Welcome the author of the “Nightkeepers” series, “Doc Jess” Andersen

 Welcome, Jess. We are so honored to have you here. Thanks for taking time to answer a few questions for us. Doc Jess will be giving away signed copies of Bear Claw Bodyguard and Lord of the Wolfyn to one random commenter. Contest ends Thursday at midnight and is open to US residents only.

1)      Tell us about the upcoming installment in the Night Keepers series.

Hey guys, and thanks for letting me visit with you today! Let’s see, what’s up next …. In April, Sven’s book will be released, in all its hubba-hubba cover glory! Here’s the blurb for MAGIC UNCHAINED:

On December 21, 2012, dark forces will stand poised to crush mankind beneath a vicious rule of terror and blood sacrifice. Our only hope rests with a group living in secret among us: modern magic wielders called the Nightkeepers.

Cara Liu must earn her place as the leader of the winikin—the slave race of the Nightkeepers—but her powerful feelings for Nightkeeper Sven could jeopardize the balance, right when the winikin must become warriors in their own right. Sven tries to keep his distance given their troubled past, but when they are betrayed by one of their own, he can no longer deny the attraction.

 Their searing chemistry—and the danger—increases as they race to locate a hidden cave that could hold the key to resurrecting the Nightkeepers’ strongest ancestor. But their growing feelings face the ultimate test when the winikin army faces an unimaginable threat and Sven is called on to make the hardest choice of his life…

 2)      How do you manage to write these consistently fun and exciting full-length novels AND write for Harlequin Intrigue?

Aww, thanks for the kind words! Actually, I enjoy writing both series very much. The Nightkeeper books are so long and intricate that sometimes it’s nice to kick back and write a shorter Intrigue … but by the same token, I love the freedom that the longer books give me to do so much more with the stories. As for how I keep them straight in my head … different fonts. I’ve taught my brain that if we’re writing in Courier New it’s an Intrigue, whereas Times New Roman is a Nightkeeper book. LOL!

 3)      How much promotion do you do?

Not as much as I used to … when the series first launched, I did lots of online and print ads, appearances and virtual events. Over time, though, as the series gained a good fan base, I was able to do less promo and focus more on getting the books written. These days, I blog with friends, am active on Facebook (fan me as ‘DocJess’ or ‘Jessica Andersen’ to see all my oh-so-Freudian typos), send out a newsletter prior to each release, and attend a few writing conferences and book signings. The most important thing (in my opinion), though, is writing the next book!

 4)      What’s next on the horizon for you and your writing? Another series after Night Keepers?

 Yes, there will definitely be another series after the Nightkeepers … but it’s sort of a secret. All I’m going to say about it right now is that it’ll be contemporary, paranormal, a little lighter and spunkier than the Nightkeeper books, but with the same nod to mythology and Indiana Jones-esque action 😉

 5)      How’s married life treating you? Is being a newlywed helping or hindering your writing?

(I know this last one is personal, but inquiring minds want to know? Feel free to disregard last question unless you want to dish!)

Shall I gush? LOL. Okay, I’ll spare you the “my life is wonderful” squee-ing and just say that the both of us took some knocks getting to each other, but that just makes what we have now so much sweeter.

As for the writing, I’m only just now getting it back on track. Interestingly, I found that it was easier to write when things weren’t going so well for me, because writing was my escape, and with so much conflict in my life, it was a no-brainer to put it on the page. 

When I got out of the bad situation I was in, got myself healthy, and unexpectedly met The One, though, things got tougher on the writing front. Once I stopped wanting to blow up the world, writing about the coming apocalypse wasn’t so fun anymore. I wanted my characters to be happy and in love, so conflict was hard. More, I didn’t really want to be at the computer when there were far more interesting things to be doing in the outside world. LOL.

Let’s just say that I’ve had to re-learn how to write, and I’m now telling my stories from a very different emotional place. I think they’re stronger, sexier and more romantic now … but I’ll let the readers be the judges of that!

My recent Nocturne release, LORD OF THE WOLFYN, was the book I wrote while I was getting to know my now-husband online, and this month’s Intrigue, BEAR CLAW BODYGUARD, was the first I wrote after I met him in person. I hope you’ll check them out, and enjoy!

