Brushes With Greatness

Hello, my loves. Suze here. Welcome!

This weekend my extended writing posse, Connecticut Romance Writers of America (click here for more information!), is having a very special guest visit our monthly meeting: Historical Romance Goddess Julia Quinn! Woohoo! (If you live within driving distance of southern Connecticut, there’s still time to get a ticket)

The fan girl in me is salivating at this opportunity to meet JQ. And it got me thinking about other brushes with greatness I’ve had. Here’s my list:

1.  Janet Evanovich and her daughter Alex.  Sister Scribe J Monkeys and I drove out toward Beantown, had a long boozy lunch, then went to Janet’s book signing for Wicked Appetite. We visited with Alex while we waited in line for our turn to meet Janet. Awesome!  Still hoping we absorbed some of that magic …

2.  Doug Henning. The youngsters among us may not recognize the name, but back in the day he was quite a famous illusionist.  I was waiting to go up into the CN Tower in Toronto, and Doug and his very Bohemian girlfriend/wife — she actually wore a beret and a peasant skirt — were

Wish upon that star, baby!
in front of me.  I recall he had a HUGE head of long, black, curly hair, and kind of a bunny-like smile. He was extremely thin, and very short. I’m only five-three, and he was shorter than I if you subtracted the high eighties hair. Did not get free tickets to his show. Crap.

3.  Unknown 1950s/60s comic. Mr. Suze and I got married at a resort hotel in New York State. There was a gentleman getting some quietly special treatment when we went to breakfast the next morning. He looked familiar, and we knew he had to be some comedian from the Red Skelton era, but we never did figure out who he was. This is one of those things that will likely bug me forever!

4.  Richard Chamberlain. I went to NYC with my bestie from back home to see The Sound of Music. We were in a very small theater, and we had really great seats, right up front. Now, raise your hands. Who was in love with Father Ralph in The Thorn Birds? Every one of you, right? Well …. hang onto those memories because he didn’t look so great a few years ago as Captain Von Trapp. I mean, I know the man was getting up there in years, but he was wearing an inordinate amount of makeup that did NOT help the situation. Also guyliner.  Let’s just go back and think about Father Ralph again, shall we?

5. Katherine Hepburn. Mr. Suze and I used to keep a boat down at the shore, until I “made” him sell it (still a sore subject in our house). While we were out on Long Island Sound once, we were traveling behind a yacht. Up on the top deck sat an elderly woman, bundled up against the wind, all alone save for her captain at the helm. There was no mistaking her. She looked happy. She didn’t invite us back to her place for tea. Sigh.

So spill! What celebrities have you seen up close? Was the experience monumental? Or was it monumentally disappointing?

18 thoughts on “Brushes With Greatness”

  1. Well written Suze… Well while strolling on a beach in Kennebunkport ME, my wife and I met Barbara Bush- and then Charlie bit her! (Charlie is our rambunctious Golden Retriever). And one while we we in Washington DC we were walking in front of the White House, and a short woodchucky looking Wolf Blitzer walked by and smiled and nodded to us. I have been on planes with AJ Foyt car racing legend, Bill Russell basketball legend, and Joe Namath pantyhose legend.

    A near miss for me was while roaming Hollywood with the missus and kidz, the gals were in Tiffany’s dream shopping. They tried to get me to go in – “because that’s where the stars would be”. THEY got to look at diamond tennis bracelets with Peter Gallagher of “The OC” but I did not.

    For anyone familiar with Canadian TV- I was waiting for a plane in Saskatoon with Brent Butt and Nancy Robertson stars of “Corner Gas”.

    And I have had my picture taken with singer/songwriter Jill Sobule, and actress Julia Sweeney (Can you say Saturday Night LIVE).

    Fun!

    1. I love that your dog bit the former first lady/first mother…Is that wrong? I hope he didn’t hurt her or anything…I have a chihuahua living with me that would likely have peed on her…he does everyone else…

      1. Yes he hurt her… she bled! Her skin was like paper. My wife said “sorry”, the secret service agent called for help in his lapel microphone, a SUV came racing to the seawall and Charlie gamboled off. She was very cool about it though, and said “I forgot how sharp puppy teeth can be!” (She had been holding his toy while we took her picture.) I think he is a left leaning dawg…

      2. WOW – Okay – just in case big brother is out there reading this – let me state clearly that I’d never advocate for actually hurting someone, no matter what their political leanings are…I just thought it would be kinda funny if he nibbled on her a little in a non-harming sort of way…but cool that you didn’t get arrested or anything…and that you got to witness the real life Secret Service thing in action!

