I Dream of a Miracle

Hello, everybody. Suze here filling in for Viv.  For all of you New Englanders currently without power (and that includes me and most of the Scribes), here’s hoping you get your juice back soon!  Start worshipping the Electricity Goddess, wouldja? (I’d give my queendom for a hot shower!)  The storm has thrown us all a bit of a curve, so we’re switching up.  Viv will be back next week, but in the meantime we’re running this vintage post of J‘s.  With all this cold and snow, and hockey season approaching, read on! 

This post is inspired by a movie: Miracle, starring Kurt Russell (dreamy even in appalling 1979 plaid pants) is a movie about the 1980 US Olympic Hockey team.  Have you seen it?  If not, rent it! 

He's cute here, but keep reading!

Now I was not quite 10 years old in February of 1980 and I lived in a house of women.  We were not sports fans – at all.  We certainly were not fans of a brutal sport like hockey.  Tales of this famous team came to me in an odd fashion.  I had a boss back in the early 1990’s who was a small man with a HUGE personality.  I didn’t know much about him personally, but I did know that he played hockey in his spare time.  On his office wall, he had a big, framed picture of a hockey team.  I once asked him if that was his team.  His jaw dropped and he looked at me as if I had just asked him if a picture of Bob Marley was Jimmy Hendrix (this actually happened to me in college – I wasn’t very worldly in the 1990’s).  You know the look, the one where you are talking to someone and you say something and they wonder if you might be from another planet all together.  Or how you’ve lived this long with your head buried in the sand.  I used to get that look a lot. 

Suze prefers Kurt Russell in Bad Boy, Rather than Bad Haircut, Mode
Anyway, Brian The Boss said in a gentle voice suitable for calming skittish horses, “No, that’s the 1980 Olympic Hockey Team.  They beat the Russians…”  OK, so I might be giving away the ending of the movie here, but it’s kinda like the end of Titanic – you know going into it that the boat is gonna sink.

So, until Miracle came out, I didn’t know anything more about the 1980 US Olympic Hockey team.  But I’ve seen it several times recently.  In 1980 (big cold war days filled with troublesome happenings in the US including Iranian hostages, high gas prices and a bad economy) the Soviet hockey team hadn’t been beaten in 20 years and had spanked the US NHL All Star team regularly.  A bunch of 21-year-old kids from rival hockey towns worked harder to build a team than anybody thought was possible.  They had a goal and they wanted it badly.  They didn’t let the nay-sayers, and there were lots of them, get in their way.  They identified the strengths of their opponents and worked to take on those qualities themselves.  They ran drill after drill after drill and practiced play after play.  They stayed focused and fought to achieve their dream.

Does any of this seem familiar to you?  It does to me.  I want to be a best-selling author and I want it badly.  For most people this is an impossible dream.  But, I’m willing to work hard to get it.  I will write the stories I want to write.  I’ll become a marketing expert to push my books out there.  And a publishing expert, as well.  I’ll make my way down every avenue I can find to reach my dream.  I will ignore the nay-sayers and focus on my goals.  And when I beat my personal Soviets to join the Stephenie Meyers, Mary Pope Osbornes and Rick Riordans of the world, I will take a moment to enjoy my reflection in the gold medal achievement.   That’s today’s secret.

What’s your dream?

11 thoughts on “I Dream of a Miracle”

  1. Love this analogy! As a kid, I dreamed of Olympic figure skating Gold, but when my mom got cancer when I was twelve, that dream quickly faded into the pressures of surviving one day at a time in a very long and stressful battle. I continued to skate and eventually turned pro and taught for many years, enjoying the gift of sharing my skills with kids who might one day achieve that same Olympic goal. (Craig Jannie was in my first power skating class and went on to play for the NHL). Even though I didn’t achieve Olympic Gold, I grew new dreams and learned some amazing lessons from my experiences as a skater.

    I ‘ve also learned to not pin all my hopes on a dream, but to live in the moment and enjoy the ride (thanks Mom for that gift). So even if I don’t become a best selling author, the ability to share my stories (My December release, ON THIN ICE is about a seventeen year-old figure skater who loses her mother to cancer), and hope that they touch the hearts of readers and help others to feel a little less alone in thier trials of life. That is worth Olympic Gold in my book.

  2. When the US Hockey team won the Gold, I was on a jet flying back from a ski trip at Tahoe when the Captain played the last few minutes of the game over the speaker system. I swear everyone on the flight was up out of their seats jumping up and down and cheering … people were hugging strangers. I’ll never forget it.

  3. Thank you everyone for sticking with the Scribes this week. It’s been a dark and frigid one. And what a perfect post for this cold week. I promise to get my post up for Sunday, so hang with us. Even if I have to write by candlelight it will be here.

    1. I had no idea how much I rely on electricity! The worst part of this storm for me was my inability to connect and get information. I sooooo need an iPhone! I was totally off the web, out of the world it seemed, and I didn’t like it. I wrote by candlelight, cooked eggs and a ham on a gas grill, and was the 4th person to use a tub of tepid water to take a bath. The kids were the first 3, so it wasn’t too gross, but still. It’s been a rough week.

  4. Dreams, hope, believe. That’s what it’s all about. You can hang your hat on them. It’s what I have that keeps me pumping. Although many of my dreams have been fulfilled there is always one more. The most recent is to get my manuscript done and off to my editor. It seems like forever and ever and ever. But I will keep plugging, ignore the nay-sayers, make the opening sentence the best I know how and keep an open mind to make it even better.

Leave a Reply