Visit Jessica Andersen at www.jessicaandersen.com

Click here to pre-order Magic Unchained

Click here to buy Bear Claw Bodyguard

 Click here to buy Lord Of The Wolfyn

Here’s your chance to ask the amazing Doc Jess Andersen any question that comes to mind. Don’t be shy! Leave a comment and you are in the running to win signed copies of her two latest books.

45 thoughts on “Welcome the author of the “Nightkeepers” series, “Doc Jess” Andersen”

  1. Hi Jess! Welcome to the Scribes! It’s so nice to have you as our guest. I love that you use different fonts for the different series. I will have to give that a try. Congratulations on your newlywed status. And I can’t wait to find out what new series you have cooking. Happy holidays to you and hubby!

    1. Hey Casey! Thanks for stopping by, and for the congrats. The font thing is something I adapted from Suz Brockmann’s workshop on ‘anchoring,’ where she talks about having some sort of ritual (different space, chair, hat, etc.) that you use only when you’re going to sit down and write (and not do anything else), so the ritual tells your brain ‘it’s time to write now.’ Happy holidays back atcha!

  2. Hiya, Jess! Very excited to hear about Sven’s book (that cover does wonders for early morning!). I was wondering how it feels to leave the Nightkeepers behind as you wrap up the series and move forward…is it hard to stop thinking of potential stories and other characters?

    Have a great holiday!

    1. Hiya back, Kristan! Honestly? It’s bittersweet. I cried a little when I wrote the last scene of the last book, because we’ve all been through so much together in the past five years, and it’s tough to think that I won’t be living with these people in my head anymore. But at the same time, I’m wicked excited (ha, that’s my Boston coming out) for the new series. I’m even sneaking an hour or two a night to work on it now, while revising the last Nightkeeper book–this series is one I’ve been mulling for a couple of years now, and it’s ready to roll out!
      Hugs and happy holidays to you and yours!

  3. Congratulations on your marriage, Doc Jess! And I can’t wait to read the new books. Thanks for that little tip on the spicy South American chocolate, by the way. I’m addicted!

    Sherry

    1. Thanks for the congrats, Sherry, and I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the chocolate! I’ll admit that I didn’t think I would like it at first (what? put hot stuff in my chocolate? egad!) but the little hint of pepper is a nice change, I think 🙂

  4. The Scribes are THRILLED to have Jess Andersen as our guest. She did forewarn me that she would be in transit this morning and wouldn’t be able to check in until around noon, so be patient with getting responses to your questions and rest assured she will be here to answer each and every one later today. Check back this afternoon for her witty and thoughtful answers. If you’ve never met her, Doc Jess is one of the sweetest and most giving authors I’ve met so far. Oh, and the “Doc” comes from the fact that this brilliant and lovely lady has a doctorate in Genetics!

    1. Hey PJ! As you’ll see, I’m online earlier than I said I would be–I got an honorable discharge from this week’s trip to NYC because I’m working on editorial revisions that require my desktop or the Laptop-asaurus, neither of which was going on the train with me. Which means I’m missing my man, but here to chat with the Scribes! Thanks again for having me on, and for the kind words. I’ll be here all day, ladies, so keep the questions and such coming!

  5. Awwwwww….Jess! I can’t wait for Sven’s book to get here. I LOVE the cover soooooo mmmuuuuuccchhhh!!! I completely understand the writing glitch. The same happened to me with poetry. I was quite prolific when I was in a dark place, but once I got out of it a bit, I couldn’t write as much. We’ll see how things go now, once everything straightens out…lol!!!

    Ooooo…new series…hmmmm!!!!

    Peace and love,
    Paula R.

    1. Hey Miz R! Thanks for sharing your experience with the poetry–I hadn’t made the connection before, but you’re right. For what it’s worth, for me it was hard work relearning how to write from a new place … but very worthwhile in terms of the stories. It’s *fun* to write now, kind of like it used to be back when I started out, which is a rare treat 🙂

  6. Hi, Jess – Delighted to hear that your life is going so well, even if it’s giving you a challenge or two at the keyboard.

    A couple of questions … I noticed that both your Nightkeepers series and your Intrigues are published under Jessica Andersen, not separate names for each. Is it because you’re writing in subgenres of the same main genre? And were you pressured to use a pen name for one or the other?

    Thanks! Always great to see you, either online or out and about.

