Jessica Nelson shares about her debut novel, Love On The Range

Hello all! Katy Lee here. Today the Scribes welcome debut author, Jessica Nelson. Jessica’s book, Love on the Range has just been released through Harlequin’s Love Inspired line. What an accomplishment, Jessica! We are so happy for you. Thank you for chatting with me today, and giving us a glimpse into your writing life. Readers, one lucky commenter will receive a copy of Love on the Range!
 
Jessica, what would you do if you couldn’t be a writer any longer?
 
Hmmm, do you mean I physically couldn’t write? I think that no matter what, I’ll always be a storyteller, even if only in my imagination. If I physically couldn’t write anymore I guess I’d get some of the voice-activated software and tell my story. *grin* Maybe pay someone with chocolate to transcribe my words?
 
Very creative! So, okay, they say that every author has a partially completed, quite-possibly-terrible half a story shoved in a drawer somewhere. What is yours? What is it about? What makes it terrible? Would you ever consider picking it up and finishing it?
 
Oh yes, there’s one hiding on my hard drive. All 40k glory…LOL Mine is something that started out as a women’s fiction type of YA and morphed into a romantic suspense. There’s absolutely no focus to it although I still love the characters. I don’t think I could finish it because the basic skeleton of great story isn’t there and honestly, I’m afraid to open that document anyway. 🙂
 
I understand about being afraid to open them! Yikes! Please, Jessica, Share with us your biggest misstep in your writing career so far?
 
Eeek! I don’t know! I think I’ve bombed most of my face to face pitches with editors. That’s something I’m definitely still working on.
 
Do you have a word related pet peeve?
 
Affect and effect. Their and there. And yet I still manage to mess them up myself. lol
 
What is your junk food of choice?
 
Hmmm, lately I’ve been loving the cracked pepper and sea salt Kettle chips. I do eat some form of chocolate every day, but that’s not really junk food. It’s calcium and antioxidants rolled into one little delicious package.
 
It sure is! So, what’s the most dangerous or risky thing that you’ve done?
 
Does skydiving count? I also rappelled up a small waterfall in Costa Rica, but none of those things really felt risky or dangerous. Just incredibly exciting! (and a little chilly)
 
Skydiving definitely counts! You sound like a dare-devil! And something I consider also pretty daring is writing a book. So, please, tell us about your book!
 
Thank you for asking! My book, Love On The Range, is published by Harlequin’s inspirational imprint, Love Inspired Historical. My story is about a garrulous, determined young woman who is sent by her parents to an uncle’s during the flu pandemic of 1918. She doesn’t mind though because she has two closely related goals: Find an undercover agent named Striker who lives near her uncle for an exclusive interview, and then tell said-agent that she thinks he’s awesome (and pretty much loves him). Little does she know that the agent is closer than she thinks, in a place she never would’ve guessed. 🙂
 
Thank you for having me, Katy!
 
And thank you for hanging out with us today!
 
Jessica Nelson is a busy mom to three little boys who daydreams about her bi-weekly cup of Starbucks coffee. Readers can always find her on Facebook or her blog. She also likes to check into Twitter and Goodreads too. She loves talking books and writing so please feel free to contact her!
 
Remember readers, leave a comment by 12 noon ET Monday (4/23/12), and check back next Sunday to see if you are the lucky winner of Love on the Range!
18 thoughts on “Jessica Nelson shares about her debut novel, Love On The Range”

  1. Yawn…. couldn’t put it down!!!
    I had read a few pages one afternoon, but wasn’t able to get back to it until the next night about 8 PM. Well…. I finished it 5+ AM.
    A great great story!! Adventure, suspense, hold your breath, mystery, will they ever get together story (coming up for a breath.) I wanted to hang Gracie up by her heels, give her a good shaking, and tell her if someone says not to do something to a new comer in an area, listen to them!! I wanted to say the man had a reason for not wanting his cover blown…. urgh… (giggle)

    It was a great great read!! I don’t think you would be disappointed in getting this book.

    Hannah Rose

Leave a Reply

