Harvest Fair is Here!

PJ Sharon here. After record breaking temps the past week here in New England, followed by a rainy, wet and seasonably chilly weekend, I’m hoping for something in between for next weekend’s Granville Harvest Fair. If you’ve never been, it’s a wonderful time. The leaf peeping is superior this year and will be in full show this coming week. You won’t want to miss it.

Granville, Massachusetts is one of those idyllic little towns in the foothills of the Berkshires, the perfect place to celebrate autumn and harvest time. Granville Country storeCentered in front of the Granville Country Store—world famous for their outstanding homemade cheeses—several hundred vendors set up tents and show their wares. This is one of the best fall fairs in New England in my opinion. There’s everything from crafts and pottery, to hand crafted jewelry and woodworking. They have face painting for the kids, a pumpkin contest, and a free bus ride up to the top of the hill where you can enjoy apple cider and baked goods at the orchard, and see the magnificent quilts hanging up at the Old Town Meeting House. The little ones love the scarecrow and tractor display, and there’s nothing like a piece of warm apple pie with a slice of Granville country cheddar cheese on top and a cup of cider. My mouth is watering already!

As for me, I’ll be sharing a tent with J Monkeys, and signing books down in front of the library, right across from the country store.  You have to try some of their homemade pies and cheese bread…yum! I hope if you’re in the area, you’ll stop by and say hello. I’ll need someone to bring me a piece of pie.

Anyone in the area going? Are there other harvest fairs you’ve been to? Traditions you love this time of year?

3 thoughts on “Harvest Fair is Here!”

  1. Hope you two sell a squillion books! I like cheese on my apple pie too–my husband likes ice cream on his. Recipe for marital conflict, LOL! I love, love, love me a country fair. The crafts, the food, the fun family atmosphere, they’re a throwback to a simpler, nicer time and I always come away with positive energy–and a few more handmade or home cooked items than I came in with. Here’s hoping for a lovely weekend!

  2. Thanks, Suze! I agree about the simpler times a country fair invokes. It’s a time for tradition, personal interaction with family and neighbors, and everyone comes away smiling. Hope to see you there:-)

  3. Well, did you sell a million? I love those fairs, and not only for the delicious foods and baked goods, but also for the unusual crafts. You get to see the best of the best home made stuff. So much fun. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