    1. Hey Rhonda! Ooh, that’s an interesting question. Actually, there wasn’t any discussion of a pen name, even though you’re right that they’re in two different genres. However, both series are very high action, sexy, suspenseful stories–the only real difference is that one set has magic and the other doesn’t. I think, too, that the Intrigues are so recognizable (purple covers, etc.) and the Nightkeeper covers are so clearly paranormal, that there hasn’t been much confusion. (I hope!)
      Cheers, and it’s great to ‘see’ you too 🙂

  7. Hey Jess,
    You know what a hard core fan of your category stuff I am. Please, please keep writing them for as long as possible. I’m invisioning Bear Claw Baby and the Bear Claw Old Folks Home, whaddya say?

    1. Hey Jen! Snicker-snort on Bear Claw Geriatrics! I just turned in the last Bear Claw book for a while (BEAR CLAW LAWMAN, July ’12), but am toying with a new series for Intrigue as well. Maybe also another Nocturne or two. We shall see!

  8. Hey Doc Jess! My best friend and I came across your nightkeeper books and we both love them! You have now become one of those authors where we can’t wait for the next book… Anyway, I am thinking I am gonna cry when this series is over.. I want it to continue!! LOL Can’t we have babies and stuff?? LOL Anyway, I am so glad you finally found the “one” and my question is:
    do your characters drive you or do you drive your characters? I love asking authors that question 🙂 Thanks for the give away! I will read anything you write!! 🙂 Kathy

    1. Hey Kathy, and thanks so much for being a fan of the Nightkeepers! (Knuckle taps to you and your BFF.) To answer your Q, before, when I was often starting with the plot/conflict, the story would usually drive my characters (though they would definitely take over at times, too). These days, though, I’m much more character driven. Good luck in the giveaway, and thanks for posting!

  9. It’s always interesting to learn how the personal life of the writer does/doesn’t affect what/how they are writing. Thanks for the insight and chance to win! 🙂

  10. Wow, hi everyone and Happy Holidays and thanks for the opportunity to have Santa bring us something special. Jessica, your Nightkeepers series is one of the best Urban Fantasy/Paranormal out there as far as I’m concerned, not only is it informative as I’ve learned a lot about the Mayan’s that I didn’t know I love the series and I haven’t had a chance to try the new series yet either.
    thanks for blogging
    deb

    1. Hi Deb, and happy holidays back atcha! I really appreciate the props, and hope you’ll love the last two books in the series! I’m revising Rabbit’s book as we speak, and I’m really loving it. I can’t wait to share Sven’s and Rabbit’s books with readers!

  11. While I look forward to Sven’s book, I really want to get into Rabbit’s. He has been such a tortured soul for so long, in his own battle of good /evil. Now he has grown up, thinks he’s in love, what is next?
    I really enjoy your writting. The mix of historical, myth, treasures, etc. I have actually visited some of the ruins in Mexico and reading your books have made these “living” places for me.

    1. Hey Connie, and thanks for the note! Rabbit’s such an interesting guy, isn’t he? He just sort of showed up in the first book, unplanned, kind of muscling his way in. He’s always been the easiest for me to write, as there have been long periods in my life when I’ve felt like him, where I have the best intentions, but the things I do keep turning out wrong. Not to the point of burning down large buildings, granted, but still … 😉

  12. Hey Doc Jess. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to ya and yours! Absolutely love your writing and will always be a fan!. Since I’m a readaholic, I don’t keep a lot of authors but I do keep yours, which says a lot! I think I own every book of your but one or two. Anywy, I can’t wait to check your new series. I’m sure it willbe great!

    1. Thanks BlackwaterMama (love the name), and happy happy back atcha! Awww, thanks for the props. I’ve only got a few keeper authors (Linnea Sinclair, Lois McMaster Bujold), so I know what an honor that is. Thank you!

  13. Just dropping by to say “Hi” and offer my unending support for such a fab author!
    If you haven’t read Doc J’s books, don’t wait any longer! =)
    Happy Holidays to everyone!
    *hug* Jess

  14. Hiya Jess, Its fun to read how your writing has evolved based on love and marriage. Love does the miraculous for us. It softens us, embraces us and makes the world look all shiny and new. I enjoy seeing you with your guy. Your eyes are filled with stardust and your sweet smile puts color in your cheeks. Keep on trucking girl, and thanks for taking the time to visit here.

