Carole Brown Visits and Brings Her Latest Suspense and Raffle for $200 at Amazon

What would you do to avenge the murder of a daughter?

Carole Brown’s latest book, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman, asks this veryThe Redemption of Caralynne Hayman question.

Caralynne Hayman is angry and bitter over the abuse and death of her eleven-year-old daughter at the hands of a radical religious cult—The Children of Righteous Cain. So when her husband, a founding member of the cult, suffers a massive heart attack, Caralynne allows her husband to die.

Caralynne’s secret seems safe until Dayne MacFarland returns, determined to learn the truth about the cult. His investigation and his rekindled love for Caralynne lead the pair toward a confrontation with the group’s elders.

Can Dayne’s love for Caralynne bridge the gulf of anger and bitterness that divides the community? Or will Caralynne’s deadly secrets prove too high a price for her redemption?

carole180Carole Brown is an ACFW Genesis semi-finalist. She’s also served as a newspaper reporter, an editor of journals and newsletters, and an author of research manuscripts. Widely traveled, she continues to enjoy traveling with her husband and family. When not penning her own novels, she mentors beginning writers and serves as coordinator of the American Christian Fiction Writers’ Ohio chapter.

And the Scribes are excited to have her with us today! Please stay with us to learn how you can enter to win a $200 Amazon Gift card! You don’t want to miss out!

Now, Carole, please tell us three random things we might not know about you.

– I’m addicted to pictures; that’s why I have to limit myself on Pinterest. J

– I was within feet of meeting President Reagan years ago.

– I have two adopted grandsons, one adopted niece, and one adopted nephew (plus several friends who’ve adopted). We believe in sharing love to children!

Please tell us a bit more about the plot of your novel.

Caralynne Hayman is angry and bitter over the abuse and death of her eleven-year-old daughter from the hands of her religious group, The Children of Righteous Cain. When her husband suffers a sudden heart attack, she does nothing to help him. In her eyes someone needs to pay, and if that means all of the men in the group, then so be it.

Dayne MacFarland is sent away to college by the senior elder of the group to learn ministry. When he returns after finding salvation, determined to bring the truth to the people he’s known all his life, he rediscovers Cara and realizes the love he once felt for her is still deeply embedded within his heart.

Dayne faces men unwilling to turn their backs on the cult training he despises. Cara faces men who follow their leader in abuse toward their wives and the young girls of the group. Cara is considered rebellious and inappropriate to befriend. Dayne is the apple of Elder Simmons’ eye—until he takes a stand against their teachings.

Can Cara overcome the feelings that have governed her most of her life? Can she learn to trust Dayne, and most of all a God whom she sees as uncaring—if he’s really there at all? Only Dayne’s prayers and love can reach Cara and show her the way to redemption, and Cara must recognize and accept God’s love and forgiveness before she goes too far.

What is it about your lead character(s) that will make your readers care about her/him?

Caralynne is a very caring person, a loving mother who adores her daughters and also a bitter and angry woman trapped in an abusive cult. Most people in an abusive situation can not get out without a tremendous lot of sympathy, encouragement, and support. They are bound by the abusive leader (husband, head figure, minister, whoever) who uses threats of disloyalty, low self-esteem issues, and fear on their member(s)/partner(s). I would hope anyone who reads my novel will take away a greater determination to be active in helping those who are suffering from those situations.

What is the last novel you read that you would recommend and why?

Soldier’s Heart by Tamera Kraft. It’s a wonderful and interesting take on the Civil War era, and Kraft does a great job of bringing her strong and real characters alive.

What is your guilty pleasure? 

Hmmm. Seriously, not sure I have one. I share “almost” everything with the love of my life–my husband Dan. We’ve gone through so much and done so much together. J

What is the craziest thing you have ever done?

Lol. We’ve experienced many things in our life, traveled so much, and enjoyed lots of wonderful places and met many new friends, but I’m a fairly safe person. Love creating crazy things in books and scary events for characters, but unless it’s for research and very necessary I leave the crazy stunts up to my husband, sons and now my grandsons!

What are you working on now?

Several things, but one is the sequel to The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. Here’s a brief possible blurb:

It begins with a baby kidnapping. Elder Simmons, the antagonist, will not let go. He is determined to wreck vengence upon the MacFarlands, even if he has to do it from prison.

