Knowing and Growing…

In honor of the new year I’ve decided to give you all a homework assignment.(Yay homework!!!) It’s a simple, because this time it’s all about you. I want you think about yourselves for a few moments. Shut out the job, and the bills, and the spouses and kids and think only about you.

There are rules to this assignment though. You are not allowed to think about the ten pounds you gained, or the fight you had with your sister, or the job you lost. No failures allowed. But what I do want you to think about is what you learned about yourself these pasts 365 days. And since this was my bright idea I’ll share with you what I learned about myself this past year.

1. I’m not as good of a dancer as I thought I was.

If you think you’re a good dancer, then I recommend you buy the Just Dance video game, or the Micheal Jackson Experience and see how well your skills hold up against real dancers. I had a run in with the Black Eyed Peas Experience just yesterday and realized my boom boom pow, boom boom stunk.

2. I like Disco! You got a problem with that? 

I still don’t see why it gets such a bad rap. It’s music that makes you want to move and puts a smile on your face. How can you hate ABBA? Donna Summer? Gloria Gaynor?

3. I’m really good at my job.

But I could always be better.

4. I don’t always have a pleasing personality.

It’s usually when I’m tired, or hungry or sick, or annoyed, or… You get what I’m saying. I can turn into a cranky two-year old and very easily ruin your day.

5. All (ALL!) my friends are socially awkward.

But so am I and that’s probably why we’re friends.

6. Having three good friends is better than having twenty not -so- good ones.

If you’ve got a friend that will help you hide a body or wear a puffy sleeved mint green bridesmaid dress for you, you’ve got a friend for life.

7. I get really happy when I see that the people that I knew in high school have put on tons of weight. 

So mean, but it’s the truth. Admit it. You like it when people you don’t like look worse than you do.

8. It’s okay to hate the way you look some of the time.

As long as you can find something you love about yourself most of the time.

9. I like writing more than I like most people.

Is that wrong?

10. Rejection is just a part of the writing business. Expect it.

But it still stings.

11. My father and I are essentially the same person.

Shudder. I hope I don’t start growing gray chin hairs when I turn 50.

12. I really love my fellow Scribes.
Mushy? Who cares. They have taught me a lot just by being alive.

Your turn! This is homework. Remember? Tell me one thing you learned about yourself this year. Or just say ‘hi’, comments are like cupcakes for me, delicious and addicting.

22 thoughts on “Knowing and Growing…”

  1. Aww… you are so sweet! I love you too Jamie! One thing I learned in 2011 – joining CTRWA was the best decision I ever made. My world grewer ten times bigger with that one choice! Oh, and I love roller derby – stay tuned on Friday for more on that!

  2. What I learned about myself in 2011 (and I didn’t learn this until the last half of 2011) I am a bulldog. The worst kind. I sink my teeth into something (or someone) and I don’t let go. I am goal oriented to a fault and don’t you DARE tell me “No!” Is this good? Sometimes. Do I piss people off? Sure. Do I care? Not really. I guess that’s just life as a bulldog.

  3. My goodness, is there still more to learn about myself? I suppose. Learning is a lifelong process, at least while we are still breathing. I learned, recently, that my girl scout training has paid off. We have a new gadget in the house…a wood stove. My girl scout training taught me how to start a fire and keep it going. Do you have any idea how important keeping a fire going is when you heat your house with a wood stove? Great post Jamie!

    1. The last time I tried to start a fire I nearly burned my house down. So yay for you and keeping your house still standing!

  4. Hi Jamie,
    You are making me think. It’s 10:30 a.m., and since I’m quite the night person, my brain isn’t functioning … yet … that could be one of the things I know about me. Yes? Great post. I will have to get back to you on my learning process.

  5. What have I learned, what have I learned…it’s cliche and I’m gonna say it anyway, I’m stronger than I thought I was. I’ll admit, if you’re not important to me, I could (mostly) care less what you think about me. It’s taken me years and I wish I learned it back in high school but my sense of self and confidence in like 95% of myself has made me stronger. I’m not saying I’m perfect, ohhhhh nooo nooo no, but I’m saying that I am who I am and I think she’s pretty awesome, flaws or not.

    1. It’s like that old saying… What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. And all those haters have made you one hell of a chick.

      1. Lol thanks – plus I have really great friends who help me that other 5% when I need a boost. 🙂

  6. I love your list, Jamie. Very enlightening. I get to know you better with every post.

    One thing I learned about myself this year, is that I am the toughest boss I’ve ever had. I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard in all my life. Except for single parenting, I’d say self-publishing is the most challenging job I’ve ever tackled. My boss is driven, relentless and ruthless when it comes to meeting deadlines. Having said that, I think she’s pretty amazing and deserves a big fat raise on 2012.

    1. When I think about self pubbing I get exhausted and realize I’m much too lazy to take on such a huge project. I think you deserve a raise too. Here’s to hoping you sell a million copies!

  7. Good post, Jamie, although I think you were a little hard on yourself. I learned that I did have it in me to finish a book. I learned that I could handle rejection, and use it to make my work better. I learned I love writing and my writer friends so much that I won’t ever quit. 2011 was a good year.

    Happy New Year, scribes. 🙂

  8. I’m late getting here today, but what did I learn in 2011? I learned that my baby boy is now a teenager, and I can no longer treat him like my young prince (at least not in public). I learned so much about the craft of writing and the business of writing, I feel like I could . . . write a book! A much, much better book. Through putting myself out there, I’ve made more friends through CTRWA and long distance friends through RWA and Facebook than I’ve made over the last, oh, ten or fifteen years combined. And yes, to #12! I love my Sister Scribes, and all you honorary Scribes out there. Happy New Year!

  9. Oh, and Jamie, BTW. I expect you can still dance circles around me! I love to dance, but I’m more like Elaine from Seinfeld than, say, Nicole Scherzinger from The Pussycat Dolls

Leave a Reply

