J’s Production Schedule aka my New Year’s Resolution

Hello all – Happy Saturday, Scriblers!  And Happy New Year’s Eve.  A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I was going to create a production schedule while the writing and publishing process was fresh in my mind from my recently released novel, The Peacock Tale.

I created the production schedule, forcing myself to use realistic time frames and deadlines.  That part was surprisingly hard.  See, I’m a planner, a major planner, but I work best under pressure.  Like I-have-30-minutes-to-clean-before-people-arrive, pressure.   Or the I-already-told-people-in-authority-that-the-project-is-done-and-now-I’d-better-get-my-butt-in-gear kind of pressure.

The good news is that I’ve built-in enough time to avoid cutting corners so I can do the job right.  The bad news is that if I want to put my next novel out on December 11, 2012, I need to start writing the first draft February 1st.  Huh.  That’s 32 days away.  Um…I’m not ready to start working on that novel yet.  I’ve got a bunch of other things I want to work on first.

What to do, what to do?  I’ve got a novella that I want to publish in the spring.  And I’ve got a picture book series for kindergarteners that I’d like to finish up.  And a couple of non-fiction books, a mystery for 1st graders, a romance, and oh…six or seven other books.  The idea factory has been in overdrive this year while the brain has been forcing me to focus on finishing things, not just starting them.

So what is this poor writer to do?  Well, I’ll have to start by pushing the launch date for The Orange Trade from 12-11-12 to sometime in the spring of 2013.  That’s assuming, of course, that we make it to 12-22-12 and from there onto 2013.  And, maybe this will be the kick in the pants that I need to finish some of my other projects.

But that aside, drawing up a step by step production schedule was a very helpful exercise.  You can take a look at it here Being Indie Published means that I’m in charge of everything, so it was good practice to write down all the steps.  And, evidently, a good inspiration, too.  🙂 

It seems that my 2012 New Year’s Resolution has revealed itself.  I need to get crackin’ on finishing some projects that I have already started.  I’ve got 3 non-fiction pieces that can be wrapped up in short order.  I’ve got some easy readers for 1st graders in the hopper; just need some editing, there.  And my kindergarten series has been outlined already.  It won’t take me more than a couple of days to write and edit those books.  They’ve only got about 40 sentences in ’em.

How exciting!  This production schedule has just illuminated some opportunities for instant gratification – how fun!  For 2012, I’m going to publish a bunch of things.  Here it is. Today’s secret: My goal for 2012 is to publish 6 books!

Today’s question: What’s your goal?

15 thoughts on “J’s Production Schedule aka my New Year’s Resolution”

    1. oh no, no, no, no, no no! I’m going to get 4 beginning readers done which are about 150 words each…and a cookbook, and a DIY Publishing book, a novella which is about 20,000. No WAY could I pump out 600,000 in one year! 🙂

    1. 1st person is hard…I don’t read a lot of first person and to tell you the truth I don’t even think of a story in the first person. Good Luck! 🙂

  1. Holy Production schedule, Batgirl! That’s ambitious, but I have faith in you. I like the way you broke everything down to do-able parts, and left some wiggle room for unexpected delays…which you and I both know are inevitable.

    As for me, I’ve got three full length YA books slotted for 2012 and a short story for a WG2E anthology coming out in October. I’m planning for the short story to be an intro to my characters for the first in my Dystopian Trilogy, which will come out probably in November or December. Up first, is Savage Cinderella, which is almost ready for Critique partners to look at one more time for me…ahem…you know who you are, Suze and Casey. Then it will be more revisions, Beta readers, and off to the editor by the end of January in order to meet the March release date. I’m planning for my next full length YA, called 21 Days, to come out probably in July or August. I need to do some brainstorming with that one because I’m stuck at the fifty page mark and have no clear direction for my characters, which tells me I’m not clear on their GMC. I’m learning that if I really understand the central conflict of the story, I can figure out what to do with the rest.

    Here’s to a productive and prosperous New Year for us all! Thanks for sharing, J.
    Cheers!

    1. Good luck to you as well! Three novel length books is a major undertaking. I’m going to crack out a bunch of picture books which is really harder on the illustrator than it is on me…

    1. Excellent! I’m taking Girlieque’s list of about 125 first grade sight words and doing an easy reader series for her. Each of those books has 150 words in it or so. I also want to do a longer, maybe 6 chapter simple mystery – kind of like the Magic Tree House books, using lots of 1st grade sight words, rhyming words and stuff like that. We’re still struggling with reading at my house, so hopefully this might help.

  2. You can do it, J. Especially if 4 of them are 150 words. I have complete confidence in you. My goal is to get my completed work published and to begin writing another novel. Today, as I sit here, my first goal is to get over this darn flu!

Leave a Reply

