Interview with Author Cynthia Woolf

Thanks for taking time out of your busy day to join us, Cynthia.We have a few questions for you. Cynthia will be gifting a copy of her new release, Centauri Midnight to one of our commenters. Entry valid through 2/1/12 ( I love the cool numerology that happens every time I write the date lately). By the way, today is the Scribes 250th post. So her’s a big THANK YOU! to all you Scribes followers. You ROCK! Without further delay, let’s get to our guest blogger, Cynthia Woolf.

 1.    How did you get started writing?I wrote my first story when I was about ten.  It was a romance about me and a little boy I liked.  I also wrote some very depressing poetry.  I decided that poetry was not for me and stuck to romance.

2.    What genre(s) do you write in and why?  I have a historical western romance and a sci-fi romance out now.  The sci-fi is the first in a series.  I write in these genre’s because they are the ones whose stories reached out to me.  The western was the first book I wrote and was inspired by my parents love story.  It’s set on the same ranch that they met on in 1941.  My book is set in 1885, so it’s not their love story.  My dad was a cowboy and trapper but to the best of my knowledge was never a bounty hunter. 

The sci-fi series was done because of dreams I had when I was a teenager.  I knew I was a princess from Alpha Centauri.  There was no way I could belong to the crazy family I had.  Of course, I adore that crazy family now.

3.    What inspired your latest book?  Centauri Twilight is the second book in the Centauri Series.  I used to dream that I was a princess from Alpha Centauri, that was the basis for Centauri Dawn, book 1 in the series. 

Book 2 is much darker.  Lara is the twin sister of Audra in book 1.  Lara has been a sex slave since she was a child.  Having escaped, she’s now an outlaw and working to free the rest of the slaves who are now her people.

4.    What is your favorite part of writing?  My favorite part is what I call the ‘puking’ phase.  Just getting it all down on paper for the first time.  You just let if flow out of you, not caring, for the moment, if it is good or bad.

5.    What is your least favorite part of writing?  Editing is my least favorite.  I’m constantly questioning myself and my work.  Changing it, correcting it, putting it back to what it was and starting it all again.  It’s never good enough for me.

6.    What is your next project and when will it be released?  My newest book is called CENTAURI MIDNIGHT and is the third book in the Centauri Series, just out this month.

7.    How much time do you spend promoting your books?  What works best for you?  I spend a lot of time promoting my books.  A minimum of two hours per day.  Usually more but it is in 15 or 20 minute increments throughout the day, not in one big chunk.  Between Facebook, Twitter, blogging, putting announcements on loops, etc, I spend a lot of time doing it.  So far, blogging seems to get me the biggest bump in  my sales.

8.  How has your experience with self-publishing been?  My experience has been wonderful.  I highly recommend it for everyone out there who doesn’t want to be constrained by the “big” traditional publisher.  For everyone who wants to write from their heart and not according to the industry rules and constraints, self publishing is the only way to go.

9.  Where do you get the ideas for your stories?  I have ideas from everywhere.  My sci-fi series is from my dreams as a teenager.  My western was inspired by my parents own meeting and love story.  I place Tame A Wild Heart about 60 years earlier than when my parents met but the setting on a ranch is the same.  My dad was a real cowboy and my mom was what we would call a nanny now.  They were called nursemaids then.

10.  What advice do you have for other authors wanting to self-publish?  Go for it.  It’s a wild ride but totally worth it.

TAME A WILD HEART from Amazon http://www.amzn.to/uEoTO0

CENTAURI DAWN from Amazon http://www.amzn.to/uwGgHo

CENTAURI TWILIGHT from Amazon http://www.amzn.to/t3Um6q

22 thoughts on “Interview with Author Cynthia Woolf”

  1. Hi Cynthia! Welcome to the Scribes. I see you all the time out on the FF& P loop. Best of luck on your books. I love Sci-Fi romance and, if you ask me, there aren’t enough of them out there! So, thank you! 🙂

  2. Thank you to 7 Scribes for having me today.
    Casey – I couldn’t agree more. There are not enough sci-fi romance books out there. I’m just going to have to keep writing them I guess. 🙂
    Suzanne – My western, TAME A WILD HEART, is the book of my heart. My mothers stories of how she and my dad met on a ranch fueled my imagination. Now that they are both gone, I think of those stories often. TAME A WILD HEART is my ode to my parents.

    Thank you both for commenting.

    Cynthia

  3. Hi! It’s great to hear from another Indie Pub’d author, and your books sound fun! What’s your timeline in getting books out? I’ve heard a bunch of people say to write the book, spell check it and get it out there, but that doesn’t seem like the best process for me. I gave myself 6 months to get my second novel written and out, but I think I should have allowed 8 months.

    1. I write very quickly but the editing is a long process. I’d had TAME A WILD HEART and Centauri Dawn written for a long time, but the editing took 5 months. Of course, while one book it going through edits I write new ones. I have two more sci-fi romances writien, one western and one western short story of about 8K. They are in the process of edits now and I have one more sci-fi that I’ve just started to write.

    1. I don’t really have a schedule. I’m pretty much on 24/7 much to my husbands dismay. I’m either writing, editing, blogging or promoting all the time. I take a couple of hours in the evening and relax with my husband. I have terrible insomnia and only sleep about 2 hours at a time, so I get a lot done at night as well.

      1. I’m still amazed by how much time goes into this job. I’d hate to calculate my hourly wage when I think of all the hours I spend. I, too am on 24/7 it seems. It really has to be a passion (or obsession) for us to do what we do.

      2. PJ, you’re right. I don’t think I make a nickel an hour for the books, but I love what I do and I’m lucky that I can write full time. I was laid off in June and am using the time to try and get my writing career off to a start.

  4. Hello Cynthia, I have to admit that I have not read the books you discuss here, but I can’t wait to read them now! They sound wonderful! I also have to admit I am new to the Indie Authors and I love the talent I have found! This is my first visit to this particular Blog I think and I am definitely going to be back! Thank You!

    1. Hi Jan. I’m glad that you stopped by. This is my first time to this blog as well so we are both newbies, but hopefully they’ll have me back again. I’ve found wonderful book by indie authors. They are some of the funniest, most thrilling books that New York never would have published. Being an independent author gives you the ability to call all the shots. You pick your cover, you get your own editor, do your edits and decide how your books is going to be. It’s all yours to sink or swim. I’ve been very lucky in that people are enjoying my books and passing the word.

  5. Hi Cynthia, loved the interview. Especially “the puking phase”…I will never be able to write another first draft without hearing it called that, LOL. I’m excited to read your Centauri books! I was a teenage kick-butt princess from Star Wars, so I’m a complete fool over SF Romances.

  6. Thanks for stopping by the Scribes today! I love, love, love that we get to meet so many new people here, and find so many fabulous books in genres I don’t usually read. But should!

  7. Cindy, Thanks for being with us and good luck with the books.

    After carefully placing all names in my magic boller hat, the lucky winner of our giveaway is Jan Scott! Congratulations Jan. Cindy will be in touch to tell you how to get your book. Thanks to everyone who stopped by to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

