programming, but if you stick with it, say it like you mean it, and believe that it is possible, your life will be transformed by this one simple practice. Even more powerful, is when you write your affirmations down, put up sticky notes everywhere, and say those affirmations out loud as often as possible. You are supercharging your affirmation by including visual, auditory, and tactile re-training. The act of writing it down alone can get your brain to start processing the new belief and making it your new reality. As an added incentive, try creating a vision board, incorporating images and words that portray the kind of life you want and the dreams you’d like to see come true. I’ve been doing it for years, and trust me…this works!

Today’s Unlocked Secret: If you want to succeed in any area of your life, create positive affirmations and practice saying them every day. Before you know it, your dreams will become a reality.

So what do you think? Can you formulate an affirmation that clearly states the reality of what you want? Care to share it?

18 thoughts on “Affirmations and Good Things to Come”

  1. Now that is an progressive post Paula. I have done all of it, not necessarily in your posted order, but by the time you get to my age, and have had a few careers, marriages, kids, grandkids, well, you know. My latest . . . I just downloaded Scrivener, having experimented with it unsuccessfully sometime ago, I decided to go for the real deal, learn it, play with it, use it. I love working online, rather than paper story-boarding, organizing, and all those pieces and parts that become vulnerable to loss will get structured along with all those ideas, words, and sentences with the program. I am reviewing my WIP and need a bunch of boxes to put all those ideas popping into my head. Writing is an amazing, spirited endeavor. The more you write . . . the more you can write.

    1. So true, Gail, and good for you! It’s awesome to see you growing and learning, and trying something new:-)

      I’ve heard Scrivener is a super handy tool. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for stopping in.

  2. I’m in total agreement. I believe in positive affirmations as well. I also believe in taking it one step further by doing something to set the affirmation into motion in the Universe. I know it works, but tend to forget so thanks for the reminder, PJ.

  3. Love the post! Thanks so much, PJ, for sharing! I really like the one about speaking to a picture of yourself as a child–that is brilliant.
    I think that any I AM statement is extremely powerful when you’re working to shift your consciousness to a higher, more positive awareness. (lol, just read what I wrote and had to laugh at myself because I can totally see how hokie it could read to folks, lol)

    I’ve always liked short and too the point affirmations, like…
    I AM happy.
    I AM blessed.
    I AM a success.

    I’ve also found there’s a lot of positive mojo-jo-jo to be had when you write them, then say them out loud with your voice rising in intensity each time you do it. hehe, so now you know what I’m shouting when you see me alone in the truck driving out to the school to pick up the kidlet. ;-)

  4. I have used affirmations my whole life. They really do work. “If you believe, they will come.” isn’t that from the field of dreams. It’s true. I’ve owned Scriviner for over a year now and don’t have the time to learn it. I understand it’s a powerful tool once you do, but who has the time, I even took a course.

  5. Another informative and positive post, PJ! I’m usually pretty good with the affirmations…until I accidentally erase a manuscript page or smash my thumb with a hammer. Then I start in with the self-defamations. I have to admit, my language get’s much more creative with the defamations :-)

    1. LOL! I hear you, Tim. The older I get, the more my tolerance degrades and the more freely I use my dad’s favorite words:-) Of course when we were young he disguised them, but in his later years, he had no problem letting them fly…

  6. The line “Most of us have lots of “old tapes” playing in our heads from as far back as childhood” just hit the bull’s eye in my heart. Even though I’m at the lowest weight in the last 25 years, I can still hear my father… I won’t repeat what he said, but it’s something that still rings in my head, and something a parent should never say to their children, if they love them.

    I don’t do the affirmations like you describe them, but I do encourage myself every day with positive reinforcements. I might just go all the way and say them out loud to myself. Thanks for posting.

    1. You aren’t alone, Carole. We all carry the scars of childhood and see ourselves through the eyes of the imperfect people who raised us. One book that completely changed my perspective was THE FOUR AGREEMENTS by Don Miguel Ruiz. I highly recommend this book for promoting transormational thinking. It should be required high school reading.

  7. Hi PJ. Thanks for the post. It’s a good reminder for when we’re trudging along and feel like we’re barely keeping our head above the water. So my affirmations are: I am a bestselling author. I am a full time writer. :) Jordan

  8. PJ: thanks for the post! I’ve used affirmations for years, off and on. I recently went to a workshop given by author Ruth Miller who has modernized and revised the original book “The Game of Life and How to Play It,” by Florence Scovel Shinn. Ruth’s version, “The New Game of Life and How to Play It,” published by Atria Books, is an easy read and she also includes Florence’s original text, published in 1925. I currently have affirmations taped to my bathroom mirror (for health and prosperity). It helps to have that visual reminder for me.

    1. Thanks for the reference, Janet. I’ll check it out. The visuals help tremendously for me too. That’s why a vision board is so powerful. Those images of success and reading/saying the words out loud are the quickest way to circumvent our old belief system and create a new reality for ourselves. I change up the location of my post-its now and then so they don’t become “part of the wallpaper.”

Leave a Reply

