Wacky Days!

Happy Friday everyone! Casey here!

In my quest for a blog topic this week, I stumbled upon this website – Holiday Insights.

I kid you not. There is a holiday for everything. Today is National Tell a Story day in the United States.

If you live in Scotland or England you have to wait until October 27th to celebrate. Apparently, no one knows why the holidays are six month apart.

Anyhoo. The gist of the day is to tell a story to someone. No surprise, this is popular with the elementary school/library set.

So, you know I couldn’t stop there. I googled wacky holidays and hit pay dirt (thank you Brownielocks & The 3 Bears).

April 27th is also:

  • Babe Ruth Day
  • Arbor Day
  • National Prime Rib Day
  • National Hairball AwarenessDay
  • Mantanzas Mule Day
  • Morse Code Day

If you like celebrating by the week, Brownielocks also offers up these gems (this is just a sampling):

  • National Scoop the Poop Week
  • National Severe Storm Preparedness Week
  • Week of the Young Child
  • Spring Astronmy Week
  • National Pie Championships

I swear I’m not making these up!

But you know. . . . I’m a writer. I make things up all the time. So why not make up a few holidays of my own?

If I were to make up my own holiday, I would declare today – Adorable Owl Day!

 

Or – Leave the Writer Alone Day!

 

Or perhaps – Gratituous Hunk with No Shirt Day!

 

I’m pretty sure I could make up something for each day of the week!
How about you? What holidays would you make up? Don’t be shy!

12 thoughts on “Wacky Days!”

  1. My friend is currently in the midst of week of the young child at her school. Apparently we don’t care about young children that much at my school and I’m okay with that.

  2. Casey, my crazy writer friend . . . All I have to do is read your wacky words and inspiration hits, but tell you the truth, I don’t know if I could add to your list. Your list is a jaw-dropping bunch of surprises. Who in the world would think up so many fun/funny ways of celebrating. I do love celebrations though, birthdays, anniversaries of anything, mom’s day, pop’s day, you know . . . the traditional ones. And, I will take any excuse to celebrate. I must admit, I enjoyed the discovery herewith. Thanks for your punky post.

    1. You’re welcome Gail! My mother’s favorite day is the “unbirthday” (from the Disney film – Alice and Wonderland). Basically any day can be an occasion for a present!

  3. In our house we have Pike Day (this is a made-up ice fishing holiday), and August Day (a made-up holiday in August, when there aren’t any “real” ones, which is often talked about but generally never celebrated since no specific date has ever been agreed on). However, those pale in comparison to Gratuitous Hunk Without A Shirt Day, which we need to celebrate FAR more than once a year. I swear I forgot how to breathe and almost passed out when I saw Joe’s picture this morning, Casey. But then I revived almost immediately …

  4. I agree Gratuitous Hunk Without A Shirt Day should be celebrated MUCH more often…maybe weekly. We have a special holiday in June ~ our wedding anniversary which we celebrate by eating chocolate cake for supper instead of some kind of healthy dinner-type product. I also need to “celebrate” National Scoop Poop week in my backyard and I’d like to celebrate Prime Rib day – maybe tomorrow…hmmm.

  5. I’m still swooning over Joe…yummy! There certainly does seem to be a holiday for everything these days. Would I feel less guilty if there was an “Eat more chocolate” day?

Leave a Reply

