The First Thirty Thousand

Happy post-4th of July. Casey here.

Since it’s a long holiday weekend, this will be a short post.

IMG_2286

I’m trying a little experiment that is designed to make sure I’m always writing something. I am concurrently writing two books at the same time.

Generally, I switch every other day. Right now the word count averages 1200-2000 per day depending on how much time I have.

It’s working great at the moment. But something I’ve long suspected is being proved true.

The first thirty thousand words are killer!!

I’ve discovered that I need at least that long before I can really get into my character’s heads. It’s like a giant uphill slog to get the first 30k down on the page. Usually after that, I can pick up speed and the plot rolls forward from there.

I am not sure how much longer I can write two books at once, because I’m sure I’ll have to commit the mental power to one universe at a time. And, of course, I have to be careful not to mix the worlds up or have two books that “sound” alike.

Anyone have a similar experience with the first thirty thousand (or whatever the magic number is for you)? And have you tried writing multiple books at the same time?

5 thoughts on “The First Thirty Thousand”

  1. You are a brave soul, Casey. I haven’t tried writing two at once, although there are always at least two stories rolling around in my head at the same time. My character from 21 DAYS is still talking to me almost daily, but in the midst of plotting out the third book in the trilogy and working my day job, Ally is just going to have to wait her turn. I think if I wrote full time, I could definitely do it. As for the first 30k, that’s the funnest part of the book for me. I love introducing the characters and building the world. it’s when the book hits the sagging middle that the hair pulling begins. Good luck on your journey!

    1. I have that issue all the time – characters and story ideas talking to me while writing. There is actually a third book that I’m plotting but it just has to wait its turn!

    1. Thanks Gail. At some point I will have to choose a book and run with it. The world and the characters are very different – kind of like how you wouldn’t mistake your children for each other. :)

Leave a Reply

