Julia Rachel Barrett – Ghostly Love

Happy Freakish Friday everyone! Casey Wyatt here.

Please welcome today’s guest  Julia Rachel Barrett.  If you haven’t read any of Julia’s books, you are missing out on some great reads. Click here to read my review of her book Beauty and the Feast.

 And in  the spirit of our  Spooky Week theme – please check out her ghostly love story Incorporeal.

Let’s here what Julia has to say about romance.

****

Why Write? 

Perhaps the better question is, why not? I have a spotty history in the world of literature. Like so many readers, I knew I wanted to be a writer from the time I was very young, maybe five or six years old. Here’s a truism, if you love to tell stories, to make up stories in your head, you probably love to read and chances are you’d like to write.

It’s not as simple as it seems and a lot depends upon what your goals are. Do you want to sell a whole lot of books? I suspect anybody can sell bunches of books if the subject matter is prurient enough. Do you want to be a damn good writer? Takes work.

A Tale of Ghostly Love

How did I begin? I began by reading everything in sight, in every genre available to me. My early loves were poetry, mystery stories, fantasy/science fiction, and even comic books. Don’t laugh. Comic books are great for learning economy of words. The creator has to express an emotion and move a story forward in very few words. Of course comics also contain expressive action words like Pow! Bam! Smack! Crash!

I moved from poetry to short stories – which are making a comeback with the advent of e-publishing – to nonfiction articles for nursing and medical journals to literary fiction. Aside from freelance articles, finding a publisher for my works of fiction was an exercise in futility. I queried agents and publishers for too many years without results. While I was raising small children and working part time, I filed the manuscripts away and focused on my job as a hospice nurse.

Smokin’ Hot Good Read

In 2007 I found myself sidelined by a climbing injury…tore my left knee up pretty bad. For a year I either wore a titanium brace or used crutches while researching surgeons and then waiting for the surgeon I chose to fit me in for a repair. A friend took pity on me and brought me a romance novel – Kill and Tell, by Linda Howard, and I was hooked. I had always dismissed romance as ‘bodice rippers’ and it was one genre I ignored. Linda Howard told a damn good sexy story. I went on to read everything she’d written up to that point and moved on to Karen Marie Moning, then Hannah Howell and Lynsay Sands. I realized that with the life I’d lived, I had stories to tell, romantic stories, gripping, touching, loving stories, and I wrote my first romance.

Never looked back. Now I look forward to a brave new world of self-publishing. I can revise and release the series of short stories I worked so hard on years ago. In the meantime I have a full-length paranormal romance available on Kindle, Incorporeal, and I’ll soon release the sequel, In the Flesh. I have nine romances out to date with publishers in ebook and print and I’ve self-published another five books in a variety of genres and lengths.

Coming soon!

Come visit me anytime on my site – Julia’s Worldhttp://juliarachelbarrett.net

Thanks for having me, Casey!

Any time Julia. Thanks for being our guest today. Please feel free to leave Julia a question.

Tell us, what are your writing goals? And why do you write? And for our readers, what are you looking for when you choose your next book?

23 thoughts on “Julia Rachel Barrett – Ghostly Love”

  1. So glad you’re here with us, Julia. Inspiring story of your journey.

    My writing goals are too numerous to list here, but suffice it to say, my most immediate one is to finish revisions on my December release, ON THIN ICE. Still much work to do in the next few weeks to pull that together. I have a rough production schedule for the next year so I’ll be busy, busy, busy, writing my little fingers off, but I’m excited by the new world of indie-publishing.

    Can you give me your best and worst marketing tips, Julia. What has worked? What hasn’t?

    1. Hi P J. Nice title and congrats!
      Biggest waste of money? Paid advertising. I don’t care how much the ads are discounted, I’ve never made more than a couple sales off advertising.
      Best marketing? Get your ARCs (advance review copies) in the hands of some popular reviewers who enjoy books in your particular genre – and establish a good relationship with other authors and book bloggers. Other authors can be your biggest promoters and your strongest support system.
      Be polite, answer emails and comments and check out people who check you out. Quid pro quo.
      Get a twitter account, but use it for conversation – get to know people. The “buy my book” “buy my book” routine turns people off.
      Hope that’s helpful.

  2. Writing is tough work. I would add, don’t be afraid to change genres. Just as we don’t eat tuna every day, sometimes working in a new genre will give us a new perspective.

    1. Anny – I struggle with this one. I change genres all the time, because that’s me. I would be bored to tears eating tuna every day. Some authors do believe that in order to sell you must be branded – write only in one genre and if you switch genres, get another pen name. I just can’t see it, at least not for myself.

  3. My writing goals are to finish revisions and get the book to the editor. 😉 After that, I have one novella that needs finishing and one that’s in revisions. After that, well….there’s always something in the works. 😉 As for reading, oh there’s always something on the top of the TBR list. 🙂 Good luck with In the Flesh, Julia!

  4. Hi Julia,
    Thank you for sharing with us. Much like you, I knew from a very early age that I wanted to write. Why I waited to begin doing so is beyond me. It does take hard work and I have found you must develop thick skin.

    1. One word – ADD! Maybe that’s three. I’m easily distracted. Whatever flies through my brain becomes a story. Actually, I just have a lot of stories in my brain and then I write them down. I don’t think too much about genre.
      Covers. I’ve started figuring them out for myself. Lex at Winterheart Designs puts them together for me. I look for unusual artwork.
      A graphic artist, who prefers to remain anonymous, gave me the cover to Incorporeal for my birthday!

  5. The titles of these books are fabulous, Julia! And the covers ain’t bad either! Any tips for creating great titles? Titles and covers are, IMHO, the most important factors in getting someone to buy your book. First impressions are everything.

    1. My titles come from my story. Like Anytime Darlin’. Comes from the story. So does My Everything. If you read Incorporeal you’ll see where that title comes from. Beauty and the Feast is all about the sensual nature of food, and love, of course.
      I could not agree more about covers. That first impression can make the difference between selling and not selling. With a pub, you don’t get to choose your cover. With indie publishing, I get to choose or make my own cover. I much prefer designing my own cover.

    1. Hmmm. My self-pub sales have been slow but steady. My second royalty check from Amazon was twice my first – I’ve been through two royalty cycles now.
      My sales with Siren Bookstrand, despite the fact that I am not up there in the hot zone, are consistent. I’ve been very pleased with the sales via that pub.
      So I guess I’d say that aside from Siren, I’m happier self-pubbing. I plan to continue to submit the occasional work to Siren because they are wonderful to work with and sales are quite good. Excellent question.

  6. Thanks for a visit Julie. I enjoyed reading your story and appreciate your advise. My goal is to finish my manuscript, then we’ll see. One tiny step at a time. Thanks for asking.

    1. You’re welcome. Yes, finish the manuscript. I tend to be impatient and I have to remind myself that books are not written in an afternoon. I have to let the story unfold at its own pace. One step at a time. Thanks, Gail.

Leave a Reply