Cara and Dayne, now happily married, go through trials that will shatter their self-complacency and test their love. Dayne will be lied about and like Joseph in the Bible must hold steady for God’s timing. Cara has suffered hurts and abuse from her former marriage. With Dayne she thought everything would be smooth sailing. But when the lies surface, can she trust him, does she love him enough to stay strong for his sake? Will her mustard seed faith grow or be uprooted?

And on a lighter note: I’m also trying to complete a fun, light suspense set in the late 1800s and entitled Caleb’s Destiny. Destiny Rose is the most fun, crazy, drive-you-mad character I’ve created yet who’s determined to have her own way. Headed west for her own private reasons, she’s set plunk-dab in the middle of a gold fight, a lost man search, and the arms of one of the biggest and most aggravating men she’s ever met. Will her traitorous heart be loyal to the vague memory of the man she’s betrothed to back in Boston, or will Michael McGallagher win her heart?

Where else can readers find you online?

Readers can connect with me here:

Personal blog: http://sunnebnkwrtr.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaroleBrown.author

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/browncarole212

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/sunnywrtr/boards/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5237997-carole-brown

I also am part of several other blogs:

Stitches in Time:  http://stitchesthrutime.blogspot.com/

Barn Door Book Loft: http://www.barndoorbookloft.net/

Finally, what question would you like to ask my readers?

Could you forgive the murder of a child? It’s easy to say: I would do this or that when faced with a serious or dangerous situation. But would we really? Would you be able to forgive? I contend that without God it’s almost impossible. You?

For a chance to win a $200 Amazon gift card, between December 1 and December 16, 2013, enter the John 3:16 Marketing Network Rafflecopter drawing at: http://bit.ly/Christian_Books

To purchase The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman now, go to: Kindle:  http://amzn.to/17gf97c

Book Launch

7 thoughts on “Carole Brown Visits and Brings Her Latest Suspense and Raffle for $200 at Amazon”

  1. Welcome to the Scribes, Carole. The book sounds fascinating and I think you’re right; without God, that kind of forgiveness could not be found in the average human heart. The death of a child is tragic, but having their lives stolen is a wound that few parents could cope with. I’m thankful that God has shown me a way toward forgiveness in my own life for affronts that are much less grave, but that would be a test no one would want to face. I have found that forgiveness is a choice that we sometimes have to make again and again until it “sticks”.

    Having come out of a marriage to a minister who repeatedly used guilt, manipulation, and intimidation to exert control, I understand the difficulties of escaping a “cult-like” situation, and how even the strongest of us can get sucked in when people twist God’s word to meet their own agenda. The thing that got me through it and helped me move out of that situation was when I finally admitted to God that I couldn’t do what I thought he was asking of me–which was to stay. When I heard loud and clear the words “I LOVE YOU ANYWAY”, I realized that leaving my marriage was not the end of my relationship with God. It was self-preservation. By trusting that He would never abandon me, no matter what, I was able to find the strength to break free and have found many amazing blessings in my life since.

  2. Carole, thank you for visiting the Scribes. Your writing sounds fascinating. Blessings for your historic writing. You are in the midst of the same era of my historic writing.

  3. This book about Caralynn is heartbreaking but a great book. I would recommend it to everyone. We need to learn of these things so we can find a way to support these people who have organized groups to try to help people like this get out and give them support as they adjust to a new life. With GOD’s help people are finding help. Carole is a great author. Brings you right into the story where you want to help these people and see those in charge to be sent to prison.
    Maxie Anderson

  4. I forgot to answer the question. To forgive the murder of your child would be almost impossible. I’m not sure what I would do. We think we know but it hasn’t happened to us. If it did, it would it would be after a long, long talk with GOD. I know we are told to forgive, but this would be a horrible test. Maxie

  5. Loved all your answers, ladies, and I would be the first to admit, it would be extremely hard to forgive. As much as I love my two sons and now my grandsons, I would have to throw myself into the merciful arms of God to realize even a portion of the forgiveness I would have to have.

    Thank you, Lisa and Maxie, for the wonderful words of praise!

    Gailingis, it’s wonderful to find new fellow authors, isn’t it?

    PJ Sharon, that manipulation of guilt is one of the strongest used against the abused. My heart goes out to you for what you had to go thru, but so glad you found the strength to take the measures you needed for survival and your life journey. My prayer is God will continue to bless you in a special way!

Leave a Reply

