Minty Fresh

Hello Scribe friends, Suze here.  You know how I like my novels?  Both the ones I read, and hopefully the ones I write?  Fresh, and not too sweet.  I want to read something new and different each time I open a book, and I don’t care for a character who is too good or too kind or too perfect all the time — unless of course that’s her fatal flaw which proves her undoing.

Coffee, tea, or milk with your cookies?

Fresh, and not too sweet, is how I like my cookies too!  It’s recipe week here at the Scribes, so let me give you one of my family’s favorite cookies – Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookies.  These are very pretty with their sparkly, slightly crispy sugary crust, and they’re not overly sweet (hmmmm, that sounds a bit like Parseltongue, doesn’t it?  Very sibilant).

  • 2-1/2 c. flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. vegetable oil (use a neutral-tasting oil such as canola or safflower, not olive or peanut oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp. vanilla
  • 1 bag mint-flavored chocolate chips**
  • 1/2 c. of granulated sugar, placed in a shallow dish

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix flour, baking powder, salt and sugar together in large bowl (I just use a fork).  In smaller bowl, mix together the oil, eggs and vanilla.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until blended (a wooden spoon works fine.  No need to haul out the mixer), then stir in chips.  (Dough looks a little oily — this is normal)  Refrigerate for an hour or so to make the next step easier.

When the dough is cold, scoop out dough and roll between your hands into bigger-than-a-walnut, smaller-than-a-golf-ball sized balls.  I use a 1-1/2 tablespoon scoop to make them nice and uniform.  Roll the dough balls in the granulated sugar to coat evenly all around, then place on a cookie sheet  lined with parchment or a silicone baking mat and bake until they are set, but not browned (13-15 minutes).  While I’m waiting for one tray to bake, I like to keep the rest of the dough balls in the fridge so the cookies keep their shape.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

** Mint Chocolate Chips can be difficult to find (they are usually only available around the holidays) — in fact, this recipe is from the back of the Hershey’s bag, and has been around for ages.  Andes also sells mint chips this time of year.  I’ve never tried this, but I’ll bet you could roughly chop up a bag of Andes Candies (foil wrappers removed, of course!) and use them as a substitution.  Another alternative, which I have tried and which works pretty well, is to add a teaspoon of peppermint extract to the dough, and use a bag of regular semisweet chocolate chips.  The mint flavor isn’t as strong though.

So tell us.  Have you read or seen anything totally fresh lately?  Perhaps featuring an old theme or topic presented in a new way?  Or if you don’t want to have to think too hard, just tell us what kind of cookie is your favorite.  We’ll have a cyber cookie swap! 

14 thoughts on “Minty Fresh”

  1. Yum, Suze!! I love just about any kind of cookie, but I am partial to anything with warm, melty chocolate chips. I recently read two great books by Christopher Farnsworth that had a whole new twist on the vampire genre. The books: Blood Oath and The President’s Vampire are about Nathanial Cade, and yup, he’s a vampire. He’s worked for the President for over 150 years protecting the world from all kinds of otherworldly threats. They are action packed and written like thrillers. Sparkly vampires need not apply!!

    1. These are different than the usual cc cookie recipe — you’ll love ’em! I saw a blurb somewhere about The President’s Vampire and thought it looked ineresting. I’ll put that in my ever-growing TBR pile.

  2. I’m reading Under the Dome by Stephen King right now…It’s very “The Stand”-ish. I was up til 1:00 am reading last night, and boy am I paying the price for that now…good book though, so far…I’m about 25% thru.

    1. I have a copy of that too — haven’t quite been brave enough to tackle it yet. Not because of the subject matter. Because of the size!

  3. My favorite cookies are macaroons…anything with coconut actually. Chocolate and coconut is even better. If someone made a Mounds cookie, I’d be in heaven!

    My guilty pleasure right now is the new TV series, REVENGE with Emily Vandecamp. It’s a great twist on the old revenge theme where a young woman covertly takes on a wealthy family because they destroyed her father’s life when she was a little girl. The main character does a fabulous job making you feel sympathetic toward her as she systematically devastates the lives of the people who hurt her. It’s brilliantly plotted and the steaminess factor is right up there. I love it when a writer can make me root for the bad guy.

    1. I love coconut too. Maybe you could bake chocolate chips into a macaroon, than you’d have a Moundsaroon. Pillsbury Bake-off, here we come! I haven’t seen that show, but it sounds like fun. I’ll have to watch for it.

  4. Haven’t you seen my waistline? Of course, I love cookies. Chocolate chip are the best. Another favorite that I don’t get too often unless by special request are those awesome maple flavored sinful cookies PJ SHARON makes.

    Right now, I’m reading DARK AWAKENING by Kendra Leigh Castle. I’m on chapter 12. We’ll see how it goes.

    1. What? PJ’s been withholding a maple cookie recipe? And Jennifer, in my mind we are all 24-year-old tall willowy sylphs who can eat cookies all day long without gaining an ounce!

  5. Hi Scribes,
    I am waiting anxiously for the book I just won to arrive. I’ll let you know how it is when I read it … but I’m sure it will be great. Cookies … I would have to go with Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies. Yummy and so devilishly decadent. (If anyone wants the recipe … email me.)

  6. I like warm chocolate chip cookies but my downfall is homemade chocolate brownies. The best I’ve ever had was made by an 11 year old boy as an end of the year present. I miss that kid…

  7. Mint is my favorite flavor, especially if it has chocolate in it. Soooooooo, I go to Trader Joe’s and buy their chocolate covered sandwich w/creamy mint in the middle, to die for, cookies and only this time of year. Once they are gone, they are gone. Yummmm. don’t get me wrong, I can bake, but since I discovered these cookies, I don’t wanna bake.

Leave a Reply