      3. Hey, HM! Great to see you here! And J, we love Charlie. He was about the cutest darned pup ever, even though he is now probably on a government watch list of some kind 🙂

  2. Well written Suze… Well while strolling on a beach in Kennebunkport ME, my wife and I met Barbara Bush- and then Charlie bit her! (Charlie is our rambunctious Golden Retriever). And one while we we in Washington DC we were walking in front of the White House, and a short woodchucky looking Wolf Blitzer walked by and smiled and nodded to us. I have been on planes with AJ Foyt car racing legend, Bill Russell basketball legend, and Joe Namath pantyhose legend.

    A near miss for me was while roaming Hollywood with the missus and kidz, the gals were in Tiffany’s dream shopping. They tried to get me to go in – “because that’s where the stars would be”. THEY got to look at diamond tennis bracelets with Peter Gallagher of “The OC” but I did not.

    For anyone familiar with Canadian TV- I was waiting for a plane in Saskatoon with Brent Butt and Nancy Robertson stars of “Corner Gas”.

    And I have had my picture taken with singer/songwriter Jill Sobule, and actress Julia Sweeney (Can you say Saturday Night LIVE).

    Fun!

  3. How interesting Sussannah. I guess we have all had a brush with a star(s). Mine is meeting Eddie Cantor at the famous Lindy’s (now defunct) in New York, I was only 15, but I knew who he was. I said hello, he was sweet, but never asked for his autograph. Then, not all that long ago, staying at the Beverly Hills Hotel a few times, I met Carroll O’Connor (all in the family), Peter Falk (the famous detective), and Susanne Plechet, who dropped her perfume bottle on my foot in the entry of the hotel. Burt Bacharat, met him on the tennis courts at the hotel. I talked with all these folks, but didn’t ask for autographs. That was not appropriate at the time, I didn’t even think of it. I met Joel Gray and Liza Minnelli at the movie premiere of “Cabaret.” There were others. They are all in my memory bank. So, how did all those stars get in my eyes? My deceased husband was the CEO of Allied Artist Films. In one of my nine or so life times. Thanks for the memories, fun post.

    1. Those are some fine celeb meet-and-greets, Gail! You never stop amazing me with your experiences. Next stop: publication!

  4. Well, I have the brush with greatness to top all brushes. Whilst a waitress a Friendly’s on the UConn campus – pretty much the only public place to eat in walking distance at the time – I waited on the delightful actor Ron Palilo aka Arnold Horshack from Welcome Back Kotter. And I’ve met Ben from Ben and Jerry’s a couple of times. Then the above referenced meeting with Janet E, and Tess Geritsen. I’m pretty PSYCHED about Saturday though…Julia Quinn is my # 2 favorite author these days. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEE! It’s gonna be hard to keep up any kind of professional face…

    1. Oh, yeah, I forgot about Tess Gerritsen at our little library. That was some kind of cool. I’m sure you’ll be fine with JQ. Honestly, if you can serve French fries and a Fribble to Horshak, you can do most anything!

      1. And I did it while refraining from raising my hand high in the air shooting “Ooooooh, oooooh, Mr. Kotter!”

  5. I’ve had a few celebrity run-ins living down in D.C. – Roger Mudd, Joyce Dewitt, Ed Asner.I was at George Bush’s (first one) innaguration and saw a boat load of celebrities. The one I remember the most was Wayne Newton because he was orange colored (bad tan maybe?) and had on a giant fur coat. The actress who played Jenny Piccolo on Happy Days attended my college. When I was a teenager, I met Walter Koenig at a Star Trek convention. I still have his signed photo stashed away. By far, my favorite celebrity run-in was about 10 years ago in Austin Texax. Hubby and I went there to see Russell Crowe’s band- Thirty Odd Foot of Grunts. I got to meet one of his bandmates. Right before we went into the show, Russell drove by on his big Harley and waved to all of us fans. The venue was so small, we were only a few feet away from him. His future wife – Danielle Spencer was the opening act. It was really, really awesome.

  6. I’ve met Vincent Dinofrio from Law and Order CI. Jeffery Tambour. But my greatest near brush with greatness was Johnny Dep. We only saw the back of his head while the paps swarmed and chased but it was still pretty cool.

      1. See I read your comment really fast Jamie, while coming off the Russell Crowe up above and I read that you met Jude Law….I’m sad to find that isn’t what you wrote…but nice Depp sighting!

Leave a Reply

