A Sense of Impending Doomsday

Greetings and Happy Solstice, my friends!  Suze here.  Yup, it’s the shortest day of 2011.  What you might not have realized, and you’ll thank me for telling you this, is that it might also be the first day of the last year of your life.  

Wait, wait, wait.  I’m not trying to jinx myself or anyone else.  But unless you’ve been living a hermit’s existence somewhere, you must have heard about December 21, 2012.  As in the day the Mayan Long Count Calendar ends.   (If you haven’t read Jessica Andersen’s Nightkeepers series, do it while there’s still time!  Click here for a link to our interview with Doc Jess earlier this week)

Terence McKenna analyzed the Chinese I-Ching and found patterns suggesting that the world will end on, you guessed it, December 21, 2012.

The Web Bot project, which involves a lot of spiders crawling the web searching for keywords, and which supposedly taps into humanity’s collective unconscious, predicts a cataclysmic event on that date.

Back in the 12th century, the Irish St. Malachy predicted that there will be only one more Pope after the current Pope, Benedict XVI (the new, last guy’s name will be Peter, by the way).

Admit it.  It freaks you out, just a little.  Or maybe a lot.  I don’t really believe it, but . . . what if?

If this really were the last year you had on earth, how would you spend it?  I’m talking about a bucket list, here, distilled down to its most basic elements.   Not: I want to skinny dip in a champagne fountain with Johnny Depp.  (Although if you’re able to manage that, this Scribe wants to hear the details!)  For me, I plan to focus on just a few things:  getting and staying physically healthy, eradicating negative thoughts that hold me back, loving my family and friends, and selling at least one of my novels.  That’s it.  If the world ends a year from now and I’ve stayed true to this vision, I’ll be kind of OK with being annihilated.

Now, please don’t go out and max out your credit cards, figuring if you time it correctly you won’t have to pay any of the money back.  I’m pretty, kinda sure we’re gonna make it.

And now, because I want to leave you on a happy note, I think today would be a good Gratuitous Hunk day, don’t you? We deserve it!  You can’t reach into the Scribes’ candy dish, but you can enjoy some dishy eye-candy.  Have a blessed December, whatever your beliefs.

Care to share?  Tell us what you want from 2012.  Maybe we’ll check in with you half way through the year, just to make sure we’re all on track!

15 thoughts on “A Sense of Impending Doomsday”

  1. Yummy man candy, Suze!

    As far as the end of the world, I figure it’s bound to happen sometime and there’s not a darn thing I can do about it. This year, I won’t change a thing since I pretty much have always tried to live each day as if it’s my last. I love people the best way I can, try to make the world a better place, and enjoy every minute of every day by counting my blessings.

    I’m fairly in tune with nature and subtle energies being that I spend most of my day in a meditative state while I do my massage therapy practice. I’ve been feeling the shift for a couple of years, but none as drastic as this past year. Since the beginning of 2011, I’ve felt the world speed up. This acceleration coincided with the downturn of the world economy and the major shift in global warming issues. We are at a precarious tipping point in many areas of our existence and our survival is truly at stake. If there is some cataclysmic event slated for next year, I wouldn’t be surprised, but I’m not holding my breath. I think our self destruction is pretty imminent because of the way we have lived our lives for the past century or so. Life cannot go on forever as it has. We are quickly running out of resources and people are stubborn about change, especially when it means giving up the comforts we’ve been so enjoying. Undoubtedly, that bubble is about to burst. Have you seen how many people still drive SUV’s and Pickup trucks in this country? Clearly, we’ve learned nothing and therefore, inevitably, we are doomed.

    When the BIG shift happens, I’m figuring there will be those that survive and they will be the people who are prepared, and able to adapt, improvise, and overcome whatever circumstances they are faced with. I also think the written word will still be part of our existence, so I’m going to keep writing. Did I mention I have a Dystopian trilogy planned for this year?

