The Man I Love…

Sigh… I fall in love twice a year. That day dreamy, can’t- stop- thinking- about- him, long- to- see- his- face kind of love. You really should meet him. He’s strong and tall. Sensitive but in a manly way. And sexy. He’s got a killer smile and eyes that seems to pierce the soul. Oh sure, he’s got flaws but they are so gosh darn adorable they only make him more lovable.  And it’s only through a cruel twist in fate that we cannot be together.

Much to my mother’s disappointment the man I love doesn’t exist. Sigh… (No grandbabies this year.) That’s because the man I love is my hero. The one I spent months creating and he belongs to somebody else.

One of my best friends says that I’m so picky when it comes to men because I read too many romance novels.(I disagree!!!!) But there is some truth in that statement. It takes me a long time to fall in love with my hero. When I first start writing a book it’s a little like a first date. I meet my hero. I find out that he’s kind of cute and he’s got a cool job and his bottom looks super fine in a pair of jeans. Dates two and three are like chapters five and six. I find out a little more about him. Stuff that is slightly more personal, like he’s got a fear of cats and a dimple appears on his left cheek when he laughs. Then after a couple of months I learn that maybe his relationship is not so good with his mother and that his 5 o’clock shadow appears around 7:30. And despite the fact that he never puts away his shoes he still a really good guy.

It’s a this point I’m in love with him.

As a romance writer I have to be in love with the guy I’m writing or my book is not going to work. I’m not sure how it is for writers of other genres but I have to love my hero because I am giving him to my heroine. And she’s a girl that I really like. She’s is somebody I would want to be friends with if we ever met.

I have to know them both inside and out. Their favorite colors, what they smell like, what they look like when they wake up in the morning. What makes them afraid. It’s why for me, writing those first few chapters is so torturous. It’s like a first date, nerve-racking, anxiety producing torture. First chapters and first dates are where you make first impressions. For singles it’s when you decide if you want to see them again and for readers it’s the time you decided whether you want to continue with the book.

So do you see why I have to love him? Because I can’t expect my heroine and more importantly my readers to. Non-writers might think I’m nuts but Scribes fan you understand me, don’t you?”

And since Valentine’s Day is tomorrow I thought I’d ask you: Have you ever fallen in love with your hero? Are you friends with your heroine? Do you get what I’m saying? Do you feel the love? Any and all comments are welcome. Chocolate and roses are too!

21 thoughts on “The Man I Love…”

  1. You are not nuts. I totally get where you are coming from. I go through pretty much the same thing. And your heros are hot and definitely worthy of love! And I could be friends with your heroines. So I say, mission accomplished!

  2. Now I must read your stories, Jamie! I’m already in love with your heroes. I totally get it, and I’m the same way. If I don’t love my characters I can’t expect anyone else to. I liked how you compared it to the dating process. That’s hysterical and soooo true!

  3. Ah, that is the reason I started writing my own stories. Very few authors had heroes I could really love. When I could still love a man even with a cleft chin, dimple, or short hair, I knew that woman could write!

  4. Jamie, that’s very well put,and I like the comparison of getting to know a man with the progression of the ms. I have got to meet some of your heroes.

    Thankfully, my real life hero understands that I am going to keep falling in love with other men…who all live in different centuries and inside my head as well as belonging to somebody else. By the end of the book, I’m so happy these two people I love, my hero and heroine, have found each other, that I like to bask in the glow for a little while. Then the next guy comes in and we start all over again.

    1. I find it hard to let go of some of those heros. When I am nearing the end of a manuscript I get a little sad. It’s crazy, I know but it almost feels like I’m losing a love.

  5. This was so true! I love the way you broke down the process! And yes, my mantra is always “Love the boy, love the book”….I fall hard for every one of my heroes. I try not to lose perspective, and sometimes I fall for someone I hadn’t intended to be my hero…this happened in my second finished manuscript. I was a third of the way in before I thought….wait, Will, the guy who is supposed to be the shallow best friend of the hero is…um….the hero.

    Now I’m dying to read your books….

    1. Thanks Huntley! I fell in love with the hero’s best friend of my last manuscript. Now guess who is has their own story.

  6. I am sick in love with my hero. Like…I get swoony and stuff. Knees turn to water, my stomach does that weird swirly pulling thing…next thing you know, I’ll be making out with my hand again.

  7. This is exactly why I never finished my first book – a romance. A third of the way through writing it, I met my husband and fell in love with him. I fell out of love with my fictitious hero. Fifteen years later, I’m still in love with my husband, but I’m ready to try the world of romance again…writing that is. Hubby – don’t freak out! :)

  8. This is my first manuscript, based on a true story. My hero is an artist who I am deeply involved with. Do I love him, no, but I am in love with his art. Does that count?

    1. If it’s not a traditional romance novel I don’t think being in love with your hero is that important but having passion for your writing is. Love what ever you need to to make it work.

  9. Yeah, I fall in love with heroes all the time. But I’m completely fickle and have a bigger tendency to fall for secondary characters, maybe because I know the hero is already spoken for. Casey’s got a character like that for me — I just can’t quit him! Once upon a time I rarely read romance (GASP!), and J Monkeys introduced me to Julie Garwood’s For the Roses. So, I’m reading along, and it turns out I (inexperienced romance reader that I was) misidentified the hero in the story. I mean, I thought the one guy (the actual hero, Lord Harrison Stanford MacDonald) was going to turn out to be the villain, and this other guy, one of the Clayborne brothers, was going to come in and save the heroine. You should have seen the look on J’s face when I told her what I thought was going to happen. I mean, she nearly ran for the garlic and holy water. I don’t usually misidentify heroes anymore, but I still kind of root for the underdog.

Leave a Reply

