Why I Wish I Were Still a Kid

Ever long to be kid again? If yes, skip to the next section. If not, (A)You had a really sad childhood and this blog is not for you or (B) Use your imagination and think about it!

Reasons it’s Cool to be a Kid

Cool Kid

1. Tempertantrums.

Haven’t you longed to lose it at one point in your adult life? Just really let go and scream and wail like a child? But you can’t because you’re a grown up and grown ups have to act like… (sigh) grown ups. You can’t scream, “I don’t want to wait in line at the bank!. Stupid bank. Stupid teller. Stupid lady who’s taking stupidly long. Stupid low bank balance.”

2. Brutal honesty.

I made the mistake of asking a six-year-old how old he thought I was. He shrugged, studied my face for a moment and said. “I don’t know. You’re like forty-five or something.” Oh no he didn’t! I’m 26. But I had it coming. I did ask him. I also had a kid poke me in the behind and when I turned around to look at him. He said, “You’ve got a big butt.”

Ever wanted to know the real answer to Does My Butt Look Big in This, ask a kid. Ever want to tell someone the absolute truth? You can’t or won’t because you’re an adult and terribly afraid of hurting someone’s feelings.

3. Food.

Le Sigh… When you’re a kid you can eat a half-dozen warm chocolate chip cookies, a pepperoni pizza and wash it down with a gallon of ice cream and be fine. If you tried that as an adult you be doubled over in gassy pain clutching a bottle of TUMS.

4.The ability to crawl in bed with your parent’s when you’re scared.

Can’t do that now, can you? It would just be…eww.

5. CARTOONS!

Well any kid shows/movies for that matter. Sesame street… AH.Good clean fun and educational too! As a grown up you can’t tell other grown ups that your favorite show is on the Disney Channel or that you really identified with the lion in Madagascar. You have to lie and pretend you like MAD MEN or the OFFICE.

6. Money.

Sure everybody likes money but as a kid you don’t need it. Your mom and dad pay for everything. You don’t have to worry about bills and you think any and everything can be purchases with the simple swipe of a credit card.

7. Fashion.

Did you know the trend going around the elementary schools are tutus? Tye Dye, Purple, Pink, Green. Oh and rhinestone encrusted, hot pink, light up high top sneakers. And, how could I forget, feather hair extensions. Nowadays, at least in my neck of the woods, little girls look like peacocks. If I showed up for work in a tutu… well, I might not have a job the next day.

There are dozens of other reasons why it’s cool to be a kid. Birthday parties with pinatas.Christmas is still magical. Chukee Cheese is actually a fun place to be. Trick or Treating. Fort building. Pretend time. Fighting with your siblings. CANDY!

On the flip side I’m sure kids could come up with just as many reasons that it’s cool to be a grown up. No bedtime. Driving…

What’s this got to do with writing? Nothing really but sometimes it’s fun to get out of your adult word and think like a child.

Your turn. What did you like about being a kid? Did I miss anything on my list? Got a fond childhood memory? Hated being a kid? Wish you could go back? Think your kids have it good? Any and all comments are welcome. 

15 thoughts on “Why I Wish I Were Still a Kid”

  1. Jamie, you are hilarious. These are all great reasons to want to be a kid again! My favorite – #3. I miss the days when I could eat whatever I wanted. As to number 4 – I’ve never stopped loving cartoons. My tastes have grown up a bit, I lean more toward anime, but I still love to watch certain cartoons if they cross my path.

    I do have one very good reason for enjoying adulthood – control of my own life. I like being the boss of me and I didn’t enjoy not being able to go where I wanted or do what I wanted (especially as a teen). To me, that is a great bonus of being a grown up.

    1. I was one of those kids who always wanted to be a grown up. I was always an old soul. It’s nice to think about being a kid again but I wouldn’t want to be one again. I can crank the heat up if I want to. Leave every single light on in my house and throw my clothes any where I want.

  2. I’m remembering playing with matchbox cars in the dirt, swimming until my lips were blue and then sitting on a hot driveway on a wet towel, jumping rope, and pretending to be Wonder Woman as I ran through the woods with my “javelin”. Camping and going to the beach in the summers, building snow forts and sledding in the winter, and bottle digging and collecting insulators along the railroad tracks with my mom.

    As I get older and wiser, I try to remember the good things about being a kid rather than focusing on how often life was hard and painful. I wouldn’t want to go back there again, but I’m grateful to have some good memories to soften the edges of all that drama. I also appreciate that I had the opportunity to have a second childhood when I had children of my own and now that they are grown, I’m enjoying a third time around. As a writer of YA fiction, it’s also kind of cool to be able to rewrite my own history in a sense, and give my characters happy and hopeful endings.

  3. I had a great childhood – all the fun stuff you mentioned a lot more. Went to summer camp, mom had a friend with a farm where I stayed for a week each summer and my BFF’s parents had a boat. We sailed to Block Island most weekends for a couple of years. But I think if I could have a vacation in any part of my life right now, it would be those adulty-but-childlike years of 24, 25ish when I was only responsible for me. I could do whatever I wanted. Backpack through Europe for 6 weeks – sure. Roll out of bed and go to whatever movie struck my fancy. Hot fudge sundaes for breakfast…and pancakes for dinner. I wouldn’t want to give up my wonderful hubby and kiddies for anything, but I wouldn’t mind a vacation in 1996…

    1. I guess I’m at that time in my life now. It’s just me. I should be more of a risk taker before I get old and realize that my life passed me by.

  4. I had a very happy childhood. The things I still long for is someone to take care of me when I’m not feeling well. I also liked not having to worry about finances! Work was a place Mom and Dad went … for me it was play, play, play. I think the thing we all miss about childhood is the carefree feeling of no responsibility. You have us all thinking, Jamie.

  5. I loved the freedom. My friends and I went everywhere on our own. A twenty mile bike ride to a beach was not uncommon. Moms didn’t have cars and you were expected to entertain yourself, which I thought was wonderful. We went on African safari’s and climbed the Himalayas; though Everest was the sand pit a few miles from my home.

    1. Oh! How nice. I think my mother would have a cow before she let me take a twenty mile bike ride to the beach. I kinda feel like kids don’t get to explore as much as they used to. I rarely see kids playing outside nowadays.

  6. Casey said it. You are hilarious. I had great summers in Coney Island and Rockaway.

    Difficulties with mother letting me grow up, then she went to work. Both my parents worked, they had a business in Brooklyn. I had to scrub floors in the store, and at the day’s end they had no patience for kids. I have a few good thoughts, but never, never do want to go back there again.

  7. Umm I still feel like a kid. Granted at work I fingerpaint, dig in the dirt, build with blocks, have tea parties…although yes, when I go home, adult life kicks me in the ass. Although I did wear adult, footie pjs to work the other day and let me tell you, I walked to put out my trash and I just wanted someone to catch a glance of a soon-to-be 27 year old with pigtails and footie pjs. Ahh my life.

    I think what I miss most about being a kid was when chores were fun. My mom used to send us to go empty all the trash pails on garbage day and you know what, I liked it. Nowadays I have to make myself set aside a day to clean – Monday night if anyone wants to join 😉 – and even then, I’m queen at halfway when I don’t haaaaave to clean.

Leave a Reply

