Getting Lucky

EDITED TO ADD:   WE HAVE A WINNER!  JOY, PLEASE GO TO THE “CONTACT US” TAB AND SEND ME YOUR ADDRESS.  LET ME KNOW WHETHER YOU PREFER ‘BUCKS OR DUNKIE’S, OR IF YOU WANT ME TO SEND YOU YOUR PRIZE IN PENNIES — ALL HEADS UP, OF COURSE.  CONGRATULATIONS!

Happy 7/7, Scribe fans!  Susannah here.  Today is a special day for the 7 Scribes, so I think it’s only fitting that I make it a special day for our fans, too.  Check the end of this post for details.  No cheating!  Please read the whole post 🙂

The number 7 is generally considered lucky.   According to folklore, the seventh son of a seventh son has healing powers.  The seventh daughter of a seventh daughter has the gift of second sight.  (In addition to some really big family reunions).

As for me, personally, the number 7 is also significant.  My dad, who was probably the world’s biggest Yankees fan, was also probably the world’s biggest Mickey Mantle fan.  Dad always wore #7 on his softball jerseys in Mickey’s honor.   I grew up at #77 Grove Street.  I have 3 sisters and a brother, so adding in my parents I come from a family of 7.   It seems only fitting that I am now part of the amazing group known as the 7 Scribes.

Now for the surprise.  Tell us about your lucky number, or some other thing you consider lucky.   One commenter chosen at random will win a $7.77 gift card to Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts, winner’s choice.

So tell us — Do you feel lucky?  Well, do ya?

11 thoughts on “Getting Lucky”

  1. I am the youngest of 7 children, and although I’m not a seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, most who know me would say that I’m freakishly intuitive. LOL

    I loved this post, Jane! You are very clever. I can’t wait to read your short story when it comes to the scribe site. I’m sure a mystery will be involved.

  2. Pennies are my lucky staple. I can’t resist picking one up if it’s on heads. If on tails, I avoid it like the plague. It’s a silly little superstition I know, but what can I say I’m a paranormal fan!

    Great lighthearted blog!

  3. my lucky number is 18 everything happended at 18 went to ca was pregnant graduated got a house even got married

  4. Fun post. My lucky number is 13. Let’s just hope it doesn’t take 13 years and 13 MS to get published! :0)

  5. Sure, number 7 is a great number, like your blog. Fun. Number 7 is one of perfection. God created the world in 6 days and rested on the 7th. He tells us to rotate crops every 7 years to keep the ground fertile. He gave Abraham 7 blessings, and to me he gave blessings with my 2nd husband who gives me joy 7 days of the week, year, forever and ever and ever. And to nature and to music In the creative works of God, seven completes the colors of the spectrum and rainbow, and satisfies in music the notes of the scale. In each of these the eighth is only a repetition of the first. We are truly all blessed in the perfect number of seven.

  6. My lucky number is 2. It is because I have 2 boys. One born 2/27, the other 9/2. I thought that 7/7/11 sounded lucky, so I bought 2 lottery tickets and won $25!!! I never thought about the significance of the number 7 in our family until you pointed it out, Jane. Maybe I will have to reconsider number 2.

  7. My lucky number is 15. I can’t remember when it started, but when we were trying to get pregnant, I went to the doctor’s office to see if the treatment had worked, and I was 15 on the sign in sheet. I knew right then the answer was going to be yes! Of course my now five year old wants to take over the world, but that’s another matter. Maybe in 2015? I also got my “call” email on that date in January this year. Ironically, my book came out on the 7th though! So 7 and 15 must be good for me.

Leave a Reply

