Learning from the Experts

Hey ~ V here.  Happy Wednesday to you and yours.  We are starting to do something new here at the scribes.  We are doing some author interviews.  You probably already saw Sandra Orchard‘s interview on 9-11-11, Jo Ramsey‘s interview yesterday, and we’ve got a bunch more in the hopper over the next few months. 

Let me tell you why these interviews are so exciting.  We’ve recently developed a standard list of questions to ask our interviewees.  Now, not every author will answer all the questions, so there will be some great variety, but we wanted to get a sense of how these authors got to where they are, how their writing developed and who they are beyond the blurb on the back of their books.  I think it’s going to be really fun and will give us all great ideas about how to develop our own writing and careers as authors.

I can’t tell you who we’ve got lined up yet, but believe me, we’ve got some doozies coming!  I’m so excited ~ I want to tell…no, let’s let it be a surprise. 

Today’s Secret: There is a lot we can learn from other authors.  Both what to do and what not to do.

Today’s Question: Are there authors out there that you’d be especially interested in hearing from?  Maybe we can make some magic!

11 thoughts on “Learning from the Experts”

  1. I’m super excited about our up coming guests and my lips are sealed so no worries about me blabbing (I’ve been known to blab, but I’ll resist).

    i would love to have Diana Gabaldon show up but I’m probably dreaming. I guess we won’t know if we don’t ask…hmmm…I did get to meet her at Nationals this summer…I wonder…maybe I’ll drop her an e-mail.

  2. Not only do we have some FABULOUS author interviews coming up (I just got goosebumps!), but we’ve got some other really fun stuff planned for October, November and December. If you thought this was a blog just about writing, think again!

  3. What a cool idea. Glad that the scribes are interviewing. Hopefully you will interview new authors as well. 🙂

    I’ve learned so much from FF&P and RWA. Happy to say I’ve finally found my voice. And I owe my development to the encouragement and critique of other authors. My WIP wouldn’t be the way it is today if I hadn’t joined these two groups. Thanks for the post.

    1. Nice to see you Joy! Thanks for stopping by. Rest assured, our sights are set on all kinds of authors both newer and established. And the RWA and FF&P are totally awesome resources!

Leave a Reply

