Dream On

Hey, Friends!  Suze here.  Hope you’re all having a great day.  Amateur Freuds and Freudettes, get out your notebooks and pencils, because I’m about to lie down on the couch and bare my soul!

Yes, that really IS just a cigar

Last night, or maybe I should say this morning, I had a dream.  And along with it came a sense of deja vu. See, I’ve had this dream countless times before.  It’s not as though I’m playing a DVD over and over in my sleep.  The settings and actions are never quite the same twice.  But the overall formula is the same.

Now, this isn’t the dream where you find yourself walking naked through the high school cafeteria, and nobody notices (which is either a good or a bad thing, depending on your point of view!).  Or the one where you show up to class and realize that it’s the final exam and you never did any homework all semester and never studied for the test (Wait!  Was that a dream, or did it actually happen?).  Or my personal favorite, the one where you’re late for gym class, and you realize you don’t know which gym locker is yours and you can’t remember the combination anyway.  Why are so many of these about school?

I’ve had all these dreams, as well as the nasty one where your teeth are loose/falling out, more than once.  But my single most recurring dream is the one I had just before I woke up today.  I find myself in a house, and it’s familiar, yet not familiar.  It’s always a house or apartment I’ve actually been to or lived in — my parents’ house, my grandparents’ farm, the apartment I lived in with six other people when I got out of college (I like to call that place “the group home”), the apartment I lived in with my husband-to-be, and the house I live in now.  Sometimes there are other people there, but not always.

But the common theme is that I discover that the house is actually much larger than I thought.  There aren’t exactly secret or hidden rooms, but there are rooms I’ve never discovered, even though I lived there a long time.  Usually I will go up a flight of stairs, and through a door, and find a number of additional rooms to the house.  And I’ll say to myself, “Hey!  I’ve been needing more space, and here it is!  Why didn’t I notice this before? And what’s all this cool stuff in here?”

Then I wake up, before I get a chance to examine the cool stuff or plan what I will do with all that extra room.

A dream dictionary I consulted (click here) has this to say:

To dream that you are walking up a flight of stairs indicates that you are achieving a higher level of understanding. You are making progress into your spiritual, emotional or material journey. The dream is also analogous to material and thoughts that are coming to the surface.

To dream that you find or discover a new room suggests that you are developing new strengths and taking on new roles. You may be growing emotionally. Consider what you find in the discovered room as it may indicate repressed memories, fears, or rejected emotions. Alternatively, such rooms are symbolic of neglected skills or rejected potential.

To see a house in your dream represents your own soul and self. Specific rooms in the house indicate a specific aspect of your psyche. In general, the attic represents your intellect, the basement represents the unconscious, etc.

In your dreams, Suze!

I always feel positive about these dreams.  I never feel uncomfortable or frightened of the unknown.  It’s more a sense of wonder.  I also often find that having this dream (which happens several times a year) corresponds with periods of increased creativity and productivity in my waking life — definitely the mode I’m in right now.  So I always interpret it in a positive light, and I’m always  glad when it comes.  I do sort of wish, though, that my psyche would get original once in a while and give me a nice dream about, oh, I don’t know, Hugh Jackman?

What about you?  Do you have a recurring dream to share?  What do you think it means?

8 thoughts on “Dream On”

  1. i LOVED this post, Suze! Your creativity is definitely showing. As I was reading about your dream, I was analyzing it and came up with much the same as your dream book did.

    I love analyzing dreams. They tell you so much about what’s happening behind the scenes. I had one recently that was a new take on an old familiar school dream. Usually, it’s junior high or high school, but this week I dreamed I was back at my old elementary school and going into the fifth grade. The funny part was that I was an adult and I couldn’t get into a college to get my Bachelors degree because I had skipped fifth grade and they wanted me to go back and complete it.

    So there I was in Mark Twain Elementary (before it was an old folks home–I’m sure that means something too), and I’m walking around looking for my classroom, a glass of white wine in hand, thinking “I really should get rid of this”, and “where the hell is the hall monitor to tell me where to go?”

    Analyze that! I’m sure it has something to do with one of my classmates posting our third grade class picture on FB this week and our class reunion is this year. 30 years…geesh! It seems like yesterday.

  2. Hi! I don’t have recurring dreams very often, but I do have lots of adventure dreams where I’m saving the world or working for the FBI or something like that. And sometimes my dreams come true. I used a couple of those in my first novel, The Cordovan Vault…two of the dreams that Kayla has come true really happened to me…

  3. Interesting. I don’t have recurring dreams so much as dreams of recurring buildings. There are at least seven. A couple are based on places I’ve lived, but only loosely — they’re all much bigger inside in my dreams. One of them has a lot of secret passageways and staircases, some of which lead into hidden rooms. Another has a child’s playroom which can only be reached through a closet. One is some kind of college dormitory, and sometimes I am searching for a shack in the woods that I remember clearly but cannot find.

    Sometimes I live in them, and sometimes I’m just visiting. The people that are in each change, and the contexts (but not the geographical locations) in which they appear differ. But I always recognize the building, thinking “Oh, this is the one with that huge master bedroom on the fourth floor,” or “this is the one with the industrial kitchen.”

    I also own certain recurring cars in my dreams (most of which are nothing like any car I have ever owned) and there’s even a motorcycle that shows up from time to time.

    Any hints from the dream dictionary?

  4. I have bizzarro dreams all the time. Since I already have a writing notebook by my bed, I write them down and occasionally it sparks an idea for my WIP. The worst are the ones where something happens to my boys and there is nothing I can do to stop it. Okay, those are nightmares and I always wake up all unhappy and freaked out. I do have pleasant dreams too. My favorite – I can fly around and see the world from above. Any insight from the dream guide on that one?

  5. Hi Suze,
    I wouldn’t mind dreaming aboug Hugh Jackman, that’s for sure! When I have vivid dreams, I wake up and write them down right away. According To Legend started out from a dream. I agree with your dream book, sounds like you are about to ride the creative wave.

  6. I dunno, I don’t remember my dreams much anymore. Maybe it’s my age, or maybe I am losing my mind, or maybe I am lazy. If I don’t drink coffee and coke, my sleep is so sound, by the time I awaken, any dreams have vanished. What does all this mean?

  7. I dream about “dead” people; relatives who have passed on. Mostly the dream involves my late husband who is always alive and well in my dream of course. Yet, I’m unable to talk to him directly. In fact I had this dream last night. and again although he’s in the dream he doesn’t talk to me. And then as the dream continues he disappears. I wake up and feel a renewed loss. Not sure what this all means.

  8. I don’t usually remember my dreams, although, I have had a few where family members who have passed on come and visit with me. I don’t know if it is real or just a dream, but they are very peaceful and sometimes helpful. So I don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