    1. I agree, something’s gotta give regarding population and resources. I do think we’re headed for some major global changes. But I think the human race is pretty resilient and resourceful — I’m pretty sure we’ll survive somehow. Unless that Planet X/Niburu hits, and then all bets are off!

  2. I’ve heard “the world’s gonna end soon, so you better git RIIIGHT with JESUS” since I was 5. IMO, the scariest book ever written is Revelations. I grew up in the Bible Belt where all there was to do on a summer night was to go see the traveling preacher under the big top. Sounds colorful, until I tell you that my friend who’s dean of students in a college at the foothills of the mountains in Kentucky had students refuse to take advantage of early registration for the spring semester of 2000 because “the world’s gonna end.”

  3. I have read somewhere that every 26,000 years the sun makes a revolution around it’s system and 2012 is the 26,000th year. Perhaps that is what the Myans were predicting? This would cause the world to speed up, as Paula indicated. It would also cause the weather changes we are experiencing as well. I’m not worried … no sense spending energy worrying about something totally out of my control. That said, I would like to see my work published. I would like to hold a grandchild in my arms. Spend time with people I love, and who love me. That’s about it for me.

    1. The way I understand the Mayan Long Count Calendar is that we are approaching the end of an age, not really the end of the world as we know it. Astronomically (somebody correct me if I’m wrong), 12/21/2012 marks a very rare convergence of the sun, the earth, and the center of the Milky Way. The Mayans believed this to mark the end of one world order and the beginning of another — not the total destruction of the world. I’m not worried, personally!

  4. The maxing out the credit card thing is kinda tempting, but I know I’d just be stuck with a glamourous Coach purse and some Louboutin shoes running from the zombie apocolypse. I definitely will be spending more time with my little boy. He’s at such a great age where he and I can have a conversation, but I still know everything and am the coolest person in his life. I know that won’t last long even if the world does end in 2012.

    1. The purse might be useful for carrying stuff, but you’d be in some trouble trying to run in those shoes, Baby! Better get some top-of-the-line Nikes instead. Enjoy your boy. Mine is now 13, almost 14, and will not even let me drive him the 4 blocks to the bus stop if it’s pouring rain. That is correct: he would rather walk and stand in the pouring rain than be seen getting out of a car driven by his mother. (He informs me that it’s OK for him to be seen with his father — of course Mr. Suze drives a cool Jeep Wrangler, not a mom-car) Sigh.

  5. Sorry, I can’t stop staring at Joe….

    I don’t believe the Mayans had anymore insight than the rest of us when it came to the end of the world. Sooner or later, it will happen and I just hope its in a few billion years.

    1. I know. That picture is really, really distracting … uh, where was I? *mopping up drool* Oh yeah. I agree — I think the Mayans were really good at astronomy and they had to end their record keeping somewhere, and it just happens to be 12/21/12. Might I add that there must be hope for this world if it can produce a breathtaking creature like Joe!

  6. I never have tried living each day as my last. I am too busy. Busy doing all the stuff I love. I don’t do anything that doesn’t give me satisfaction. All this b/c I have paid my dues, or is that do’s? I have lived my dreams, ha, only this manuscript will drive me to drink. That’s my hope for 2012, finish my manuscript and get it off to my editor. So, pray that I finish…and thanks for the great inquisition.

    1. I’m right there with you, Gail! I’m too busy to live each day like it was my last. 🙂 But everything I do brings a sense of satisfaction to my life. Something as simple as preparing a meal for my family or finishing the laundry makes me feel like I have accomplished something and I have succeeded. Which just motivates me to keep going and trying something else.

      I heard this week that my book, Real Virtue will be released in April. Yay! Now that’s an accomplishment that motivates me to keep going!

  7. OK, I wasn’t worried about the 2012 Mayan thing until you mentioned the Pope…somebody just told me that the current Pope is ill. Well, this could be just the motivation I need to actually spend energy getting healthy in 2012…a goal I’ve had…forever…

Leave a Reply