  15. I LOVE the use of different fonts! That is too funny.

    Congrats on everything, Jess. I am a HUGE fan of your books and your typos. LOL. They just crack me up. I go around quoting them to people every so often. So thrilled things are going well for you. You are a bright talent!

  16. We’re so happy you stopped by the Scribes today, Jess! Could you explain the difference(s), other than length, between the Harlequin Intrigue and Suspense lines? To me the website guidelines overlap. Second question, could you give a short description of your writing day? You are so prolific, I know many of us would like to know how you do it. Thanks!

    1. Jane, great question on the Harlequin Suspense vs Intrigue lines. I was wondering the same thing. Thanks for asking.

      Jess, I’m very much looking forward to the next 2 Nightkeeper books, the last BC and the new series! GNO after the holidays sounds great!

      1. Hi Susannah! Thanks so much for having me here today 🙂

        Re: Intrigue versus Suspense, I’m afraid I don’t have a clue, as I haven’t had any real exposure to Suspense myself. Which is a terrible answer, I know, but if I said anything more, it’d be purely a guess!

        My writing day used to vary depending on where I was in the story, with lots of flaking off and wandering around in circles early in a book, when I was toying with different ideas and directions, followed by furious 20-hour-a-day writing stints in the last month or so before my deadline. These days, though, I’m doing more of a steady weekday schedule, usually six to ten hours at the computer, and then weekends off. My productivity still varies depending on where I am in the book, but it’s not nearly like the rollercoaster of old!
        Thanks for asking. And hey to Gail C!!

  17. I so love the NIGHTKEEPER series. I have two sets of each book so that I can drag one around with me to read and I can keep one in pristine condition for reading when the first one falls apart. I am eagerly awaiting Sven and Rabbit’s books, but a little sad that the end is in sight.

    1. Hey Kat! (waves) Awww, I like the idea of having some squeaky-clean Nightkeepers in reseve (though the dirty ones are cool, too … and my thoughts digress–lol). I agree that it’ll be sad to say goodbye. I’m hoping the last book makes it feel more okay, though.

  18. Hello! You and J.R Ward are my favorite authors and enjoy the night keepers and will be sad when the series ends. I had a question about Patience’s bloodline. In the glossary she is listed under the eagle bloodline but I thought she was from the iguana bloodline. Is there something I am missing?

    1. Hey Kathy, and thanks for the props! You’re correct that she was originally from the Iguana bloodline … however, having married Brandt and born his kids, she merged into the Eagle bloodline. Thanks for the question!

  19. Hi Jessica. Thanks for stopping by and sharing with us. I love how you’ve trained your mind using the different fonts. Great idea!

  20. When you are asked to be part of a series, do you confer with the other authors? Or are you given a theme that you need to make sure is part of the book? Would you do it again?

    1. Ooh, good questions! The answer, actually, is ‘it depends’. LOL! Sometimes (especially with Harlequin’s continuity series) the editors actually come up with the overall story idea and recruit authors to contribute. Other times, the editors or agents will put a number of authors together for a series, but let the authors collaborate to decide what they’re going to write (this was how Lord of the Wolfyn came about). And still other times, the authors are grouped together (e.g., for a set of novellas) and either decide on a theme or have one suggested by the editors. This is how the anthology On the Hunt came to be about hunters (in my case, vampire hunters, Mayan-style). I’m sure there are other examples, as well. And definitely I’d do it again! I’ve been involved in a half-dozen multi-author continuities in Intrigue, as well as the Nocturne miniseries and the anthology. It’s a fun change of pace to work with other authors, and can bump you out of your comfort zone and encourage you to explore things you haven’t done before. Love it!

  21. And that’s it for me, folks! Thanks to everyone who checked out the interview, and to those who posted and chatted with me here today. I wish you all a wonderful holiday season, with lots of good cheer and great books! Jess

  22. Thanks, Jess. You’ve been great and we really appreciate you taking time for us. I’ve tossed the names of our commenters into my hat of good fortune and randomly picked Kat Bonson as the big winner of your signed copies of Lord of the Wolfyn and Bear Claw Bodyguard! I’ll contact Kat and get her e-mail address for you.

    Blessings to all this Holiday Season and keep tuning in to the Secrets of 7 Scribes. We have lots of fun guests and interesting posts planned for the new year.

Leave a Reply

