Those Crazy Ides of March

Hello, Scribelings, Suze here. It’s March 15, and you know what that means (ominous music playing …)

Vincenzo Camuccini, Mort de César, 1798
It means it’s the 15th of March! The Ides of March. And I say … big deal. You can’t scare me. You’ve all heard the saying –Beware the Ides of March. Ad nauseum, probably. Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar was warned by a fortuneteller about the Ides, and the prophecy came true when Brutus killed him that day. Ever since, people have thought of this day as bad luck.

Well, what you might not know is that every month has an Ides: the 15th day of March, May, July, or October or the 13th day of any other month in the ancient Roman calendar. Come on. They can’t all be bad, can they? It simply means the halfway point of any month. The Ides of March was actually a day of celebration for the god Mars until Julius Caesar got himself killed that day, and ruined it for everyone.

Is there such a thing as bad luck? Friday the 13th. Black cats crossing your path. Killing a cricket. Walking under a ladder. Opening an umbrella indoors. Personally, I don’t think any of these things, other than maybe killing an innocent cricket, is going to ruin your karma.

But there is one bad luck omen that will wreck your whole day. It’s not well known, so I’m revealing it here as sort of a public service announcement. Never, ever put the plastic lid on your coffee or soda cup so that the opening from which you drink is aligned with the seam of the cup. The opening should be directly opposite the seam. My husband made this one up.  We’ve been observing it for so long, though, that it feels real.

Which just goes to show you that the more often something is repeated, the more true it seems to become.

If today really doesn’t turn out so hot for you, never fear. St. Patrick’s Day is only a couple of days away, and then you can count on the Luck of the Irish!

What omens or objects to you consider good (or bad) luck? Do you have a personal talisman?

10 thoughts on “Those Crazy Ides of March”

  1. I just did a post yesterday at KissandTellYA about there being no such thing as luck. You’ve ruined that for me, Suze! LOL. Just kidding. What I was saying was that IMHO, we make our own luck through preparing for success, being open to opportunities, and working hard. Do I believe in divine intervention, karma, energetic happenstance? You bet! Which is probably why Ceaser got what was coming to him. It had nothing to do with the date:-)

    1. I missed that post, PJ! Have you heard that expression, “The harder I work, the luckier I get?” I think that’s true to a certain extent. But you have to be working at a thing you love, that you’re giving positive energy to. Because that’s when the good things (call it luck if you want) come to you.

    1. I was shocked. It took until about 10:00 a.m. for someone in my office to finally say it. I don’t know why I get a little annoyed with this one. Hope the kids didn’t have a Brutus and Caesar reenactment with fake swords!

    1. Gotta love the Wikipedia, eh Gerri?! Where else would we get our “facts” for our blog posts? 🙂 Today certainly is not unlucky for you, you about-to-be-published-twice author! Congratulations!

  2. Yeah, poor Caesar, he did have a really bad day. Yet, we are still talking about him 🙂 the ultimate celebrity. I’m not superstituous, otherwise, I wouldn’t own a black cat or live in a house with an unlucky street number!

    1. Haha! I have a black cat too. But do be careful about those coffee and soda cups. Drinking the wrong way can totally wreck your day!

  3. Chuckle, chuckle, chuckle. Did you know, they say, if you say it three times you will have a lucky laugh. Tell you the truth Susz, I never heard of Ides of March. Now that I have, I guess I better watch my back. I had forgotten about Caesar and how he got killed. But those thoughts will not impact my day, month or year(s). My mother was a believer in the aforementioned, but I don’t think she knew about crickets. Noisy little devils. Get one in your house, and it is all over. Thanks for a fun post.

Leave a Reply

