Spice, Spice, Baby! Interview with Harlequin Nocturne Author Mina Khan

Hello, everyone!  Suze here.  Business first:  the winners of Joan Swan’s giveaway are:  Amazon gift card: Jennifer Mathis.  Gorgeous bookmarks: Ashley, Nancy, Jamie Pope, Kristan Higgins, and Highland Love Song.  Congratulations!

The Djinn's Dilemma -- Hot, Hot, Hot!

Today I’m thrilled to bring you another debut author, Mina Khan, whose novella THE DJINN’S DILEMMA was published by Harlequin Nocturne Cravings.  Welcome, Mina!

How do you battle the doubt monster? Doubt Monster: the nagging feeling that your prose is terrible, you plot is silly, your characters are insipid, and no one in their right mind would read this drivel, let alone buy it.
When I’m plagued by the Doubt Monster, which is often, I take a deep breath & remind myself that I wouldn’t have the life I have if I hadn’t trusted myself: travelling half-way across the world from Bangladesh to America, venturing out to West Texas by myself, marrying a cowboy, daring to have a second child after I almost died the first time, and writing despite the Doubt Monsters and Naysayers in my life.
Have you thought about writing something that is completely different for you?  Perhaps writing in a new genre or just taking a story someplace that you haven’t gone before.
Each story is unique and I’m always surprised by how different each one is. For example the second Djinn/genie story I have turned in to my editor is so different, it scared me. LOL. But in the end I had to trust my gut feeling that it was a good story, this was how it was meant to be written and send it in.
What story haven’t you told yet that you want to tell? What is holding you back?
It’s a story that has haunted me since childhood and I hope one of these days I will have the courage to write it down. I think it will be a quieter, more literary story.
What is the most surprising thing that has happened in your writing career?
I always expected to sell a food-related book before fiction, so when THE DJINN’S DILEMMA sold…I was ecstatic but surprised.
What would you do if you couldn’t be a writer any longer?
I’d own a small café and cook to my heart’s content
They say that every author has a partially completed, quite-possibly-terrible half a story shoved in a drawer somewhere. What is yours? What is it about? What makes it terrible? Would you ever consider picking it up and finishing it?
I don’t give up on stories. I may put them aside and focus on growing myself as a writer and then come back to them. I have been writing since third grade, so I have quite a collection under my bed , including the book of my heart and a screenplay.
Author Jane Haddam says that anyone who seriously annoys her gets bumped off in her next book. How do you incorporate your real-life experiences into your stories?
I cull down to the very emotions of the experience and try to incorporate that into my writing. Also, my food writing slips into my fiction from time to time, so Rukh, the hero of THE DJINN’S DILEMMA, tastes like dark chocolate!
Mmmmmmm, chocolate. . .   Tell us about THE DJINN’S DILEMMA. What’s it about, and where can we buy it?
THE DJINN’S DILEMMA is a paranormal erotic romance where an otherwordly assassin falls for his human target.

Rukh O’Shay, half-djinn and assassin, is used to taking out the bad guys. But his latest assignment, Texas Journalist Sarah White, is nothing like he expected. A glimpse of her bright aura reveals her gentle spirit, while her beauty makes him long for only one thing—to taste her.

Sarah shares the raw desire to connect with Rukh. He can turn her on with a glance, and satisfies needs she didn’t even know she had.

But Rukh had been hired to kill her—and the only way to save her is to find out who wants her dead before someone else finishes the job….

You can buy THE DJINN’S DILEMMA on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBook, and Harlequin’s eBookstore. Last time I checked both Amazon and Harlequin were giving a discount

What is your junk food of choice?

Chili-Cheese Tots …um, yes they are as dangerous as they sound.

What’s the most dangerous or risky thing that you’ve done?

Not saying “I love you” back when the love of my life said it to me…I had to know exactly, truly, how I felt and for that I needed some time. Fortunately for me, he stayed around and eventually even asked me to marry him.

Author Mina Khan

That’s so sweet!  What is your guilty pleasure? {Remember: this is a ‘PG’ rated blog! 

Sriracha Hot Sauce ( Lol, I like my food & my fiction Spicy!)

Bio:

Mina Khan is a Texas-based writer and food enthusiast. She daydreams of hunky paranormal heroes, magic, mayhem and mischief and writes them down as stories. Between stories, she teaches culinary classes and writes for her local newspaper. Other than that, she’s raising a family of two children, two cats, two dogs and a husband. She grew up in Bangladesh on stories of djinns, ghosts and monsters. These childhood fancies now color her fiction.

You can find her at :

http://www.facebook.com/Mina.Khan.Author

http://minakhan.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @SpiceBites

Thanks for being here, Mina!  Questions, anyone?  You want to know about that cowboy husband, don’t you?
22 thoughts on “Spice, Spice, Baby! Interview with Harlequin Nocturne Author Mina Khan”

    1. OMGoodness, Kristan I love your books! Okay, deep breath, getting control of my fan girl here :D… Djinn is pronounced “GIN” like the liquor (and yes, Rukh is rather intoxicating!). Also “djinn” is the traditional spelling, but more people are familiar with the term “genie”.

  1. Hi Mina! Welcomes to the Scribes. Thanks for being our guest today. The book sounds exciting! Have you considered writing any ghost stories? And, yes, tell us about your cowboy! Sounds like you have your own personal romantic tale (not that you have to spill the details here!).

    1. Regarding the DH, I like to say: “Yeehaw! I bagged me a cowboy!” He turns all kinds of interesting colors when I say that *grin*

      But seriously, yes I do have a personal romantic tale which helped me believe in true love –not the wild roller-coaster ride, but the constant through good days and bad kind–and in turn leads me to pen romances. 🙂

  2. Welcome, Mina! So glad to have you here on the Scribes. I loved what you said about not giving up on a story, but putting it aside to grow as a writer, and probably even as a person before taking it on again.

    Your personal story sounds amazing. Just fascinating!

  3. Awesome Mina! Your book sounds excellent. Just the steaminess I need for those cold nights ahead. I haven’t read any genie stories but like many of us grew up on “I Dream Of Jeannie.” I love the idea that one could simply blink to transport themselves…or clean the house:-)

    What is your djinn’s power? Does he blink? Wave his hand? Speak a command to create his magic? Or are you going to make us read the book to find out? i can’t wait to know…going to B&N and ordering the book for my Nook. I’m so impatient these days.

    Thanks for being here with us!

  4. Thank you Scribes (esp. Susannah) for inviting me over! Being a journalist by profession, I loved the thought-provoking questions and had a lot of fun answering them 🙂 It’s so nice to meet y’all & I’m looking forward to making new friends today!

    p.s. Thank you for all your warm welcomes & kind words!

  5. An erotic story with food and a genie assassin? Sign me up! It sounds so unique that I’m chomping at the bit to get at it, even with a day of edits ahead of me.
    Continued success, Mina, what an exciting road to romance you’ve traveled!

  6. Hi Mina,
    I think your story sounds amazing and I just put it on my list of books I am going to read. Thanks for sharing and I wish you much success.

  7. Great interview and what a way to brighten up my morning! Congratulations, Mina, on a huge success and we hope your book and recipes continue to fly off the shelves!

    I checked out some of you recipes on your blog… since I cook a lot myself (over 25 years now!)… and they look real YUM!
    Congratrulations again!
    Anju Gattani

  8. Congratulations on what looks like an amazing read Mina! The cover is sizzling and very very classy! Hope Harlequin is everything you hope for!

    I liked what you said about doubts and naysayers, there are too many of them, and we authors have to work hard to fight them.

    Best of luck with your writing.

Leave a Reply

