Word of Mouth – Power to the People

Happy Friday! Casey Wyatt here.

Today’s topic is good, old-fashioned word of mouth. Like any avid reader, when I find a book I really like, I want to tell all my friends about it. I believe that word of mouth is still a powerful force in the book reading world.

Many of my favorite books were suggested to me by someone else. A few examples: The Lord of the Rings given to me by my cousin when I was fourteen. I loved them! I still own that original boxed set. Another is Garden Spells by Sara Addison Allen, a magical romance about love and family. And a children’s book about a boy wizard, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, ’nuff said there.

In the spirit of passing on a good read, I’d like to share one with you. Recently, I had the pleasure of reading a fantastic contemporary romance – Beauty and the Feast by Julia Barrett. This book has it all, great food, sizzling sex scenes and engaging characters.

Sparks fly when Eva Raines, a country girl with killer cooking skills, is hired by wealthy entrepreneur and philanthropist, Gabriel Abbott. He is quickly seduced by her amazing culinary creations. Eva, eqaully smitten, is a bit overwhelmed by the handsome man’s interest in her.

Once I started reading this book, I couldn’t put it down. The sex is hot and had me squirming in my seat (so adults only, please). If you’re looking for a romance with spicy scenes, witty dialogue, and a heartwarming plot, this is the book for you. Check it out!

What good books have you read lately? And what initially drew you to pick up that book in the first place (word of mouth, the cover, the blurb)?

13 thoughts on “Word of Mouth – Power to the People”

  1. I’m currently reading DRINKING CLOSER TO HOME, by Jessica Anya Blau. It was recommended to me by my friend Myrna who said it reminded her of all the crazy stories I’ve told her about my youth. The author paints a hilarious and poignant picture of a dysfunctional family with lively characters and rib-splitting scenarios that are bringing back memories that I’m happy to say I can finally laugh about.
    I agree that word of mouth is still king when it comes to the ultimate success of a book.

  2. I devoured The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins! I’m excited to read the sequel, but I’m forcing myself to finish writing The Peacock Tale first. Catching Fire will be my reward once I’m done.

  3. I just read the whole SONG OF ICE AND FIRE series by George R.R. Martin. I picked it up because I was intrigued by the HBO trailers for A GAME OF THRONES, which is based on the first book in the series.

  4. My friend and I are crazy readers between us we have read thousands of romance novels. We don’t even talk about books any more everytime we see each other we just hand each other a big bag of books. Through her I have found some of my favorite authors.

  5. Like J, I just finished The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I also read Catching Fire and Mockingjay. I adored these books! I probably wouldn’t have read them except for some glowing word of mouth recommendations at a meeting of our local RWA chapter. I also recently finished and loved Julia Quinn’s Just Like Heaven. I was never a huge fan of historical romance until our own J introduced me to JQ. If a friend or colleague recommends a book, I am very likely to check it ou.

  6. Thanks for passing on ‘words’ about Beauty and the Feast! I love getting recs. I’ve been telling everyone I know that if they haven’t read at least the first three books in the George R.R. Martin series, A Song of Fire and Ice, they are really missing out!

  7. I finished reading Acension by Caris Roane. Good book. Hot, steamy, lots of action and danger. I picked it up after I saw the cover. A vampire with angel’s wings. Although I’m a book store’s worst critique. I’m guilty of perusing the first chapter before buying.

Leave a Reply

