Writing Interrupted?

Happy New Year! Katy Lee, here. Today I’m wondering how many resolution people are out there? I’ve visited many blogs and sites this week and have read quite a few resolutions (some serious, some hysterically funny), and honestly, I hope they reach them all! (The one who plans to make a million dollars in book sales—Go for it!)

Now, I am all for making a plan, but I am not a resolution person. I know life is filled with too many interruptions for them to stick. For example, I would love to lose twenty pounds, but I keep getting interrupted by breakfast, lunch and dinner. (I do love my food)

But seriously, I would love to make a resolution that this year I am going to complete four novels and sell two of them. It feels great to say, and in fact, having the New Year start today just motivates me more to sit my butt in the chair and get it done. But I know something will come up.

Picture this:

I’m sitting at my computer, writing like crazy. The thoughts are flowing too fast for my fingers to type. I am in the zone, and then, Bam! My son is sick. I am ripped out of my chair and all production stops for seven to ten days. (That’s what happened this week.)

After taking care of that interruption, I crack my knuckles and get back in the chair. My fingers begin to fly again; gradually I return to the zone, and then I swear not fifteen minutes go by when my husband calls, “What’s for dinner?” “The phone is for you.” “The kids need a bath.” “What’s for dinner?”

Oh, yeah, and let’s not forget the big 10 day interruption this year… “The Power’s out!”

Anyway, after jumping up and down, up and down, I’m lucky if I can get a line or two in before the next interruption.

I’ll be honest, many times I just want to throw in the towel and say forget it, and I’m sure that’s how a lot of resolutions get forgotten. Plans get interrupted. It’s not that we want to fail. I mean, seriously, who sets out to fail? And, I don’t know about you, but I can start to feel a bit resentful when I think I have.

I don’t like that feeling.

Writing is something that makes me happy, and I want to keep it that way. So, I suppose the only resolution I have is to make sure I keep my writing enjoyable through all of life’s interruptions. I understand that not everyone has the luxury to write to their heart’s content, and even some who do, choose to take their writing slow. In fact, I read somewhere that J.K. Rowling likes to write at a snail’s pace. She savors the process like a warm cuppa tea.

I also understand that each of my interruptions is food for my stories, so instead of taking out my anger, I take notes.

The Unlocked Secret:  Keep your writing enjoyable, even if you’re only savoring one line a day. Don’t get resentful about your responsibilities and interruptions. Complete them, learn from them, and use them. They’ll only make your stories stronger. And, whatever you do, don’t throw in the towel just because life throws you a curveball. Even though every day is not a New Year, it is a new day.

Question: So, go ahead, spill. Do you have a resolution this year? I do love to hear them.

30 thoughts on “Writing Interrupted?”

  1. Happy New Year Katy! I don’t make resolutions for the exact reason you mention. Resolving insinuates a hard and fast promise that ultimately sets you up for failure. It doesn’t take into account all of life’s little interruptions that are beyond our control. Instead, I set goals, make them flexible, and make them realistic. I set my intention on success, but don’t attach myself to the outcome. When things don’t go my way, and I don’t meet my goal, I accept that God has bigger plans for me than I have for myself.

    As far as resolving to lose ten pounds, I tried a diet once. It was the worst fifteen minutes ever. As soon as I tell myself not to do something, I immediately want to do it. I’ve learned to get around my rebellious inner teenager by making positive statements like, I’m adding more veggies to my meals, or I’m working out today while I watch tevoed episodes of Hawaii Five-o. I mean who would mind sweating and breathing heavy while watching Alex Olaughlin for an hour!

    Cheers to all you goal setters out there. May all your dreams come true in 2012.

  2. Happy New Year, Katy. My resolution (and yes, I made one) is simply to embrace the word/thought “prepare” throughout 2012. This will stand me in good stead with weight loss, eating healthy, writing goals, my faith walk — everything, really. Because success is all about preparation 🙂

    1. So true. I find when I diet, it work if I premake my meals for the week. This way when I get hungry, I’m not grabbing the first bad thing I see. I grabthe premade, ready for me meal.

      Also, in pertaining to writing, I always have my notebook to jot scenes and info don’t, so even when I’m not typing, I’m preparing for when I will.

      Good word, Jenna! Prepare

  3. I know it is hard to write when you have a family. A writer I know brings his laptop on the car and does a lot while he waits for the kids activities. There is nobody to bother you for 30 to 60 min. I am not a writer but it is just an idea.
    Ps…I am losing 30 lbs this year!

  4. I tend to take it day by day, like Barbara…but I do have monthly goals for writing, rather than daily or even weekly. One never knows what the world will bring, after all…Happy New Year, Scribes! So glad you started this blog!

    1. I like the idea of monthly wordcounts. It sure would give me that breathing room. Plus, I work better with deadlines. Happy New Year, Kristan. My kids got me your book, Until There Was You for Christmas. It was so good. 🙂

  5. Hi Katy, wonderful post. I am not a resolutions person, always having had to make business plans…which by the way are similar to resolutions. If you write a book and get it published, what do expect from your bottom line? What goals have you made, and what do you need to do to reach those goals? It is a productive process , just ask our Jennifer Fusco. So, for me, no resolutions. At this point of my life, I prefer the KISS methodology.

  6. Hi Katy- Great post. The kind of interruption I HATE is the phone call that begins something like, “Have we got a deal for you!” I can accept most others, but that one drives me nuts. I’ve never made resolutions, and my goals are always sort of lax, but I do try to get things done in a reaonable time. Like, “Oops, I haven’t written much this week, better buckle down knucklehead.” A bit of self -psyching that way works wonders for me. I go for short terms goals though. Like, Doughton (sp?) Abbey is on CPTV at 3 and I intened to watch it. Bob

    1. The self-psyching is a must. I find if I can at least psych myself up to get in the chair (and off of facebook) and start writing, my words on the page then psych me up even more to keep going. They really are my true motivation.

  7. I am unable to resist resolutions. For 2012, they are very personal and not really for public consumption, but they definitely include writing goals! Best wishes for everyone to meet their dreams in 2012.

    1. Nancy, I want this for you, not just as a resolution, but a life style change. I hope it’s okay, but I am going to pray for you that you stop and that any temptation or hold cigarettes have over you will be gone.

  8. I’m not making resolutions this year, but I am goal setting. I want to live healthier, write one new novel, finish a WIP, and sell at least one novel in 2012. I’m using this week to recommit to my writing, which I have been neglecting. 2012 is going to be an amazing year for all of us!

  9. As soon as I read your riff about breakfast, lunch and dinner interrupting your resolutions, I got up to eat! Of course, you had only reminded that I hadn’t had breakfast, but it made me smile.

    I have been telling myself that I won’t make resolutions this year, but have to admit that it’s fear of failure. My nemesis, the ogre that keeps me stuck. Maybe my resolution this year is to have more courage. Or maybe just to not berate myself for getting stuck. Which leads to… Ah, there it is: the fear/hesitation/shame cycle.

    Maybe resolutions aren’t so bad after all. And yes, I will fit into my favorite jeans by my birthday. Happy New Year!

  10. Fear of failure is a big ogre. It keeps us from trying anything new. If we believe we are going to fail, why bother? Believe in your courage. Don’t just think you have it. Believe it .

Leave a Reply

