Conference Time! by Vivienne Lynge

Hello!  Happy Saturday to you!  Vivienne Lynge here.  I’m so excited…the 2013 RWA National conference is just days away.  This will be the first year that I’m going.  I’ve been to a local, 1-day conference before which was good, but I’ve outgrown it.  It was a general “writing” conference, not something focused on romance.  RWA Nationals is a 5-day, jam-packed fiesta of wonderfulness.  Well, at least it looks that way from the schedule. 

Now, as you know, I’m a plotter, not a pantser when it comes to my writing.  Naturally, my plotting tendencies overflow into the rest of my life as well.  Except instead of ‘plotting’ we call it ‘planning’.  I love to plan.  About 6 weeks ago, I studied the huge schedule of daily seminars and made myself a spreadsheet of those things I’d like to attend.  Ooooh – I just saw that I can pre-print workshop materials…I’ll have to do that on Monday!

Today, I’ll dig out my luggage (I’ve already decided what pieces) and begin packing.  I love to pack (not for moving the house, but for trips).  Packing is a physical form of planning.  I’m a pretty low-maintenance kind of girl, so I’ll be trying to figure out the very minimum I can bring along and manage to get through a week.  Yes, I may resort to hand-washing a shirt in the hotel sink and hanging it up to dry.

There’s been a lot of chatter on Facebook about shoes.  How many pair is the right number?  Of course, I need a comfy, casual pair (will wear sneakers), I have fancier-than-usual flip flops, open toed mules for conference time and a dressier pair for the RITA gala.  So four.  I might skimp on shirts, but I’ll have 4 pair of shoes!  :)

Because this will also be the longest time that I’ve been away from Hubby deLuxe, Princess Second Grader, Jester and Minx, I learned how to Skype last night.  I need a little more practice, but that’s what the weekend is for. 

Today’s Secret: For me, the planning and anticipation of the event (and of course, purchasing needed supplies!) are as much fun as the event itself. 

How about you?  Do you like to travel?  Do you plan it out ahead of time, or just wing it?

4 thoughts on “Conference Time! by Vivienne Lynge”

  1. I’m so glad CTRWA will have such a showing at the conference. I think there will be a dozen or more of us there! I had four pairs of shoes packed and then Kristan Higgins mentioned she had eight pairs…eight! I didn’t feel so bad about packing that fifth pair:-) It’s good that you are planning your agenda ahead of time. The sheer magnitude of the amazing workshops available can be overwhelming. You can’t possibly do all the fun stuff that will be happening but make sure you carve out some down time or you will definitely run yourself ragged trying. Can’t wait to see you all there!

  2. It is good to plan, but even so, there are always those last second, “oh, I better take this or that.” We just came back from Chicago, so my plan is still in place. Isn’t it fantastic that so many of us will be there? Especially at the ice cream social… did you sign up? RWA is having an intro for first time attendees. You’ll see me there. Can’t wait, I know the conference will be awe inspiring and fun-filled work, or should I say work-filled fun? Either way, I’ll see you all there.

Leave a Reply

