That’s Quite a Fortune, Cookie!

Hi!  J here.  I had Chinese Food for lunch yesterday with my twins.  They are 3 years old and can’t read yet, so I opened all the cookies and read the fortunes.  Now I think that in the rules of fortune cookies, that means that all the fortunes are really for me, even if other people ate the cookies. 

Bearing in mind that I’m a newly published author, following my life-long dream of being a writer, doing it on my own the Indie Pub route, writing, editing, publishing, marketing, and selling, get a load of these fortunes.

  1. Right now there’s an energy pushing you to stay on your path.
  2. New and rewarding opportunities will soon develop for you.
  3. Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

Seriously?  Is the universe sending me a message here?  Because there is an energy pushing me to stay on my lonely, bushwacking-it-myself path.  And I truly believe that new and rewarding opportunities are coming my way.  And hello!  Creating characters is my destiny!

Now I know, some person out there is going to say, J – cookie fortunes are written intentionally vague so that they apply to everybody.  Duh!  I didn’t realize that, ’cause I fell off the turnip truck yesterday. 

But, I’m a strong believer in Karma.  If you put good things out there, good things will come your way.  You reap what you sow.  Believe it and achieve it.  Power of positive thinking.  To me, that’s a lot of stuff, coming from different areas that means the same thing.   And somehow, both the ideas of destiny and free will co-exist in my mind in a harmonious way that I could never explain, even to myself. 

So who’s to say that those fortunes weren’t meant for me?  There were other cookies on the table and these were the ones that my sons and I picked.  Universe, I thank for the tasty little reminders to stay the course. 

Today’s Secret: Inspiration and motivation go hand-in-hand and can be found anywhere, if you just look and choose to believe. 

Hit me back: What kind of odd whisperings have you had in your ear about your dreams?

6 thoughts on “That’s Quite a Fortune, Cookie!”

  1. J, I love this post!! I do the same thing. And I do believe that destiny and free will exist at the same time. I’m glad I’m not the only one!

    I have fortunes tucked in odd places. These are from my wallet –

    Act as if it were impossible to fail.

    If you live out of your imagination, you live out of your potential.

    ‘Nuff said!

  2. I definitely believe in Karma and I see signs of God’s hand in my life all the time. Mostly in the form of people and opportunities that show up exactly when I need them. It’s so easy to get overwhelmed and off track in this world, but I’m constantly reminded by all the little miracles in my day that I am not alone on this journey and that I have all that I need in this moment.
    Thanks for the affirmations!

  3. J, I desperately needed this post today, which just goes to prove Paula’s point that the things we need appear, so long as we are wise and trusting enough to receive the message. Time to get out my audio copy of The Secret by Rhonda Byrne and listen all the way through again. Thank you!

  4. I have found these kinds of things do happen when I most need them…I choose to believe that there is a reason behind it…

  5. We have what we need when we need it. No need to worry.

    When I teach the children at church this topic, I have them wear bike helmets, and I label ping pong balls with all kinds of things we worry about. So many things we stress about in our day-to-day lives. Then I throw the balls at them. They see how the balls bounce off. That is how God wants us to live. No worries. He’s got it all taken care of.

  6. I do believe in Karma. Those cookies are telling you something. No such thing as luck. Everything falls into place, all you have to do is pray, persist and believe. Right?
    Katy, do you really throw the balls at them. What fun, what a demo, do they get it?

Leave a Reply

