Writer on a Deadline

Hi folks, Sugar here. I’m on a deadline. Book three in The Perfect Fit series is due April first and copy edits for DANGEROUS CURVES AHEAD are due Friday.  I’m writing like a mad woman.

© Andylim | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images
© Andylim | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

For those of you who have been on a deadline before you know how harrowing they be. I can barely think about anything else. Must write. Must get the words out. Can’t screw this up.

This is how my last few days have been.

Thursday- Manage to squeak out 1000 words after work before I collapsed. But I got a quote from a New York Times Bestselling author.

“Sugar Jamison’s Dangerous Curves Ahead is a funny, sexy, and touching debut — just delightful!” —Susan Donovan, New York Times bestselling author. (Very happy about that.)

Friday- Snow day! Woot Woot! Dug out my car and wrote 3,450 words. Not too shabby, but started writing things like urned instead of earned. And fisrt, firts and frust instead of first. No bueno.

Saturday- Wrote a whopping three words. Yeah, I know. I should have done more but I had my local RWA chapter’s monthly meeting to attend so I got very little done. But I did manage to get through thirty pages of copy edits.

Sunday- Went grocery shopping at 7 AM which was previously 6 AM due to day light savings time and then spent the WHOLE day writing. Got out 7,308 words and then my brain melted. I’ve never written that much in one day, and I might never write that much again, but I’ve got a lot of work still ahead of me.

Monday- Back to work. Hopefully when the day is over I can go home and write till I drop.

How about you? How do you handle deadlines?

14 thoughts on “Writer on a Deadline”

  1. Sugar,
    i have no pity on you. You are a Saint Martin author, after all. But, man pumping out words when you feel like having some fun can be a real bummer. When I have deadline, my creativity goes bye bye, mt stomach clenches, and I can write a damn thing. You seem to be doing it. Bless you, honey.

  2. I’m right there with you Sugar. My edits were due at 8AM this morning. Last week I figured no problem. Had all weekend. Then I got sick.

    Bad move on my part. I did make my deadline, but my brain is so cloudy I have no idea if I was coherent.

    Lesson #1: Plan on life getting in the way. Don’t wait til the last minute. You never know what will happen in that last minute.

    Now I have two books to write. One due in June. One in August. I’m starting today.

    Congrats on a great review!!! The firt of many. ;) get it?

    1. Lol! My problem is that I started this book 6 months ago and was near the end before I realized that I wasn’t telling the story I wanted to tell so I had to go back to the drawing board. Oh well, I will get it done. I have no choice.

  3. Sometimes you just have to hunker down and get it done whether you feel like it or not (or if you are “inspired” or not). I also agree with Katy, always except something to pop up and get in your way! Good old Muprhy’s Law will get you every time. Personally, I hate to wait until the last minute to do anything because I don’t enjoy that panicky “gotta get it done” feeling. I usually impose a deadline (when it’s possible) of finishing weeks before something is due so I don’t have to be tormented later.

      1. I know you didn’t :) (I was thinking back to when I used to procrastinate all the time and it really stressed me out). And it’s a bummer that you had to start over, but I know your book will be fantastic!

  4. Like you, I’m under two deadlines right now. To handle them, I eat. Sheesh! I gain five pounds for every deadline. I’m writing till I drop, then getting up early to write more. I’ll cross my toes for you to meet your deadlines, even though I know you will! Congrats on the NYT author quote!

    1. I had to join weight watchers. I’ve gained five pounds from stress eating! I’m a teacher too. It’s hard to keep up! Hope you get your get your deadlines done.

Leave a Reply

