Welcome 2014!

Hi All,

Jennifer here.  HAPPY NEW YEAR!

This year, we spent our first holiday in Florida, making new friends and new traditions.  A new tradition our family started was to declare our new years resolution at the Christmas dinner table. My mom’s husband Karl said, “if we tell our resolutions, we’ll all be there to make sure we keep them on track.”  A nice idea, I thought.  So, we did.

Karl said, his resolution was to give up eating potato chips, while my mom resolved to play more golf. I gave the obligatory “finish the damn book” speech, while my husband spewed the cliche of losing weight.  Jacob, my 6-year-old, said he wanted his yellow belt in karate.

So, there they were, our resolutions out for all to see, and to hold us to.

I thought here at the Scribes that declaring our resolutions on the blog may be a good thing to do as well. We’re like family. We can all list what we hope to change, quit, finish, and do then check back at the end of 2014 and see if we did it.

So, who’s with me?  Go ahead, leave your resolution in the comment box and I’ll check back at the end of the year and write a post about all those resolutions and we can see how we did.

2014

5 thoughts on “Welcome 2014!”

  1. Excellent idea, Jennifer. I’m not really big on “resolutions” since I find that any major change I try to write in stone tends to fall quickly by the wayside. My brain rebels against “have to’s” and sees them as the enemy, thus setting me up for failure. i do, however, LOVE to set goals. This is the time of year that I set my yearly, quarterly, and monthly goals, hoping to achieve them all and stay on track, but knowing that they are merely an outline for success. Kind of like outlining a novel. I lay down the skeleton of the story and everything that happens in between the bones as I’m writing unfolds naturally and leads me to adjust the story line as I go. It keeps the door open for opportunities I might not have envisioned and allows for the creative energies in the Universe to have their way:-)

    A few of my big “goals” for 2014:
    1) Publish two books this year (possibly becoming a hybrid author in the process if all the stars align).
    2) Be in the best shape of my life at 50 (I’m almost there!)
    3) Spend more time with friends, family, and nature, and less time glued to technology:-)

    Have a happy and healthy New Year, my friend!

  2. Here’s what I want my 2014 to look like: (1) the year I finally took charge of my health; and (2) the year I became a professional writer. Technically, I became a professional in 2013 when I got paid my advance (my definition of professional–yours may differ!), but it hasn’t felt very real to me yet. So in 2014 I’m going to own it!

  3. I have never in my life made a resolution. Resolutions for me are recipes for failure. If I want to see something changed, then I work on it when I am inspired. But honestly, I think Sugar has the right idea!!!

    Have a great, wonderful, happy new year. And good luck with those resolutions.

Leave a Reply

